We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Linda B

fabulous stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Dec 2023
Food and staff all brilliant ..... a special mention to Mel as looked after everything so well. we were made very welcome . Only a slight downside on room maintanance - curtain partly off rail, only four coathangers (more supplied promptly after asking) and unable to get aircon to work. Just a bit of TLC needed
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen Rose, General Manager at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton, responded to this review
Responded 17 Dec 2023
Dear Linda,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us an excellent review!
We are so glad to hear that you had a good time with us, and thank you for bringing these to our attention. We take every feedback and act accordingly.
Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Harper`s team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$527
  • Expedia
0.0 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Free parking
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    HK$682
  • Expedia
1.9 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
8.8 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
9.0 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
7.1 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
7.3 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
6.6 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
7.6 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
7.1 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
3.1 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Free parking
Temporarily closed
View more hotels in Lower Swanwick
Reviews (472)
Filter reviews
472 results
Traveller rating
186
117
71
52
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
186
117
71
52
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews birthday meal full english excellent breakfast navigator hairdryer southampton swanwick
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 472 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2023

I have to say we were very impressed with the whole package. All the staff – without exception, were helpful, polite and attentive. The Manager is very well versed with placing the customer 1st - very impressive. Both the rooms and bar/restaurant area were spotlessly clean; décor & furnishings are of a high quality and there's a great ambiance throughout. The rooms are extremely comfortable, very well appointed and homely. We spent a lovely late afternoon & evening in the bar & restaurant with some lovely food, drinks (probably over indulged) and super atmosphere. We would definitely visit again and would certainly recommend.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Z9742POlionelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen Rose, General Manager at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2023

Dear Lionel,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your delightful experience with us! We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you had a superb one-night break and that the entire package left a positive impression on you.

It warms my heart to know that our team, across the board, made your stay enjoyable with their helpfulness, politeness, and attentiveness. We take pride in placing our customers first.

Maintaining a high standard of cleanliness and providing a welcoming environment is a top priority for us, so we're pleased to hear that you found both the rooms and the bar/restaurant area to be spotlessly clean. Your compliments about the high-quality décor, furnishings, and the overall ambiance reinforce our commitment to creating a comfortable and enjoyable atmosphere for our guests.

We're delighted that you found the rooms extremely comfortable, well-appointed, and homely. Creating a home-away-from-home experience is important to us, and it's fantastic to hear that we achieved this during your stay.

It sounds like you had a wonderful time in our bar and restaurant, and we're glad you enjoyed the food, drinks, and the super atmosphere. Overindulgence is perfectly acceptable when creating special memories! Your intention to visit again and recommend us means the world to us, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience.

If there's anything specific you'd like to experience or any preferences you have for your next visit, please don't hesitate to let us know. Thank you once again for choosing us and for sharing your positive feedback.

Warm regards,
Steve Rose
General Manager
01489572123

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2023

Last minute booking for accommodation and not disappointed. Great service from the booking in and bar staff. Nice room, comfy bed, the shower a bit small though. Breakfast was excellent and the staff very welcoming. Would definitely recommend. Thank you.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen Rose, General Manager at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2023

Dear Tina,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us! We're delighted that your last-minute stay with us exceeded your expectations. It's wonderful to hear that our team provided excellent service from the booking process to your time at the bar. We're thrilled you found the room comfortable, though we regret any inconvenience caused by the shower size.

Moreover, it's fantastic to know that you enjoyed our delicious breakfast and felt welcomed by our staff. Your recommendation means a lot to us.

We sincerely appreciate your kind words and are grateful for the opportunity to have hosted you. Should your travels bring you back this way, we'd be honored to welcome you again for another great experience.

Warm regards,
Steve Rose
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2023

We booked Sat-Tue Harpers @Swannick. The reason for the stay was for my 88 year old dad to visit his family who all live in the surrounding area. We needed two twin rooms, one needed to be on the ground floor. Upon arrival, after some six hours driving we arrived. Unfortunately on trying to check in we were told our booking had been made for 2024 and they were fully booked. However within a short space of time both Beth & Steve had us booked into another hotel. Steve also provided us with drinks whilst we waited. We decided to have dinner there before checking into another hotel. Steve arranged for us to have two ground floor twins for the Monday & Tuesday or the option of staying at the other hotel. We decided to return to Harpers as their customer care was excellent. The food & drink was good, the rooms were lovely and Beth looked After us very well. Thank you to both Beth & Steve for making us feel well looked after. It is the first time dad had seen his family for five years as his wife and our mum has alzheimers. Even the weather was perfect.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bubblylinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 September 2023

We were well looked after and catered for during our two night stay at Harper's.

Following a request for a dog friendly room, manager, Steve, called to verify what supplies we required in our room prior to our arrival. We were pleased to find a dog bowl, dog bed, and treats for our girl waiting in our room upon our arrival. It was a lovely touch.

The rooms are just like the photos featured by the hotel - newly refurbished, well turned out, fashionably designed rooms, with modern in-rooms features and facilities.

Customer service throughout the business was faultless, and our restaurant waitress Hope was fantastic - pleasant, attentive, and friendly.

Food in the restaurant was spot on. We ate here for breakfast and dinner. Tip: Vegetarians will love the Sunday nut roast - ordered by my partner. I'm a meat eater, and I'd have happily ordered that over a traditional meat roast, it was that good.

Tip: If you're checking in late, be sure to inform the hotel, as there is no overnight check-in service, and check-in closes when the restaurant closes (23:00, I believe).

Harper's is the perfect location for those wishing to stay prior to a cruise from Southampton (19 min drive), and those wishing to enjoy Goodwood events (42 min drive). I'd be more than happy to stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dale-icious
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen Rose, General Manager at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful review of your recent stay at Harper's! We are absolutely delighted to hear that you had such a positive experience with us.

Firstly, we're thrilled that you and your furry friend had a comfortable and enjoyable stay in our dog-friendly room. Our team takes great pride in ensuring all our guests, including their pets, feel welcomed and well taken care of. Steve, our manager, certainly goes above and beyond to ensure that special requests like yours are met with attention to detail.

We're delighted to hear that you found our newly refurbished rooms up to your expectations. Creating a stylish and modern ambiance is something we take very seriously, and we're pleased to know that our efforts didn't go unnoticed. Your kind words about our in-room amenities and facilities are greatly appreciated.

It's wonderful to hear that our staff, especially Hope, made a positive impression on you. We'll be sure to pass along your compliments to her. We believe that exceptional customer service is essential, and we are thrilled that you found it faultless throughout your stay.

We are also grateful for your feedback about our restaurant and food offerings. It's fantastic to know that you enjoyed your meals with us, and we'll certainly share your recommendations about the Sunday nut roast with our kitchen team. Catering to a variety of dietary preferences is something we are always striving to excel at.

Thank you for the tip about late check-in; we will make sure to communicate this clearly to future guests to ensure a smooth check-in experience.

We're thrilled that our location was convenient for your plans, whether it's a cruise from Southampton or attending Goodwood events. Harper's aims to provide a comfortable and accessible base for all our guests.

Your kind words and the fact that you would be "more than happy to stay here again" are the best compliments we could receive. We truly look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay in the future.

Thank you once again for choosing Harper's, and we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you and your dog again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2023 via mobile

The rooms are comfortable, clean with well stocked tea, coffee (including a machine), and hot chocolate 🍫
The shower was brilliant, and the bed was comfortable
The staff are helpful, charming, and go the extra distance, drying out our sailing gear.
I would highly recommend and will return.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank winebuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen Rose, General Manager at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at our establishment. We are thrilled to read your review and learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It warms our hearts to know that you found our rooms comfortable and clean, and that the amenities such as the well-stocked tea, coffee and hot chocolate added an extra touch of comfort to your stay. We understand how important these little details are in making a stay truly memorable.

We're delighted that you appreciated the brilliance of our shower and the comfort of our beds. Ensuring our guests have a relaxing and enjoyable experience is our top priority, and we're glad that we could provide you with that.

It's fantastic to hear that our staff left such a positive impression on you. We pride ourselves on our team's dedication to going the extra mile for our guests, and your kind words about their helpfulness, charm, and willingness to assist are truly heartening. We're pleased we could contribute to drying out your sailing gear - we understand the importance of keeping our guests comfortable even after outdoor activities.

We're deeply honored by your recommendation and can't wait to welcome you back on your next visit. Your continued support means the world to us, and we're excited to have the opportunity to provide you with another exceptional experience.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your positive thoughts. We look forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Steve Rose
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews