We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
WistowTbone
Selby, United Kingdom

Great little hotel in great location

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Jul 2014
My wife myself and daughter stayed here as my daughter was viewing Southampton university. we stayed in a family room and it was very well appointed with nice decor and good facilities including fresh coffee. The shower room was large including a double shower. Beds were very cozy and the linen and cleanliness of the room was great. The only problem they had was a bit of old mould that had been painted over but not completely removed in the bathroom because it is constantly wet and the fan was not really big enough to extract the volume of air but it was a small imperfection and did not spoil our stay.

The hotel itself sits across from a huge marina so the outlook is lovely but there is a read between. We went across to dream of owning one of the boats when we win the lottery.

The restaurant and bar attached to the hotel are great, nicely decorated in a nautical theme with drift wood furniture and portals a plenty. The food and drinks here are exceptional and for the quality good value.

Breakfast was continental and included but you could pay a small amount more if you wanted a full cooked breakfast or some specialist cooked food. We had had such a huge meal the night before in the restaurant that we stuck to continental which was of good quality.

For a cost of just a little more than your average brand cheap hotels this was top class and highly recommended.



Date of stay: July 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Contact accommodation for availability.
8.8 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
9.0 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
7.1 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
7.3 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Contact accommodation for availability.
7.6 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
7.1 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Restaurant
7.9 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Thepig Inthewall
Contact accommodation for availability.
7.7 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Contact accommodation for availability.
3.1 km from Charming Bedrooms at Harper's Steakhouse Southampton
Free Wifi
Free parking
Temporarily closed
View more hotels in Lower Swanwick
Reviews (474)
Filter reviews
474 results
Traveller rating
188
117
71
52
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
188
117
71
52
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews birthday meal full english excellent breakfast navigator hairdryer southampton swanwick
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
389 - 394 of 474 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed here while visiting relatives and it was great. I had a single room above the bar area and I was very surprised with how quiet it was. The manager was great as were all the staff. Everything they had said on website was true. Will stay here again

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foxgroun
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This was a last minute booking due to a rescheduled meeting in Portsmouth. Only downsides I can think of is the busy road at the front of the hotel and the rooms might benefit from air conditioning it was a very warm day. Staff were welcoming and helpful, room clean and comfortable. The food was superb. Hotel is easy to get to and quick access to either Portsmouth or Southampton.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at the Navigator at the last minute and booked it the day before as we fancied a weekend in the New Forest. When we booked, we were told that there was a function there that evening and there'd be a bit of noise until they turned the music off at 11.30pm - we didn't think that was too bad, so we booked - and I'm really pleased we did.
We stayed in room 12A, which was a family room (it appears that there isn't a room 13!!!). It had a double bed and a single for our 9 year old.
It was absolutely spotless, and despite deploying every trick I've seen on '4 in a bed', I couldn't find one speck of dust anywhere in the room.
The beds were really comfy and the room had everything it you could expect (including a cafetiere and fresh coffee).
There was a function on and yes you could hear a little bit of music but it wasn't really loud and when we had the TV on, we couldn't hear it. Bang on 11.30pm, the music went off, exactly as we were told when we booked.
The bar area was really nice and kept clean and the staff were really nice and attentive. If you stay, make sure you have the peanut butter and banoffee dessert - it's to die for and I'd have happily paid for it at any of Gordon Ramsay's restaurants. The full english the next morning was also superb - the chefs there are bang on the money.
If I was going to be really picky (and I mean REALLY picky), the pillows were a bit soft for me, but after saying that I didn't ask if they had harder pillows and the room was a little on the hot side (but it was a warm Summer's evening and night).
We really enjoyed it and we had a great time and I would definitely go back - they did a great job.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We arrived quite late on the day of our stay but had no problem checking in with a very nice young assistant. Room fairly large and a very comfy bed with extra pillows which we used. Toiletries were left out for us as were tea and coffee (but no biscuits:()!!!
There was a function on downstairs and we checked what time the music would be turned off and were assured it would finish at 11.30 pm which it did on the dot as we arrived back from our evening out at the same time.
Lovely breakfast with friendly staff. Will most prob stay again as my husband's family live nearby so is very convenient for us.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilacdiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Called prior to stay to ask if it was suitable to take a six month old and was told yes, we requested a quiet room and seemed to have been given a very nicely decorated cupboard in a nightclub. Both nights of our stay we had to endure very load, terrible music and shouting from the function room, all that separated this from our youngster being a paper thin wall.
Breakfast was OK, very good black pudding and place is very well decorated, but when you book a room you do hope to be able to get some sleep especially after being told it would suit such a young guest.
This place truly is 'all fur coat and no Knickers'...invest in some sound proofing if you want to mix the quasi-nightclub with a hotel.
Whilst it seems reasonable value, when you consider the complete lack of regard for the residents actual comfort in relation to the noise levels I would consider it theft to part with a single penny for such a room again.

Room tip: Save your money and just sleep in the bar, you will probably get the same noise level anyway
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews