We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
ZenHotels.com
Vio.com
eDreams
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveller rating
155
113
68
49
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
155
113
68
49
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews birthday meal excellent breakfast navigator southampton swanwick
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 430 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2022

Stopped for half an hour to grab a drink and bite to eat during a working day. Did not notice signage in car par and no one at bar bothered to mention to me either, but a week after visit was hit with a £100 parking fine. Expensive snack!! Bacon sarnie and coffee was OK but whole visit left a very nasty taste! That said when I contacted the pub they were most helpful, took my details and said they would sort out.

Date of stay: June 2022
Thank montyswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rob Goodier, Owner at Harper's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2022

Montyswan, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. We would like the opportunity to make this up to you. Please contact our manager at 01489 572123 so we can make your experience a positive one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2022

We decided to travel down and stay overnight before departing on our cruise. Made the holiday more relaxing. Arrived early afternoon and got a beer from the bar which we took out onto the beer terrace. Manager checked us in and popped the beers onto our tab. The room was on the ground floor (as requested) and newly refurbished. Huge bed (I think it may have been a super-king). Very comfy and it had tea and biscuits and complimentary toiletries. Had a good nights sleep and drove the short 20 minutes drive to the Cruise Terminal and was on board by 11.30.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chelmerchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rob Goodier, Owner at Harper's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2022

Dear Guest

Thank you for your score 5/5
We hope to seeing you back with us soon.

Kind regards
Harper's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2022 via mobile

Visited for Father's day and was rather disappointed. Two out of three steaks were rather chewy and were not cooked as ordered. The burgers looked good but that's not ideal for a steakhouse. On the plus side the waitress was very friendly and polite.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Mike_K_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rob Goodier, Owner at Harper's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2022

Dear Mike

Thank you for your feedback after visit at Harper's.
I am sorry to hear that your steaks were not up to our usual standard. I can only apologise now and pass this issue to the chefs to make sure this issue wont happen again.

Thank you for highlighting this, as it help us to improve for the future.

Kind Regards
Harper's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2022 via mobile

A convenient, lovely small hotel and steakhouse that welcomes dogs, in its dog friendly accommodation.
Close to the marina, it is an ideal place to explore the Hamble.
Breakfast is good with a large selection of dishes.
If you do take a dog, you have to eat outside. However, there are tables that are undercover.
Some nice little touches include a Dyson air cooler in your room, a small table and chairs outside the room, plus a wireless phone charger.

Room tip: If parking your car in the carpark, don’t forget to register your car at the bar
Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Happiness29315330644
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rob Goodier, Owner at Harper's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2022

Hello Happiness29315330644, thank you; we appreciate your feedback! We look forward to your next visit! Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2022 via mobile

We visited the restaurant during our stay last night. The service was outstanding, our waitress Natalie was attentive and personable. The food was fabulous value for money and absolutely was delicious. Our steaks were cooked perfectly.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank katherinecX8511EF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews