We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Expedia
FindHotel
eDreams
Etrip
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Reviews (426)
Filter reviews
426 results
Traveller rating
152
112
68
49
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
152
112
68
49
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews birthday meal excellent breakfast navigator southampton swanwick
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 426 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2022 via mobile

Hadn’t eaten at Harpers before and decided to try it for our anniversary. Entering the car reg on their machine for parking wasn’t the easiest but could just be my sausage fingers!!
Excellent service throughout by Beth, nice atmosphere but best of all was the delicious food. Fillet steak cooked to perfection and an amazing whole rack of ribs (which was too much for my wife).
Thanks to Harpers for an anniversary meal to remember.
Bryan & Denise

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BigGriff67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rob Goodier, Owner at Harper's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2022

Dear Guest

Thank you for score 5/5.
We hope to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Harper's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2022

The lady that served us couldn't be more helpful. A family of 6 with a toddler whom had egg and milk allergies. This restaurant couldn't have been more helpful with trying to accommodate these and keep him safe. It's hard to get this kind of service! We will be returning. The food was amazing and the care was exceptional.
Thank you.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Erniee1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Shobna Singh, General Manager at Harper's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2022

Erniee1996, we're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations! We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2022

Visited Harper's to night 6/4/2022 had a lovely meal excellent service , food was great , no complaints we were all very happy. Our waitress Abbie was very efficient and very welcoming nothing was too much trouble . Lovely environment well positioned table for our party . Can highly recommend .

Thank you Gary Mayley

Date of stay: May 2022
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rob Goodier, Owner at Harper's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2022

Gary M, we're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2022 via mobile

Booked online and put in comments that we wanted to sit on the terrace as we had a dog. Arrived and headed in to let them know we were here and were told they didn’t serve food outside and didn’t allow dogs inside…no one had told us this despite writing it on the booking form and reviews on here say dogs are allowed outside. When questioned we were told it gets too busy to serve outside and too cold! We booked for 1730 as had a young child and the restaurant was empty at the time. We came with blankets ready to sit outside and they have terrace heaters but the person checking us in really didn’t seem to care and wasn’t willing to find a compromise. So this left 6 people, 1 toddler and a dog to find somewhere to eat on a Sunday evening with no booking. Not an easy task. So disappointed as wanted to try here since it opened as a steak house.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank domjonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rob Goodier, Owner at Harper's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2022

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your meal at Harper's. I am sorry to hear that you didn't have good experience. Our terrace is open for our guests to dine outside if they wish.
If you would like to contact on us directly 01489 532 546 we could discuss the issue further.

Kindest Regards
Harper's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2022 via mobile

Our family has been to both the navigator and the newly branded Harpers, ive got to say its dropped off massively. What a jester show it has become, old mannagent out and new in. The service was unbelievably slow the two times we have visited since their rebranding. Even after ~ an hour wait our food was mediocre at the price you pay. Mannagent of this restaurant/ steakhouse / hotel, they can even decide what they want to be, has made many poor decisions that turned a decent pub / casual restaurant its a flaming pile of “dont bother”. The young staff are genuinely nice and (i guess) enjoy what they are doing, but as it says in the title you get better service + better food a short walk up the hill from this plqce at Miller & Carter.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Noahjgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Shobna Singh, General Manager at Harper's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2022

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments.
I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with the new changes in our restaurant. We are no longer the Navigator as we have changed into Steakhouse which is our new brand.
We will however pass your comments to our management at the support centre as a feedback about the changes.

Kind Regards
Harper's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews