We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Earn rewards on eligible stays
Expedia
Earn rewards for every stay
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Tina M
Dibden Purlieu, United Kingdom

Great all round. Definitely recommend

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Nov 2023
Last minute booking for accommodation and not disappointed. Great service from the booking in and bar staff. Nice room, comfy bed, the shower a bit small though. Breakfast was excellent and the staff very welcoming. Would definitely recommend. Thank you.
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen Rose, General Manager at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton, responded to this review
Responded 7 Nov 2023
Dear Tina,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us! We're delighted that your last-minute stay with us exceeded your expectations. It's wonderful to hear that our team provided excellent service from the booking process to your time at the bar. We're thrilled you found the room comfortable, though we regret any inconvenience caused by the shower size.

Moreover, it's fantastic to know that you enjoyed our delicious breakfast and felt welcomed by our staff. Your recommendation means a lot to us.

We sincerely appreciate your kind words and are grateful for the opportunity to have hosted you. Should your travels bring you back this way, we'd be honored to welcome you again for another great experience.

Warm regards,
Steve Rose
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
HK$1,300
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia
  • eDreams
1.9 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
8.8 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
7.1 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
9.0 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
7.3 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
6.6 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
7.6 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
7.1 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
7.7 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Contact accommodation for availability.
3.1 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Free parking
Temporarily closed
View more hotels in Lower Swanwick
Reviews (471)
Filter reviews
471 results
Traveller rating
186
116
71
52
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
186
116
71
52
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews birthday meal full english excellent breakfast navigator hairdryer southampton swanwick
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 471 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2023

We booked Sat-Tue Harpers @Swannick. The reason for the stay was for my 88 year old dad to visit his family who all live in the surrounding area. We needed two twin rooms, one needed to be on the ground floor. Upon arrival, after some six hours driving we arrived. Unfortunately on trying to check in we were told our booking had been made for 2024 and they were fully booked. However within a short space of time both Beth & Steve had us booked into another hotel. Steve also provided us with drinks whilst we waited. We decided to have dinner there before checking into another hotel. Steve arranged for us to have two ground floor twins for the Monday & Tuesday or the option of staying at the other hotel. We decided to return to Harpers as their customer care was excellent. The food & drink was good, the rooms were lovely and Beth looked After us very well. Thank you to both Beth & Steve for making us feel well looked after. It is the first time dad had seen his family for five years as his wife and our mum has alzheimers. Even the weather was perfect.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bubblylinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 September 2023

We were well looked after and catered for during our two night stay at Harper's.

Following a request for a dog friendly room, manager, Steve, called to verify what supplies we required in our room prior to our arrival. We were pleased to find a dog bowl, dog bed, and treats for our girl waiting in our room upon our arrival. It was a lovely touch.

The rooms are just like the photos featured by the hotel - newly refurbished, well turned out, fashionably designed rooms, with modern in-rooms features and facilities.

Customer service throughout the business was faultless, and our restaurant waitress Hope was fantastic - pleasant, attentive, and friendly.

Food in the restaurant was spot on. We ate here for breakfast and dinner. Tip: Vegetarians will love the Sunday nut roast - ordered by my partner. I'm a meat eater, and I'd have happily ordered that over a traditional meat roast, it was that good.

Tip: If you're checking in late, be sure to inform the hotel, as there is no overnight check-in service, and check-in closes when the restaurant closes (23:00, I believe).

Harper's is the perfect location for those wishing to stay prior to a cruise from Southampton (19 min drive), and those wishing to enjoy Goodwood events (42 min drive). I'd be more than happy to stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dale-icious
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen Rose, General Manager at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful review of your recent stay at Harper's! We are absolutely delighted to hear that you had such a positive experience with us.

Firstly, we're thrilled that you and your furry friend had a comfortable and enjoyable stay in our dog-friendly room. Our team takes great pride in ensuring all our guests, including their pets, feel welcomed and well taken care of. Steve, our manager, certainly goes above and beyond to ensure that special requests like yours are met with attention to detail.

We're delighted to hear that you found our newly refurbished rooms up to your expectations. Creating a stylish and modern ambiance is something we take very seriously, and we're pleased to know that our efforts didn't go unnoticed. Your kind words about our in-room amenities and facilities are greatly appreciated.

It's wonderful to hear that our staff, especially Hope, made a positive impression on you. We'll be sure to pass along your compliments to her. We believe that exceptional customer service is essential, and we are thrilled that you found it faultless throughout your stay.

We are also grateful for your feedback about our restaurant and food offerings. It's fantastic to know that you enjoyed your meals with us, and we'll certainly share your recommendations about the Sunday nut roast with our kitchen team. Catering to a variety of dietary preferences is something we are always striving to excel at.

Thank you for the tip about late check-in; we will make sure to communicate this clearly to future guests to ensure a smooth check-in experience.

We're thrilled that our location was convenient for your plans, whether it's a cruise from Southampton or attending Goodwood events. Harper's aims to provide a comfortable and accessible base for all our guests.

Your kind words and the fact that you would be "more than happy to stay here again" are the best compliments we could receive. We truly look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay in the future.

Thank you once again for choosing Harper's, and we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you and your dog again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2023 via mobile

The rooms are comfortable, clean with well stocked tea, coffee (including a machine), and hot chocolate 🍫
The shower was brilliant, and the bed was comfortable
The staff are helpful, charming, and go the extra distance, drying out our sailing gear.
I would highly recommend and will return.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank winebuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen Rose, General Manager at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at our establishment. We are thrilled to read your review and learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It warms our hearts to know that you found our rooms comfortable and clean, and that the amenities such as the well-stocked tea, coffee and hot chocolate added an extra touch of comfort to your stay. We understand how important these little details are in making a stay truly memorable.

We're delighted that you appreciated the brilliance of our shower and the comfort of our beds. Ensuring our guests have a relaxing and enjoyable experience is our top priority, and we're glad that we could provide you with that.

It's fantastic to hear that our staff left such a positive impression on you. We pride ourselves on our team's dedication to going the extra mile for our guests, and your kind words about their helpfulness, charm, and willingness to assist are truly heartening. We're pleased we could contribute to drying out your sailing gear - we understand the importance of keeping our guests comfortable even after outdoor activities.

We're deeply honored by your recommendation and can't wait to welcome you back on your next visit. Your continued support means the world to us, and we're excited to have the opportunity to provide you with another exceptional experience.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your positive thoughts. We look forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Steve Rose
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2023 via mobile

Great friendly hotel / food venue.
Super location near marina.
Bedrooms are extremely nice and represent great value for money
Staff in evening were very helpful and breakfast was just fine. Summer, our server, was bright and very friendly. Nothing to complain about. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank BrianJSurreyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen Rose, General Manager at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2023

Dear Brian,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We're thrilled to hear that you had a positive experience during your visit to our hotel and food venue.

It's wonderful to know that you found our location near the marina to be convenient and enjoyable. We take pride in providing a welcoming and friendly atmosphere for our guests, and we're delighted that you found our staff to be helpful and accommodating during your evening stay.

We're glad you appreciated the quality and value of our bedrooms. Providing our guests with comfortable and well-appointed rooms at a great value is one of our priorities, and we're pleased that we could meet your expectations.

It's fantastic to hear that your breakfast experience was enjoyable and that Summer, our server, added a bright and friendly touch to your visit. We will make sure to pass along your kind words to her.

Thank you for your high recommendation. We truly value your feedback and your endorsement means a lot to us. We're pleased that we could provide you with a positive experience from start to finish.

Once again, thank you for choosing to stay and dine with us. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future for another great experience.

Warm regards,
Steve Rose
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2023

I stayed at the hotel on the 14 August as I had to attend a nearby office for work the next day. I found my room to be charming as the title states and it came with all the required and usual amenities. I had a very comfortable sleep, I liked the options of teas etc. and biscuits left in the room and the ensuite was cute and perfect for a night's stay. The room was also very clean. My only issue was that on the morning of the 15 August, the shower was not letting out any hot water. I called down to reception and advised them of the issue, the lady I spoke to said that there may have been a problem with the boiler. She reset it and called me to confirm that it had been done. I was able to have a nice, hot shower before leaving for the office and due to the inconvenience and set back with my leaving time, the lady I spoke to offered me breakfast on the house, which was appreciated and fair (in my opinion), given the circumstance.

Room tip: I had room 3 which was one of the rooms furthest from the stairs, and therefore maybe deemed quieter.
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SKG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen Rose, General Manager at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2023

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel on the 14th of August. It's fantastic to know that you found our accommodations charming, comfortable, and well-equipped with the amenities you needed. We're pleased that you had a restful sleep and appreciated the tea and biscuit options in your room.

We're glad to hear that our team was responsive to the issue you encountered with the hot water on the morning of the 15th of August. Our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused. We appreciate your patience as our reception staff promptly addressed the situation by resetting the boiler. We're thrilled that you were able to enjoy a nice, hot shower before heading out to the office.

It's wonderful to hear that our team member went the extra mile to offer you complimentary breakfast as a gesture of goodwill for the inconvenience caused. We believe in providing exceptional service and making our guests feel valued, even in situations beyond our control.

Your feedback is incredibly valuable to us as it helps us improve our services and enhance the overall guest experience. We'll certainly look into the issue with the hot water to prevent similar occurrences in the future.

Once again, we appreciate your kind words and understanding. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel during your future visits to the area. If you have any further comments or suggestions, please feel free to reach out to us.

Thank you for choosing our hotel, and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Steve Rose
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews