We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Macliam Lodge(Clonakilty)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ard Na Greine(Clonakilty)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
O'Donovan's Hotel(Clonakilty)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
42
10
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
10
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswest corktown centrelocal attractionscomfortable staystayed nightsfriendly hostseach morninglittle extrasblack puddingwonderful stayroom was cleanon arrivalnoelirelandhousecerealfacilities
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2018

info@melrosewestcork.com;




Very rarely do I feel compelled to write a review but the hospitality from Noel and his team was exceptional. From being on hand and welcoming to sign us in at silly o'clock, to the beautifully clean and well proportioned rooms, to the 7 Star breakfast! I love nice fresh coffee and this place does not scrimp on its quality or quantity! Ditto for the breakfast....it really was superb. Congeniality throughout the stay made me feel sad to leave Ireland!

Only a ten minute walk from the town centre - its a true secret gem!

Room Tip: all rooms seem similar as the owner built it! Just ask...
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dhilliard2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Thank you for your nice review , Dee , It was certainly our pleasure to have you all stay with us , We enjoyed having you all and hope that you will be back again in the future , We at Melrose Bed & Breakfast take pleasure in seeing our guests enjoy their stay and do hope that you will choose to stay with us again if you return to West Cork and Clonakilty , Thank you once again , Regards , Noel and family ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

A group of us stayed here last week for a break away in Cork. Basing ourselves in Clonakilty was perfect and Melrose bed and breakfast was top notch. Lovely rooms with all facilities and very clean & comfortable.the location is close to the town centre while being in a quiet area. Breakfast was delicious and we tried various items from a menu having stayed 3 nights. We got lots of great recommendations also for places to eat, drink and visit in the town. This is a great value for money accommodation with helpful people that made our long weekend very enjoyable. I'm sure we will all return again!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank gallagheravs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2018

Thank you for your kind comments , It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we really enjoyed having you all , We also enjoyed your reaction when we produced our menu to you and we are certain that you enjoyed trying out the different options ,
It is nice for us to get positive feedback and really makes it all worthwhile for us , Thank you all once again and we hope if you visit West Cork again that you will use Clonakilty for your base and once again choose to stay at Melrose Bed & Breakfast ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

My dad booked this place for us .we were delighted with the place.great wifi for the kids .all rooms had ensuits and the place was spotless clean.there was great parking for the cars. The breakfast was lovely .the owners were so nice and polite and helpful with everything. We will definitely be back there and recommend it to friends and family.
When we got there they had left a box of chocolates plus a Christmas card in all the rooms.
Thanks very much for everything

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you for your nice review and comments , It is nice to get positive feedback , it was our pleasure to have you and your family stay with us and we are delighted that you all enjoyed yourselves , We hope that if you visit West Cork again you will come to Clonakilty nand choose to stay with us again at Melrose Bed & Breakfast ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

Brilliant place to stay in Clonakilty, great value & excellent host. A lovely house with lovely people. You can tell Noel and family have been in the business for a long time as he is so helpful and all the little extras made for a most comfortable & enjoyable stay. Our room was clean, very comfortable and had teas/coffee, fresh water, plenty of towels, pillows and lots of information about the town & the whole area of west Cork. We only had a couple of nights in Clonakilty this time but will most certainly return to explore West Cork and stay at Melrose again.
The breakfast was super and plentiful, nothing is spared, delicious homemade brown bread, fresh grilled breakfast and lots of juice, toast, cereal and fruit. The attention to detail is great and the warm fire in the lounge was lovely on a cold December day.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank corbettmatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Thank you for your very kind comments , We always do our best to make our guests feel comfortable and it is nice for us to get feedback like yours , It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope that if you are back in West Cork and Clonakilty again you will once again choose to stay with us at Melrose Bed & Breakfast ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

The photos here are very misleading. They're probably 30 years old! about the same as the décor and furnishings. This is the most drab & dreary BnB I've ever encountered. We almost did a U-turn when we saw it from the outside, the inside wasn't much better. I take no pleasure in posting this review.
Stay here if you've exhausted all other options.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank someguyinCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thank you for your review but we do think you are being very harsh and unfair on us and also very exagerated , We do apologise for having the front garden and part footpath dug up to facilitate pipelaying which you must have noticed , We did have a notice of apology for this in the front porch ,However we do take offence to your comment about the interior , We had it all decorated during the spring and had some new flooring fitted where required , Also replace duvets and covers ,etc , each year ,
The photo's which you mentioned are quite recent as we had our website updated only year You didn't mention the breakfast so we take it that must have been to your satisfaction , We are sorry you didn't do the u--turn you mentioned or give us a chance to put up some disco lights for your one night stay,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews