We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
Expedia
Booking.com
Agoda.com
View all 6 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (539)
Filter reviews
539 results
Traveller rating
443
61
24
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
443
61
24
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski shop outdoor pool half board breakfast and dinner fondue restaurant fantastic hotel ski hotel bottled water kids club wonderful week mountain view bar area is perfect stay each evening shuttle service ski equipment we've stayed
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 539 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2020

My family and I, had an amazing experience at ALTAPURA hotel in the begining of March, it was just perfect, the hotel is very well located on the slopes, the terrace has a fatastic view with the swiming pool outside! But the must in this hotel is the staff, we were really impressed by the high level of service provided. The Manager Emily and Julian were taking care of us like their own family from the morning until the evening. No words to describe that we had the impression to be like at home! The food was really good with a great choice of meat or fish. Finally our kids enjoyed really much the kids club with Chrystel... We can't wait to come back in this fabulous hotel next winter, see you soon

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bergsonphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Émilie Pajevic, Directeur général at Altapura, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2020

Dear Guest,

What a pleasure to read your delightful comment, all the staff of Altapura is really happy that you enjoyed your stay.. We are looking forward to welcoming you back next winter for an other "Amazing experience"...


Best Regards

Emilie PAJEVIC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2020

I would like to thank Altapura for making our Val Thorens honeymoon very special indeed! We have been to the hotel on previous occasions but this time it was extra special thanks to Emilie Pajevic & the lovely front of house staff. Especially the lady who checked us in and helped us during our stay and unfortunately i do not recall her name. You can't miss her though she is the lady always smiling at the reception desk!

The hotel was impeccable and we cannot wait to return again. Although it is located a little outside the center it is still ski in, ski out and we never waited too long for the car/bus into the center at night. The pool and spa area is great and a must after long days skiing. We also had a couples massage which was excellent.

If you really want to treat yourself this hotel is a must. We first visited Val Thorens 15 years ago now and have tried a fair few of the older hotels. I did want to try some of the newer hotels but i cannot bring myself to when Altapura keep improving each time we stay. Thanks to everyone there and hopefully we will return again soon!

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JennyIrelnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Pajevic, Directeur général at Altapura, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2020

Dear Honeymooner Guests!

All the staff of Altapura is very impressed by your very kind feedback, "The Lady always smiling" is Marina, the Front Office Manager, she is our sunshine everyday ;-)

We are ready to organize your next stay at Altapura!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in our Mountains


Best Regards

Emilie PAJEVIC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2020

Fortunately the answer is yes!

We have just had a wonderful week long ski holiday in France. We have been to France les 3 vallees in the past but back then I was still eating dairy and seafood and as such it wasn't much of an issue. This time both my husband and I went as vegans and we were very concerned that French ski hotels would not cater for us - assuming we'd be destined for a week of frites and pasta in tomato sauce!

We spent hours and hours trawling through Google, looking for vegan friendly hotels or chalets and found very little. One hotel did pop-up on the search results where a vegan couple had stayed and had at least been able to eat - that hotel was the hotel Altapura in Val Thorens.

We went ahead and booked the hotel not expecting too much on the food front but we were absolutely blown away by hotel, the staff and the food! The staff and the managers are so helpful, they make everyone feel so welcome and special during the stay. They already knew we were vegan and went out of their way to provide us different and exciting meals everyday - rather than feel like we were missing out on the normal menu, it felt like we were getting extra special treatment.

Thank you so much to the chef for cooking delicious 3 course vegan meals for us every night, his cooking skills are unreal! Nothing we had was on the menu, he took on the challenge and we were absolutely impressed with his food every time. He earned the nickname “vegan chef” in the hotel!

So if you love skiing and are vegan, the Altapura in Val Thoren is a great option in France. I promise you will love this hotel!

Pros:
location - right on the slopes
refined vegan food options
friendly staff
hotel shuttle bus
beautiful hotel
dog friendly

Cons:
only one for me which is the cocktails are not the most exciting - but then this did mean we spent less money so every cloud :)

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sunnybouttell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Pajevic, Directeur général at Altapura, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2020

Dear "Vegan Guests"

What a FANTASTIC feedback, All the staff and particulary Matthieu LE GOUPIL, the Chef is delighted to read your comment. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay at ALTAPURA and that The Chef was so focused on your Vegan requests, it was a new challenge that he suceeded with flying colours!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in our Mountains....

Bets Regards

Emilie PAJEVIC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2020 via mobile

This is just a wow place. Friendly efficient service. Lovely hot drinks. The sofas, blankets, deck were all very classy. It was a wonderful place to spend a lunchtime. We will be back. The only thing that put me off is you have to walk through the smoking bar to get into the hotel which is a bit yuck.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank itchyfeetlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Pajevic, Directeur général at Altapura, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback, we are really delighted that you had a great experience at Altapura... We are looking forward to welcoming you for a stay maybe!

Best Regards

Emilie PAJEVIC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2020 via mobile

Excellent hotel - will return. Having stayed at 2 other 5* hotels in VT (and visited friends in the other) I would say this is the place to stay.

Location - well located to enjoy VT town and the winter sports and offers true ski in ski out (onto blue piste) facilities. Efficient shuttle service to get around is appreciated.

Ski shop - excellent in terms of both equipment selection and the knowledge/dedication of the staff.

Food/drink - good breakfast buffet with freshly cooked eggs included in the stay: worth noting other 5* in VT add supplement for this. Restaurant for breakfast offers floor to ceiling glass windows to get you revved up for the skiing! Didn’t sample the evening restaurants and prefer to go out. Pleasant bar with the most reasonably priced drinks out of the VT 5*s - as a result its well used and has a good vibe.

Room - cosy in Scandinavian style with everything you need and some very enjoyable piste views. Comfortable bed and luxurious bathroom. The slightly newer Koh I Nor offers more modern style accommodation decor and views over the resort/valley if that’s important to you but I rather look at the whole package.

Spa - the best in VT with very fun outdoor pool under the lifts (temperature seems to depend on who is on duty tho!!) and usable gym (if you haven’t skied yourself to exhaustion!)

Staff - did everything they could to offer a 5* service tailored to the guest. Efficient shuttle service around resort.

Verdict -> highly recommended if you are visiting VT.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank JimJim2866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-Pajevic, Directeur général at Altapura, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for writing a fantastic feedback.. Al the staff of Altapura was really delighted to welcome you and that you enjoyed the service with lot of guests' attention!

We are looking forward to welcomig you back in our Mountains

Best Regards

Emilie PAJEVIC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews