We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
BrianJSurreyUK
West Grinstead, United Kingdom

Good find.πŸ˜‡

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Aug 2023via mobile
Great friendly hotel / food venue.
Super location near marina.
Bedrooms are extremely nice and represent great value for money
Staff in evening were very helpful and breakfast was just fine. Summer, our server, was bright and very friendly. Nothing to complain about. Highly recommend.
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen Rose, General Manager at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton, responded to this review
Responded 28 Aug 2023
Dear Brian,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We're thrilled to hear that you had a positive experience during your visit to our hotel and food venue.

It's wonderful to know that you found our location near the marina to be convenient and enjoyable. We take pride in providing a welcoming and friendly atmosphere for our guests, and we're delighted that you found our staff to be helpful and accommodating during your evening stay.

We're glad you appreciated the quality and value of our bedrooms. Providing our guests with comfortable and well-appointed rooms at a great value is one of our priorities, and we're pleased that we could meet your expectations.

It's fantastic to hear that your breakfast experience was enjoyable and that Summer, our server, added a bright and friendly touch to your visit. We will make sure to pass along your kind words to her.

Thank you for your high recommendation. We truly value your feedback and your endorsement means a lot to us. We're pleased that we could provide you with a positive experience from start to finish.

Once again, thank you for choosing to stay and dine with us. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future for another great experience.

Warm regards,
Steve Rose
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Contact accommodation for availability.
8.8 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
9.0 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
7.1 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
7.3 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Contact accommodation for availability.
7.6 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
7.1 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Restaurant
7.9 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Thepig Inthewall
Contact accommodation for availability.
7.7 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Contact accommodation for availability.
3.1 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Free parking
Temporarily closed
View more hotels in Lower Swanwick
Reviews (474)
Filter reviews
474 results
Traveller rating
188
117
71
52
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
188
117
71
52
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews birthday meal full english excellent breakfast navigator hairdryer southampton swanwick
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 474 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2023

I stayed at the hotel on the 14 August as I had to attend a nearby office for work the next day. I found my room to be charming as the title states and it came with all the required and usual amenities. I had a very comfortable sleep, I liked the options of teas etc. and biscuits left in the room and the ensuite was cute and perfect for a night's stay. The room was also very clean. My only issue was that on the morning of the 15 August, the shower was not letting out any hot water. I called down to reception and advised them of the issue, the lady I spoke to said that there may have been a problem with the boiler. She reset it and called me to confirm that it had been done. I was able to have a nice, hot shower before leaving for the office and due to the inconvenience and set back with my leaving time, the lady I spoke to offered me breakfast on the house, which was appreciated and fair (in my opinion), given the circumstance.

Room tip: I had room 3 which was one of the rooms furthest from the stairs, and therefore maybe deemed quieter.
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SKG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen Rose, General Manager at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2023

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel on the 14th of August. It's fantastic to know that you found our accommodations charming, comfortable, and well-equipped with the amenities you needed. We're pleased that you had a restful sleep and appreciated the tea and biscuit options in your room.

We're glad to hear that our team was responsive to the issue you encountered with the hot water on the morning of the 15th of August. Our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused. We appreciate your patience as our reception staff promptly addressed the situation by resetting the boiler. We're thrilled that you were able to enjoy a nice, hot shower before heading out to the office.

It's wonderful to hear that our team member went the extra mile to offer you complimentary breakfast as a gesture of goodwill for the inconvenience caused. We believe in providing exceptional service and making our guests feel valued, even in situations beyond our control.

Your feedback is incredibly valuable to us as it helps us improve our services and enhance the overall guest experience. We'll certainly look into the issue with the hot water to prevent similar occurrences in the future.

Once again, we appreciate your kind words and understanding. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel during your future visits to the area. If you have any further comments or suggestions, please feel free to reach out to us.

Thank you for choosing our hotel, and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Steve Rose
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2023

Staff need serious training in, customer service, making an effort.
Going the extra mile.
I'm type 1 diabetic, and needed to up my blood sugars after a 5 hour drive.
First i was offered peanuts !!
Of which i cannot have at all.
Then a yoghurt...really!!!
Then some bread.

A sandwich would of been nice, but they couldnt be bothered.

I had to go Tesco, and buy food.
I didnt get the room i booked for sure.

The walls in the jotel part are thin, you can hear people baby making, the corridor creaks. The double glazing is as much use, as a tiast in a car wash.
The street outside is boy racer, street..
Not much sleep, wrong room, no food..
And it cost..
Just shy of Β£100, for one night.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Mixmaster-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Goodier, Owner at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2023

Hello,

First of all we are really sorry to hear about your experience.
When you were given a call about the time of your arrival you were informed about the kitchen closing time which is 21:30 and your arrival time was after that. You were offered to put through a pre order before the kitchen closed w hich you said no to. As you arrived after hot food wasn`t available you were offered multiple snack options to help your diabetes which unfortunately you did not mention at the time of the phone call.
Regarding the room, the type you booked was the room given to you, but if you let us know that you were unhappy with your room after checking in we would`ve been happy to relocate you in the back of the hotel.
Again we are really sorry to hear about you experience, as we always strive to give the best costumer service and experience possible.

Kind regards,
Harper`s team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2023

First visit here with my family tonight and had a wonderful dining experience! All the staff were super friendly and the Manager on duty called Summer was lovely to us and we never ran dry of cocktails! Food excellent all came out together and my steak perfect so Thankyou for a brilliant evening we will definitely be coming back!

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Goodier, Owner at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2023

Dear Tracey,

Thank you immensely for sharing your delightful dining experience with us. We are thrilled to hear that your first visit with your family was met with such positivity and satisfaction.

It warms our hearts to know that you found our staff to be super friendly, and we're pleased to hear that Summer, our Duty General Manager , made your evening even more enjoyable. We take great pride in providing exceptional service and making our guests feel truly welcome.

We're also delighted that you enjoyed the cocktails and that your dining experience was excellent. It's fantastic to hear that your steaks were cooked to perfection and that everything came together seamlessly. Your appreciation for the food and service means a lot to us.

Thank you for choosing our establishment for your family's dining experience. We're excited to have left a positive impression, and we can't wait to welcome you all back for another wonderful evening. If you have any further feedback or requests, please don't hesitate to reach out.

Warm regards,

Steve Rose
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2023

A lovely Sunday lunch. Fab food and great service (thank you Chloe).
Amazing Yorkshire puddings…… the beef was really tender and the portion sizes were generous.
Good choice of puddings… the waffles were delicious.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank haleythomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Goodier, Owner at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2023

Dear Haley,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback about your experience at our restaurant. We are thrilled to hear that you had a lovely Sunday lunch and enjoyed our roast beef.

We pride ourselves on providing great food and excellent service, so it's heartwarming to know that we were able to meet your expectations. We will definitely pass on your appreciation to Chloe for delivering exceptional service during your visit.

We're delighted that you found the beef to be tender and the portion sizes to be generous. It's our goal to ensure our customers leave satisfied and fully contented. And we're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our amazing Yorkshire puddings. They are indeed a favorite among our patrons.

We are also glad you liked the variety of puddings we offer. Our team works hard to provide a diverse selection to cater to different preferences, and we're pleased that the waffles stood out to you and were delicious.

Thank you once again for your kind words and for choosing our restaurant. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon, and we'll strive to make your next visit just as enjoyable.

Warm regards,

Steve Rose
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2023 via mobile

We turned up at 18:30 for our meal we were greeted by Hope. Who was brilliant from the start. Good choice of food I had the ultimate Burger it was Phenomenal, out of this world the burger melted in the mouth. My wife had the the chicken burger high was just as Phenomenal. Good choice of Drinks aswell

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Trip56154203087
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen Rose, General Manager at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your incredible dining experience at our restaurant. We were thrilled to read your review and couldn't be happier to hear that you had a phenomenal time with us.

We're delighted that Hope provided you with excellent service right from the moment you walked through our doors. We take great pride in our staff and their dedication to providing a welcoming and enjoyable dining experience. We'll be sure to pass on your kind words to Hope, as they will be thrilled to know their efforts made your visit memorable.

It's wonderful to know that you found our menu to be appealing and that you enjoyed the ultimate Burger. We strive to offer a wide variety of options to cater to different tastes, and it's rewarding to hear that the burger exceeded your expectations. We put a lot of effort into creating dishes that are not only delicious but also melt in your mouth, and it's fantastic to know that we succeeded in doing so.

We're equally pleased that your wife enjoyed the chicken burger. We believe in maintaining high standards across all our menu items, and it's satisfying to hear that both the ultimate Burger and the chicken burger were equally phenomenal.

Furthermore, we appreciate your feedback on our drink selection. We believe that a well-curated beverage menu is an essential part of the overall dining experience, and we're glad that our drink choices met your expectations.

Once again, thank you for sharing your positive experience with us. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you both again soon for another exceptional dining experience. If there's anything else we can do to enhance your future visits, please don't hesitate to let us know.

Best regards,

Steve Rose
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews