We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Gill C
Northend, United Kingdom

Highly recommend !

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Apr 2024
We stayed for two nights ( Wednesday and Thursday ) while our boat was brought round from Hayling Island. We could not fault our stay here , very clean, bed was very comfortable , room was nice and warm, nice and quiet and we both had a good nights sleep, staff were very nice and friendly. We ate in the restaurant as well food was also very good. We would happily stay again, no issues at all which makes a change these days ! We had room number 9.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Owner at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton, responded to this review
Responded 1 May 2024
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic experience during your two-night stay with us. It's fantastic to know that you found everything to your satisfaction, from the cleanliness and comfort of your room to the delicious food in our restaurant.

We take great pride in providing a warm and welcoming atmosphere for our guests, and it's incredibly rewarding to hear that our staff made your stay even more enjoyable with their friendliness and attentiveness.

Room number 9 is indeed a lovely choice, and we're delighted that you found it cozy and peaceful for a good night's sleep.

We sincerely appreciate your recommendation and would be honored to welcome you back for another stay whenever your travels bring you our way. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to hosting you again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
HK$528
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    HK$481
  • Agoda.com
    HK$529
  • Expedia
    HK$481
0.0 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Free parking
HK$663
Fully refundable
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
    HK$791
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$648
  • Agoda.com
    HK$792
1.9 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Free parking
Riverside House
HK$825
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    HK$826
2.9 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
HK$907
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    HK$909
2.9 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Restaurant
HK$602
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    HK$543
  • Agoda.com
    HK$491
  • Official Hotel
    HK$603
3.5 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Free parking
Premier Inn Fareham hotel exterior
  • Trip.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$390
  • Hotels.com
3.6 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free parking
Restaurant
HK$474
  • Agoda.com
    HK$475
3.4 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free parking
HK$806
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    HK$867
  • Agoda.com
    HK$706
  • Official Hotel
    HK$737
3.6 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Free parking
HK$676
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    HK$677
  • Agoda.com
    HK$677
  • Expedia
    HK$677
4.0 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Free parking
HK$792
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    HK$558
4.0 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
View more hotels in Lower Swanwick
Reviews (472)
Filter reviews
472 results
Traveller rating
186
117
71
52
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
186
117
71
52
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews birthday meal full english excellent breakfast navigator hairdryer southampton swanwick
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 472 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2024

Have just arrived for one night and I have to say how lovely this room is . And a very good price . The room is large cheerful.exceptionally clean and comfortable. The bed is the best one I have ever slept in . The restaurant looks really homely we haven't tried it yet but will do this evening . The welcome was warm and friendly. A lovely find will definitely stay again

Room tip: Defo give this place a go.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Goodier, Owner at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

Dear Gillian,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful first impression of our hotel.

It's fantastic to know that you found your room to be spacious, cheerful, exceptionally clean, and comfortable. We take great pride in providing our guests with a cozy and inviting atmosphere to ensure a relaxing stay.

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our bed! Ensuring a good night's sleep is essential, and we're pleased that our accommodations met your expectations in this regard.

We hope you have a fantastic dining experience at our restaurant this evening. Our team works hard to create a warm and welcoming ambiance, and we're sure you'll love the homely atmosphere and delicious offerings.

Your kind words about our warm and friendly welcome are greatly appreciated. Providing exceptional service and hospitality is our top priority, and we're thrilled that our efforts made a positive impact on your stay.

We're honored to be described as a "lovely find," and we can't wait to welcome you back for another memorable stay in the future. If there's anything we can do to make your next visit even more enjoyable, please don't hesitate to let us know.

Warm regards,

Steve Rose
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2024

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights the service was excellent the rooms were very clean plus at a very good price. Sophie our waitress was excellent .plenty of car parking spaces in car park. Close to marina for walk round . All members of staff very happy to help

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Goodier, Owner at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2024

Dear Jeff,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel. Providing excellent service and maintaining cleanliness are top priorities for us, so we're delighted to learn that we met your expectations in these aspects.

We'll be sure to pass along your kind words to Sophie and the rest of our team. They work hard to ensure that every guest feels welcomed and well taken care of during their stay. It's wonderful to hear that their efforts made a positive impact on your experience.

We're glad you found our pricing competitive and our location convenient for exploring the marina area. We strive to offer a comfortable and affordable stay for all our guests.

Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future!

Best regards,

Steve Rose

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2024

We had great service and food at Harpers this evening. Amazing cocktails and fantastic wings Wednesday. Our server, Holly, did an absolutely fabulous job on what was only her 3rd shift! Thank youuuu so much! We'll be back!!..............

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank M4541DMellenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Goodier, Owner at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2024

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic evening at Harpers enjoying our cocktails and wings. Holly is indeed a gem, and we're delighted to hear she made your visit memorable, especially considering it was only her third shift. We'll make sure to pass along your kind words to her. We can't wait to welcome you back for another wonderful dining experience soon! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2024 via mobile

Took advantage of the 2 nights for £99 in January what a steal! The rooms are great bed so comfy I don't want to get out of it in the morning. Only downside is how thin the walls are and you can hear noise from downstairs too. Not the end of the world but a bit annoying.
Arrived first night and was met by the manager not sure of his name but he was very efficient and polite in getting us all checked in and directed us to our room. Claudia served us for dinner and she was good though you could tell she was nervous on her first full night none the less. Still she did good and was polite and sweet. Tell her to keep going it will get easier :).
2nd night didn't feel like heading down for dinner so was gonna order on the upham inns and have food and drink brought to our room as it said in the arrivals book in our room. However when logging in we found no option to give room number only table number. Slightly confused we rang downstairs and the same gentleman as before answered. I got confused as to which part needed updating the app or book. Neither mattered though as he offered to take the order over the phone and have it all brought up and could pay once it was brought up. Amazing when you've had a busy day out and didn't fancy going downstairs again.
Looking forward to breakfast again in the morning before heading off. The lady that served us before was very sweet also.
We will be back.

Room tip: Parking can get busy at weekends and evenings
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank K8270RUkaties
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 January 2024

The room was lovely, clean and with comfortable bedding. Downside, one smallish towel rail to dry bath sheets for two which is not a lot for a stay of a few nights.
Food. Continental breakfast OK but very limited choice, nothing savoury apart from Marmite, no fruit salad, compote. cold ham, eggs etc
Restaurant meals, hmm, not so good, chunky chips oozed oil to the extent that on pressing one with the back of a fork a small lake appeared, unappetising, unhealthy, unattractive and not really edible.
There's lots about this establishment to like, most of the staff are great (most) and the rooms, though not large, are entitely adequate. Just could be so much better with a bit of flair and more care /interest in the kitchen.

Room tip: Good to sleep but perhaps eat somewhere else
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank clivecornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Goodier, Owner at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2024

Dear Clive,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind words regarding the lovely and clean room, as well as the comfortable bedding. It's delightful to hear that most of our staff contributed positively to your experience.

We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience you encountered with the amenities provided. Your observations about the limited choice in our continental breakfast and the lack of savory options, fruit salad, compote, and cold ham have been duly noted. We understand the importance of a well-rounded dining experience, and we will certainly review our offerings to provide a more diverse and satisfying selection for our guests.

Moreover, we regret that the quality of our restaurant meals did not meet your expectations. Your detailed feedback about the chunky chips is concerning, and we assure you that we take these matters seriously. Our kitchen team will be addressing the issues you highlighted to ensure a significant improvement in the quality and presentation of our meals.

We truly value your insights, as they help us identify areas for improvement. Rest assured, your comments will be shared with our team to foster a more attentive and creative approach in the kitchen. We are committed to enhancing the overall experience for our guests, and your feedback plays a crucial role in achieving that goal.

Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for an improved experience.

Warm regards,

Steve Rose
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews