We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
21
9
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
9
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cellar door spa bath stayed for nights cottage fireplace kookaburras
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2011

we stayed two nights in a deluxe cabin, nestled away amonst the gum trees, with a view of the vines. The cabin had everything we needed and the sunken spa was really relaxing. I loved the bbq and being able to cook up a nice meal whilst drinking the estate wine. Our host was most kind and went out of his way to ensure we enjoyed our stay.

The wine and beer tasting was top notch and the tour (even in the rain) was very nice.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funtraveller80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

With some frantic months behind us we were looking for somewhere to head for a weekend away to relax and enjoy spending some time together. Otway Estate offered us just what we were needing. The people there were friendly and very welcoming. The cottage was cozy and comfortable. The food, wine and beer, particularly the evening meal we took in our cottage, were delicious (I would highly recommend doing this, I think we ate our meal over about 3hrs and then finished dessert in the early hours of the morning watching the soccer). We also enjoyed the tours and tastings, they were as far as we walked on the Saturday!. We would recommend this to anyone and will return again ourselves (hopefully one day soon). Only downside was the tv reception for watching the world cup wasn't very good.

Date of stay: June 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markaustin79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We stayed at Otway Estate for one night at the end our Great Ocean Road road-trip. Usually you can only stay for mutiple nights but they were kind enough to accomodate us in between other bookings. We arrived mid-afternoon towards the end of lunch service, and once again were kind enough to accomodate us with a table. We had the most beautiful and generous soft shell crab, cheese platter and wine sitting on the restaurant balcony and then retired to our cottage. There are just 3 secluded cottages at Otway Estate, designed perfectly for a couple. They are lovely cabins - spacious, modern and well equipped, with every detail carefully catered for to make your stay as perfect as possible. The spa in the lounge room is just awesome. They have a great service where you can order dinner from the restaurant menu (the restaurant is not open in the evening) and it is prepared by the chef for you to just pop in the oven when you are ready. Once you are here you really dont want to leave, so this is an excellent idea! The service was exceptional and we were delighted with all the unexpected extras such as a pre-set log fire, a beautiful country continental breakfast left in the cottage, cheese and a bottle of wine, and desert sent down with the dinner main-course that we ordered. What more could you ask for? Its only a couple of hours drive from Melbourne, or 1hr 20 mins from Avalon Airport.
Dont miss out on the wine and the restaurant during your stay - both are excellent.

Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loutaylor36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

We had such a relaxing time, allowing my partner and I to spend some quality time reconnecting.

We loved the spa more than anything and that was definitely the highlight of our trip.

I agree with one of the posts below about the furniture and DVDs being quite outdated, even the property guide with property and tourist information has not been looked at in years and believe this should be updated.

We absolutely loved our time here though, the vineyard was beautiful and staff were lovely and attentive. I would suggest an upgrade to their food menu wouldn't hurt though.

In the end, I would recommend this place but if it wasn't for the wonderful spa, tranquil setting and lovely staff, it wouldn't have much going for it.

Date of stay: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catsanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

We stayed at Otway Estate for my sisters wedding. We found the winery absolutely lovely, the food top notch and the service friendly and caring. They could not have done anything more to attend to our needs. They happily and speedily helped us out when we had little problems like broken glass in the grass and emergency phone calls to and from the newly weds. They catered to my daughter and her fussy eating habits with no worries and smiles.The cabin was lovely and clean and everything there that we could possibly need. The beautiful bush setting was lovely to wake up to and there were no intrusive knocks to clean our rooms the next morning. There was a nice short walk through the winery from the restaurant to our cabin which meant no one had to drive and we could all enjoy our stay. All in all i would like to thank all the staff and chefs for making our time there truly special and memorable. We definately would recommend the estate and are planning our next trip as we speak!! Thanks again!!

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donnaleworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews