We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”
Review of Brooks Carlow

Brooks Carlow
Ranked #16 of 77 Restaurants in Carlow
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The newly renovated Brooks is a much loved haunt for coffee lovers by day and a great spot for relaxing and unwinding in a warm, friendly atmosphere over breakfast, brunch, a delicious signature sandwich or a popular lunch special – all made to order with fresh, local ingredients. As the evening sets in, Brooks transforms into a casual dining restaurant offering an evening menu with fresh seafood, steak, burgers, pizza’s and a range of classic dishes as well as a selection of sharing platters and light bites. TripAdvisor have awarded a 2016 Certificate of Excellence to Brooks.
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

If in Carlow brooks cafe is worth a visit. Good food staff are friendly and helpful. Every good value for money. We will defiantly will return. Daithi D

Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinnRi_Response, Guest Relations Manager at Brooks Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Hello Daithi,
Just a quick note to thank you for your very kind review.
We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive feedback and we look forward to seeing you again next time!
Kind Regards from all the team at Brooks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2018

We went in on Saturday for a bite to eat, this was at 6pm in the evening. It looks nice, the decor modern. Order took awhile,, and on receipt of Roast Chicken dinner special, we were disappointed. It was fairly sparse, the chicken lay in the middle of an empty place.. one potato cut in half - A tablespoon of veg decorated about the chicken. We were expecting a proper roast chicken dinner. (19.00) We asked for more vegetables,and they didnt break their heart- I mentioned this to the staff when paying and she said she hadn't seem the dish??Surely the chef should show staff what is on the menu-- We were ripped off for the price.

Fajitas were more onions than chicken or veg.

Wouldnt recommend - Should have tried Dinn Ri next door.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IrishDee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinnRi_Response, Guest Relations Manager at Brooks Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Hi there, we are obviously very disappointed to read your review regarding your chosen dishes. Portion sizes tend not to be an issue generally, however your feedback has been shared with both management and the kitchen and is taken seriously. Thank you for your valued feedback.
Kind Regards from all the team @ Brooks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

If you’re looking for a decent feed steer clear. Portion sizes wouldn’t feed the cat! Will cost you an arm and leg too.

2  Thank pauldoody2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinnRi_Response, Guest Relations Manager at Brooks Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Hi Paul,
Thank you for your review which has been shared with the kitchen and with management.
There are a range of options on the breakfast menu, from mini or light, to larger portion sizes.
We are not sure which dish you ordered, but regardless we are sorry that you did not rate it in terms of portion size/price.
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.
Kind Regards from all the team.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

We popped into Brooks today and I ordered badly. Simply picked a sandwich whose ingredients I didn't like in the combination provided. Obviously entirely my fault and no fault of the restaurant however when the waitress checked with us whether we were happy and I mentioned this, she kindly offered to replace it with a different wrap of my choice. The second roast chicken wrap was delicious and I left a very happy customer. Thank you so much for being so accommodating. We will be back

Thank DeniseLaurenIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinnRi_Response, Guest Relations Manager at Brooks Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Hello,
We just wanted to acknowledge your lovely review and thank you for taking the time to post it on TripAdvisor. Delighted to hear that the situation was sorted for you and that you left a happy customer. Chef, of course, will also be very pleased to hear your great feedback on the Chicken Wrap!
We look forward to seeing you again soon,
Kind Regards from all the team at Brooks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

We had a light lunch here; Tea and a scone with jam, and tea with Mushroom soup. The soup was delicious, the scone was really good, and the jam was of highest quality. The cafe itself is cozy and welcoming; it also offers evening dining.

Thank josepholiverm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DinnRi_Response, Guest Relations Manager at Brooks Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Hello and thank you so much for your 5 star review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your light lunch with us and found Brooks to be cozy and welcoming. Reviews like yours give us a great boost and we really appreciate that you took the time to share your positive feedback.
Kind Regards from all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brooks Carlow also viewed

 
Carlow, County Carlow
Carlow, County Carlow
 

Been to Brooks Carlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing