We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (505)
Filter reviews
505 results
Traveller rating
263
181
41
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
263
181
41
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub st austell brewery beer garden superior room premier inn good size air conditioning family meal booked a table car park free wifi comfortable bed busy road lovely hotel room was large main road reception staff
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 505 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

We can often be found here enjoying the great food and service. We have the carvery regularly and it’s always been delicious, we have also had mains, starters and desserts from the main menu and we have always really enjoyed our food. The chocolate fudge sharer is a must !
Great food, great service and great atmosphere.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank lolCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The County Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the 5* review! We are so glad you enjoy the carvery and the chocolate fudge sharer!! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

After a late hospital appointment at Treliske hospital, decided to book a room here and drive home in the morning, wow, the little pub I used to frequent as a teenager has become a classy hotel, restaurant and inn, the room was massive (room8) everything in perfect working order, great modern bathroom, nice size tv, comfy king size bed, great stay, had the roast for the evening meal, most of which was really tasty, the potatoes and Yorkshire puddings were not of the quality of the rest of the meal, but a good overall stay and yes, we would love to return here.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank alankeithh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The County Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Thank you very much for this great review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and food with us. We do hope you will return in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2018

I called here with my daughter and grandson, looking for an evening meal. We were greeted immediately on arrival. After being offered menus, our orders for drinks were quickly taken and these arrived soon afterwards. There was a carvery meal, with a choice from three meats on the Specials list. This was laid out at the end of the bar and, with its choice of vegetables, looked very tempting, so we chose this- a small one for my daughter and me and a large one for my grandson. We really enjoyed our meals, but had no room afterwards for a sweet course.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The County Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Thank you Barry for this review, we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We do hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018

A very good value hotel. Good size room, nice bathroom all very clean. Found the staff friendly & helpful. Unfortunately the meals served in the restaurant did not meet the same high standards. At lunch on the Saturday it was very busy, but our lunch was of a good quality & tasty. We were really looking forward to our evening meal. Even though the restaurant was surprisingly quiet on the Saturday evening. Our evening meal was of a poor standard, mostly uneaten but the waitress did not seem to notice that 3 diners on our table of 4 had left a lot of their meal. We did not feel comfortable complaining. So just put it down to experience.
This was such a shame because the hotel has a lot going for it but the catering standard really let it down.

Room tip: Some rooms have a lovely country view others a car park. So guess best to check when booking.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The County Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Many thanks Louise for this great review, We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018

The rooms are clean and bright. View from windows varies. Ours had a view of the car park, but we were only there to sleep, not to look out of the window. Despite being near the car park, it was quiet during the night.
We ate in the pub restaurant and were disappointed in it. Although residents and we had booked a table for two, we were given a small table next to the kitchen. It was noisy and we had to wait a while for our food. The carvery was well attended by others and the emphasis seemed to be on staffing the carvery, not individual diners.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank locallady49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at The County Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Thank you for the review, we are pleased you enjoyed your carvery with us and do hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews