We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Tracey W

Excellent evening

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Jul 2023
First visit here with my family tonight and had a wonderful dining experience! All the staff were super friendly and the Manager on duty called Summer was lovely to us and we never ran dry of cocktails! Food excellent all came out together and my steak perfect so Thankyou for a brilliant evening we will definitely be coming back!
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Goodier, Owner at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton, responded to this review
Responded 19 Aug 2023
Dear Tracey,

Thank you immensely for sharing your delightful dining experience with us. We are thrilled to hear that your first visit with your family was met with such positivity and satisfaction.

It warms our hearts to know that you found our staff to be super friendly, and we're pleased to hear that Summer, our Duty General Manager , made your evening even more enjoyable. We take great pride in providing exceptional service and making our guests feel truly welcome.

We're also delighted that you enjoyed the cocktails and that your dining experience was excellent. It's fantastic to hear that your steaks were cooked to perfection and that everything came together seamlessly. Your appreciation for the food and service means a lot to us.

Thank you for choosing our establishment for your family's dining experience. We're excited to have left a positive impression, and we can't wait to welcome you all back for another wonderful evening. If you have any further feedback or requests, please don't hesitate to reach out.

Warm regards,

Steve Rose
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Hotel
    HK$549
  • Agoda.com
3.5 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Hotel
    HK$826
  • Expedia
3.6 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
8.8 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
9.0 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
7.1 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
7.3 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Contact accommodation for availability.
7.6 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
7.1 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
3.1 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Free parking
Temporarily closed
View more hotels in Lower Swanwick
Reviews (474)
Filter reviews
474 results
Traveller rating
188
117
71
52
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
188
117
71
52
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews birthday meal full english excellent breakfast navigator hairdryer southampton swanwick
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 474 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2023

A lovely Sunday lunch. Fab food and great service (thank you Chloe).
Amazing Yorkshire puddings…… the beef was really tender and the portion sizes were generous.
Good choice of puddings… the waffles were delicious.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank haleythomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Goodier, Owner at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2023

Dear Haley,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback about your experience at our restaurant. We are thrilled to hear that you had a lovely Sunday lunch and enjoyed our roast beef.

We pride ourselves on providing great food and excellent service, so it's heartwarming to know that we were able to meet your expectations. We will definitely pass on your appreciation to Chloe for delivering exceptional service during your visit.

We're delighted that you found the beef to be tender and the portion sizes to be generous. It's our goal to ensure our customers leave satisfied and fully contented. And we're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our amazing Yorkshire puddings. They are indeed a favorite among our patrons.

We are also glad you liked the variety of puddings we offer. Our team works hard to provide a diverse selection to cater to different preferences, and we're pleased that the waffles stood out to you and were delicious.

Thank you once again for your kind words and for choosing our restaurant. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon, and we'll strive to make your next visit just as enjoyable.

Warm regards,

Steve Rose
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2023 via mobile

We turned up at 18:30 for our meal we were greeted by Hope. Who was brilliant from the start. Good choice of food I had the ultimate Burger it was Phenomenal, out of this world the burger melted in the mouth. My wife had the the chicken burger high was just as Phenomenal. Good choice of Drinks aswell

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Trip56154203087
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen Rose, General Manager at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your incredible dining experience at our restaurant. We were thrilled to read your review and couldn't be happier to hear that you had a phenomenal time with us.

We're delighted that Hope provided you with excellent service right from the moment you walked through our doors. We take great pride in our staff and their dedication to providing a welcoming and enjoyable dining experience. We'll be sure to pass on your kind words to Hope, as they will be thrilled to know their efforts made your visit memorable.

It's wonderful to know that you found our menu to be appealing and that you enjoyed the ultimate Burger. We strive to offer a wide variety of options to cater to different tastes, and it's rewarding to hear that the burger exceeded your expectations. We put a lot of effort into creating dishes that are not only delicious but also melt in your mouth, and it's fantastic to know that we succeeded in doing so.

We're equally pleased that your wife enjoyed the chicken burger. We believe in maintaining high standards across all our menu items, and it's satisfying to hear that both the ultimate Burger and the chicken burger were equally phenomenal.

Furthermore, we appreciate your feedback on our drink selection. We believe that a well-curated beverage menu is an essential part of the overall dining experience, and we're glad that our drink choices met your expectations.

Once again, thank you for sharing your positive experience with us. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you both again soon for another exceptional dining experience. If there's anything else we can do to enhance your future visits, please don't hesitate to let us know.

Best regards,

Steve Rose
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2023

Fabulous meal and fantastic service as always from Driton!

Daughter decided on Harper's to celebrate her birthday, the food was lovely, speedy and attentive service from Driton, really lovely evening

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Passport552427
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Goodier, Owner at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2023

Dear Trevor,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful review of your recent birthday celebration at Harper's! We are delighted to hear that you and your daughter had a fabulous meal and enjoyed fantastic service, courtesy of Driton.

Our team takes great pride in providing exceptional dining experiences, and we're thrilled that we could contribute to making your daughter's birthday celebration memorable. It's fantastic to know that the food exceeded your expectations and that you appreciated the prompt and attentive service delivered by Driton. We will make sure to pass along your kind words to him as well.

At Harper's, we strive to create a warm and welcoming ambiance where guests can savor delicious cuisine and enjoy delightful moments with loved ones. We're glad that your evening with us was truly lovely, and we hope it will be cherished as a cherished memory for years to come.

We sincerely appreciate your patronage and your generous feedback. It means a lot to us. Should you have any more special occasions to celebrate or simply wish to indulge in another memorable dining experience, please don't hesitate to reach out. We would be honored to have you and your family back at Harper's.

Thank you again for choosing us to be a part of your daughter's birthday celebration. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Warmest regards,
Steve Rose
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2023

Worst roast dinner I have ever had to taste in my life. I felt like I was a horse in a field that got bombed 2 weeks ago. Staff AMAZING. Food AWFUL. you pay over £4 for an upgrade for watery cauliflower and 5 pigs and blankets for 2 people. Veg must’ve been months old as it was brown. You need to do something about your kitchen staff ASAP otherwise all your reviews are going to be absolutely appalling

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Goodier, Owner at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2023

Dear Di G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent roast dinner experience at our restaurant. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and their exceptional service, but we are truly sorry to hear that the quality of our food did not meet your expectations. We value all customer feedback as it helps us improve our offerings and ensure a better dining experience for all.

We understand that the taste and presentation of the roast dinner were far from satisfactory, and we apologise for any disappointment caused. We take great pride in delivering delicious meals, and we are deeply concerned that your experience fell short of our usual standards. Please be assured that we have already addressed your concerns with our kitchen staff and are taking immediate action to rectify any issues.

Regarding the upgrade you mentioned, we apologise for the lackluster additions to your meal. The watery cauliflower and insufficient portion of pigs in blankets are certainly not reflective of the high-quality ingredients and generous portions we aim to provide. We will reevaluate our menu options and ensure that the upgrades are more substantial and worthwhile in the future.

We are also concerned about the quality of the vegetables served to you. We have rigorous standards for freshness and food preparation, and it seems that we fell short in this regard. Our team will be conducting a thorough review of our suppliers and implementing more stringent quality control measures to prevent such occurrences in the future.

At our restaurant, we strive to create a memorable dining experience for all our patrons, and we regret that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. Your feedback is invaluable to us, and we appreciate your honest assessment of our establishment. We assure you that we are taking immediate steps to address these issues and improve the overall quality of our food.

We would like to extend an invitation for you to return and give us another chance to make things right. We are confident that with the necessary improvements, we can provide you with a truly enjoyable dining experience. Please feel free to contact us directly so that we can ensure your next visit exceeds your expectations in every way possible.

Thank you once again for bringing these matters to our attention. We value your patronage and hope to have the opportunity to serve you better in the future.

Warm regards,

Steve Rose
01489572123

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2023

THANK YOU STEVE & YOUR TEAM FOR A VERY NICE WEEKEND & THE SERVICE WAS NEXT TO NUN & THE FOOD WAS SPOT ON 100% HOT & QUICK THANK YOU TEAM HARPERS (SOUTHAMPTON ) WE HAD ROAST ON SUNDAY.THE ROOMS VERY GOOD TO THANK YOU

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank briancE5664KF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Goodier, Owner at Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback about your recent weekend getaway at Harpers Southampton. We are thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic experience and that our team, led by Steve, could contribute to making your stay memorable.

It brings us immense joy to know that the service you received was exceptional and met your expectations. Providing top-notch service is a priority for us, and we are delighted that our efforts were recognized. Your kind words about the food being spot-on, served hot, and promptly are greatly appreciated. We take pride in delivering a delightful dining experience, and your positive remarks reassure us that we're on the right track.

We're delighted that you enjoyed our Sunday roast; it's always a pleasure to know that our culinary offerings are enjoyed by our guests. Our chefs work hard to ensure that every meal is prepared with care and attention to detail.

Moreover, we're pleased to learn that the room accommodations met your satisfaction. Comfortable and well-appointed rooms are a crucial part of our commitment to providing an all-around exceptional experience for our guests.

Thank you once again for choosing Harpers Southampton for your weekend getaway and for sharing such kind words in your review. We truly value your feedback as it encourages us to continue striving for excellence in all aspects of our service. If you ever decide to visit us again, please don't hesitate to reach out. We'd be honored to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay.

Warm regards,
Team Harpers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews