We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Expedia
eDreams
FindHotel
Agoda.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Reviews (410)
Filter reviews
411 results
Traveller rating
141
110
67
49
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
141
110
67
49
44
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 411 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2022

Visited Harper's to night 6/4/2022 had a lovely meal excellent service , food was great , no complaints we were all very happy. Our waitress Abbie was very efficient and very welcoming nothing was too much trouble . Lovely environment well positioned table for our party . Can highly recommend .

Thank you Gary Mayley

Date of stay: May 2022
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob Goodier, Owner at Harper's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2022

Gary M, we're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2022 via mobile

Booked online and put in comments that we wanted to sit on the terrace as we had a dog. Arrived and headed in to let them know we were here and were told they didn’t serve food outside and didn’t allow dogs inside…no one had told us this despite writing it on the booking form and reviews on here say dogs are allowed outside. When questioned we were told it gets too busy to serve outside and too cold! We booked for 1730 as had a young child and the restaurant was empty at the time. We came with blankets ready to sit outside and they have terrace heaters but the person checking us in really didn’t seem to care and wasn’t willing to find a compromise. So this left 6 people, 1 toddler and a dog to find somewhere to eat on a Sunday evening with no booking. Not an easy task. So disappointed as wanted to try here since it opened as a steak house.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank domjonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob Goodier, Owner at Harper's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2022

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your meal at Harper's. I am sorry to hear that you didn't have good experience. Our terrace is open for our guests to dine outside if they wish.
If you would like to contact on us directly 01489 532 546 we could discuss the issue further.

Kindest Regards
Harper's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2022 via mobile

Our family has been to both the navigator and the newly branded Harpers, ive got to say its dropped off massively. What a jester show it has become, old mannagent out and new in. The service was unbelievably slow the two times we have visited since their rebranding. Even after ~ an hour wait our food was mediocre at the price you pay. Mannagent of this restaurant/ steakhouse / hotel, they can even decide what they want to be, has made many poor decisions that turned a decent pub / casual restaurant its a flaming pile of “dont bother”. The young staff are genuinely nice and (i guess) enjoy what they are doing, but as it says in the title you get better service + better food a short walk up the hill from this plqce at Miller & Carter.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Noahjgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shobna Singh, General Manager at Harper's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2022

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments.
I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with the new changes in our restaurant. We are no longer the Navigator as we have changed into Steakhouse which is our new brand.
We will however pass your comments to our management at the support centre as a feedback about the changes.

Kind Regards
Harper's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2022 via mobile

We met up with work colleagues as one was leaving, for a pint today at 5pm. I checked online first to see if dogs were allowed and it said "we are dog friendly". When entering I was told to take my dog out as dogs weren't allowed. I told the lady serving that I did check first, but didn't believe me. She then asked to see on my phone so I showed her. After checking twice, she still said that they are not allowed. Embarrassingly I removed the dog from the premises.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank andygR4339GG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shobna Singh, General Manager at Harper's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2022

Hello Andy

Unfortunately as i said to you upon arrival what you showed me was an old TripAdvisor review and photo of a dog when it was the navigator, i apologies you had misleading information but this was old information. we are now a premium restaurant, not a pub and do not allow dogs inside, many of your colleagues also knew we were not dog friendly so apologies.

regards
harpers team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2022 via mobile

First visit and received good hot meal with excellent service by Natalie, will be visiting again soon.
Would highly recommend this restaurant, the evening menu appears very tempting and plan to book soon.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank alan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob Goodier, Owner at Harper's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2022

Dear Alan

Thank you for your score 4/5
We hope to seeing you back for dinner!

Kind Regards
Harper's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews