We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.com
US$45
View deal
Hotels.comUS$45
ExpediaUS$45
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
Agoda.com
Vio.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveller rating
155
113
68
49
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
155
113
68
49
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews birthday meal excellent breakfast navigator southampton swanwick
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 430 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2022 via mobile

Our family has been to both the navigator and the newly branded Harpers, ive got to say its dropped off massively. What a jester show it has become, old mannagent out and new in. The service was unbelievably slow the two times we have visited since their rebranding. Even after ~ an hour wait our food was mediocre at the price you pay. Mannagent of this restaurant/ steakhouse / hotel, they can even decide what they want to be, has made many poor decisions that turned a decent pub / casual restaurant its a flaming pile of “dont bother”. The young staff are genuinely nice and (i guess) enjoy what they are doing, but as it says in the title you get better service + better food a short walk up the hill from this plqce at Miller & Carter.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Noahjgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Shobna Singh, General Manager at Harper's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2022

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments.
I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with the new changes in our restaurant. We are no longer the Navigator as we have changed into Steakhouse which is our new brand.
We will however pass your comments to our management at the support centre as a feedback about the changes.

Kind Regards
Harper's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2022 via mobile

We met up with work colleagues as one was leaving, for a pint today at 5pm. I checked online first to see if dogs were allowed and it said "we are dog friendly". When entering I was told to take my dog out as dogs weren't allowed. I told the lady serving that I did check first, but didn't believe me. She then asked to see on my phone so I showed her. After checking twice, she still said that they are not allowed. Embarrassingly I removed the dog from the premises.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank andygR4339GG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Shobna Singh, General Manager at Harper's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2022

Hello Andy

Unfortunately as i said to you upon arrival what you showed me was an old TripAdvisor review and photo of a dog when it was the navigator, i apologies you had misleading information but this was old information. we are now a premium restaurant, not a pub and do not allow dogs inside, many of your colleagues also knew we were not dog friendly so apologies.

regards
harpers team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2022 via mobile

First visit and received good hot meal with excellent service by Natalie, will be visiting again soon.
Would highly recommend this restaurant, the evening menu appears very tempting and plan to book soon.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank alan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rob Goodier, Owner at Harper's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2022

Dear Alan

Thank you for your score 4/5
We hope to seeing you back for dinner!

Kind Regards
Harper's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2022 via mobile

We stayed for one night with our well behaved dog. The hotel was advertised as dog friendly and we paid the additional £15 fee for the dog upon booking.
Upon arrival we were told that although dogs are allowed to stay in the room, that dogs are not allowed in the restaurant or bar or any communal areas.

We were really looking forward to spending the evening having a meal and drinks in the steakhouse and breakfast there the next morning. We were told we would have to leave the dog in our room or take our food back to our room.

Nowhere on the website does it say that dogs are not allowed anywhere but the room and we found this really misleading, had we known we wouldn't have booked. We assumed that a dog friendly hotel means dogs are welcome in the amenities. We would have happily sat in a particular section or even have been hidden away in a corner.

There also seems to be a damp problem in the room, the paint was flaking and falling onto the floor.

Great location.

Room tip: Dogs aren't welcome in the bar or restaurant
Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Grace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rob Goodier, Owner at Harper's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2022

Hello Grace

apologies that you were unhappy that we are no longer dog friendly. we did try to reassure the situation by offering your room service in which we do not normally do. we apologies if you thought that our website was misleading in any way but under no circumstances was this our attentions. we are no longer dog friendly as we are now a premium steak house restaurant not a pub. we do however have a dog friendly hotel, heated and covered outside areas in which dogs are allowed. we apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2022 via mobile

We arrived at about 5-30 and picked up our room key. The room was excellent. We then went to find out about eating an evening meal we were a party of 12 people who were told that you are going to have to wits a long time for your meal and you would be better going to another Restaurant. Which we did.. I was also told to be down for breakfast early as the hotel will be full of Mother’s Day guests and we will be very busy. We came down at 9-15 to find the restaurant empty.
My daughter arrived about 8 and had a nice meal. She told me a party of 8 people arrived to eat at.about the same time. The manager told them they would have a long wait and would be better going elsewear,
On our second visit to breakfast the managers attitude had changed and was very welcoming

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 981robertd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rob Goodier, Owner at Harper's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2022

Hello

Upon check in you already had a table booked for 8, but you asked to increase the table size, but wasn't sure of the amount at the time. so we advised if you could confirm the numbers as it was a busy weekend. And we were advised everyone upon checking in that because it was mothers day weekend we were advising people that its best to book a table because this is something we always do at weekends to avoid disappointment of guests not being able to get a table. At that point you advised us that you wanted to cancel the table and go else where, at no point did we say it was better to go else where.
Part of our booking in policy's we do advise guests for booking in times at the restaurant as we can get very busy and we try to accommodate all hotel guests first.

regards
harpers team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews