We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
45
10
2
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
10
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews west cork local attractions comfortable stay each morning three nights on arrival noel hosts ireland house
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2017

Brilliant place to stay in Clonakilty, great value & excellent host. A lovely house with lovely people. You can tell Noel and family have been in the business for a long time as he is so helpful and all the little extras made for a most comfortable & enjoyable stay. Our room was clean, very comfortable and had teas/coffee, fresh water, plenty of towels, pillows and lots of information about the town & the whole area of west Cork. We only had a couple of nights in Clonakilty this time but will most certainly return to explore West Cork and stay at Melrose again.
The breakfast was super and plentiful, nothing is spared, delicious homemade brown bread, fresh grilled breakfast and lots of juice, toast, cereal and fruit. The attention to detail is great and the warm fire in the lounge was lovely on a cold December day.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank corbettmatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Thank you for your very kind comments , We always do our best to make our guests feel comfortable and it is nice for us to get feedback like yours , It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope that if you are back in West Cork and Clonakilty again you will once again choose to stay with us at Melrose Bed & Breakfast ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

The photos here are very misleading. They're probably 30 years old! about the same as the décor and furnishings. This is the most drab & dreary BnB I've ever encountered. We almost did a U-turn when we saw it from the outside, the inside wasn't much better. I take no pleasure in posting this review.
Stay here if you've exhausted all other options.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank someguyinCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thank you for your review but we do think you are being very harsh and unfair on us and also very exagerated , We do apologise for having the front garden and part footpath dug up to facilitate pipelaying which you must have noticed , We did have a notice of apology for this in the front porch ,However we do take offence to your comment about the interior , We had it all decorated during the spring and had some new flooring fitted where required , Also replace duvets and covers ,etc , each year ,
The photo's which you mentioned are quite recent as we had our website updated only year You didn't mention the breakfast so we take it that must have been to your satisfaction , We are sorry you didn't do the u--turn you mentioned or give us a chance to put up some disco lights for your one night stay,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

I, my wife, my daughter and grandmother stayed at Melrose for 2 nights. And we really enjoyed. Excellent friendly host, so helpful with everything. The rooms are so cozy and comfortable. Great breakfast with the famous black pudding of Clonakilty. I can highly recommend Melrose Bed & Breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marcin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you for your review and your kind comments , It is nice to get some feedback and we really appreciate it , We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us , If you are ever visiting West Cork again hopefully you will decide to visit Clonakilty and stay with us at Melrose Bed & Breakfast once again ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

Wonderful three nights break in Clonakilty. The b&b was most convenient, we walked to the town centre on our second night as it was a lovely dry evening. Attended a wedding in Dunmore house on our first day and the hosts kindly gave us a lift to the reception so we didn't need to leave the car. Breakfast was super, had the full Irish the first & second morning & chose an omelette on the third. The menu is great with lots of variety. We felt so relaxed here and nothing we asked for was too much. Great value for money & friendly hosts with lots of information on the town & places nearby. We will return!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank oakssandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Thank you for your review and your kind remarks , We always do our best to help our guests and to make them feel at home and happy , We really appreciate your review and especially your feedback , We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us , If you visit West Cork again we hope you will visit Clonakilty and choose to stay with us at Melrose Bed & Breakfast again ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

You'd need a good satnav to get there. The place is grand. The rooms are a bit dated but perfectly functional. The breakfast is grand but 90% of the family memorabilia could do with being put into the attic. The owner & daughter are lovely people.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelroseClon, Owner at Melrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Thank you for your review although it seems to be based on the decor not being to your taste rather than the quality of service. We do value feedback and would very much appreciate if could take the time to email melroseclon@eircom.net with which room you stayed in & what memorabilia you mean? We have been in business for 30 years & offer personalized accommodation in a family home. Our rooms are updated every year and are Failte Ireland 3 star approved. In fact so many guests have commented on the 'little extras' such as fresh water with the tea & coffee making facilities in the rooms, extra pillows for comfort and decent modern hairdryers. In truth, because we take pride in our accommodation and fresh, locally sourced breakfast I am disappointed in this review.
We are located very close to town, signposted well and with directions clear on the website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews