We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
140
43
10
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
43
10
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underground passage guarda val train station gourmet restaurant direct access beautiful hotel personal touch switzerland dinner
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Low customer centricity. The hotel did not make us feel welcome. A lot of information from staff, without asking what we look for. The smell of the kitchen is pretty bad in the entrance area any time of the day.

Rooms are average and not what you would expect from a boutique hotel.

Spa in the hotel is super small and not very relaxing. The spa areas outside of the hotel are linked by a very long tunnel, full of stairs, cold and smelly.

Breakfast buffet is okay.

Expectations were not met. Overall a very low price value. We have been to a lot nicer places for lesser money.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank juliahG5206RK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereHotels S, Manager at Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Thank you for your stay at the Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal and for your honest feedback. We apologize that your stay has not been to your full satisfaction. We will take your criticism on board and try to find solutions to improve the appearance of our hotel. Our spa area in the hotel is meant to be an addition to the Engadine bath with pools and large sauna area, where our guests have free and unlimited access to. As we couldn’t move the entire bath closer to the hotel, we’ve chosen to build a gangway leading through several buildings to the bath. The idea was to offer a comfortable way to reach the bath in your bathrobe. This is especially convenient in winter. Again we apologize not being able to fulfill your expectations and would be glad to welcome you again in our hotel and to convince you from quality.

Kind regards from Scuol

Jürgen Walch
Host / Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

- very good overall
Food super tasty - menu in the evening in incredible tasty
Staff lovely always smiling
Rooms have a lot of charm and view
Breakfast is incredible large choice
Very quite
Personal touch (always good morning Mrs xx Mr xx)

A Super hôtel to visit once !
Thanks to the team

Stayed: April 2017
Thank isabelh1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereHotels S, Manager at Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Thank you very much for your kind evaluation and for your stay at the GuardaVal. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and would be glad to welcome you back soon. In the meantime we send you best wishes from the Engadine.

Jürgen Walch
Host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

Great long week-end in this pretty hotel. The room was very nice with a great view, the spa small but mostly unoccupied with a pretty sauna and nice drinks, and covered access to the public pool which opens in the evenings with nice lights. The restaurant and brunch is top-notch, I have a wonderful memory of our menu there. The only downside we've experienced was the noise on the streets at night on the saturday, since there is some disco further down the street and drunk youngsters walking back home making a racket throughout the night. I would encourage the hotel to somehow pressure the authorities to have an earlier closing time for this disco.

Room Tip: Probably quieter at the back but the view from the front is gorgeous.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jonas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereHotels S, Manager at Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Thank you very much for your kind evaluation. We are very pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at the Romantic & Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal with our additional offers (Bath + Ski included) and our service. We are very sorry, that you were disturbed by noise on Saturday night – but the noise is very rarely a problem – the police patrols regularly in the night. We would be pleased to welcome you again in our hotel. Meanwhile we send you best wishes from the Engadine.

Jürgen Walch
Hosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Stayed with my wife for the first time in Scuol and this lovely hotel, a week of skiing was met with perfection in the hotel, clean room + bath, comfortable bed, great breakfast and splendid choices for the evening meal. The restaurant staff where lovely, helpful and not like previously mentioned arrogant at all.
We stayed for a week, left very early on the final morning and had a good breakfast to take on our 1000 mile journey back to the UK.
We had avoided Switzerland for more than 10 years but loved the valley, the friendly people on and off the slopes and in the shops in the village.
Switzerland is never cheap - the package included access to the local "water world" and the ski pass - overall good value for a lovely week.
Would we come back - yes - possibly in the summer - there is so much to discover !

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donkeydarmstadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereHotels S, Manager at Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Thank you very much for your kind evaluation. We are very pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at the GuardaVal at the fullest. We will gladly forward your motivating compliments to our staff. Moreover we would be pleased to welcome you again in our hotel. Meanwhile we send you best wishes from the Engadine.

Jürgen Walch
Hosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

We arrived in the dark, late at night and were thoroughly charmed by the helpful staff who showed us to our room and booked us a place in the restaurant. The hotel is gorgeous. Old rustic charm but well heated and comfortable. The beds were pretty hard but probably good for your back- although I was pretty stiff in the morning. The hotel connects through to the thermal spa through a series of passageways that are lovely and warm. Don't forget to take the blue card though- otherwise you won't get back into the passage! The card also gives you free entry to the spa which is incredible. Brilliant place with plenty of pools and spas and saunas. I could have stayed here much longer! The restaurant is lovely- food and service was brilliant and the breakfast was healthy and lovely. The Bircher muesli was particularly good. Would stay here again with pleasure.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Zara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelvedereHotels S, Manager at Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

We are pleased to read that you were fully satisfied with your stay at the Romantik & Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal and would like to thank you for your kind evaluation. We hope to welcome you again at the GuardaVal and send you best wishes from the Engadine.

Jürgen Walch
Host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews