We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Nice beach

Nice beach and street leading to it with restaurants and shops. Better to arrive early to find a... read more

Reviewed 7 August 2019
castel2747
via mobile
Surf Ireland...Surf France

Travelled from Ireland for 3 days surf. Wind was on shore and waves werent great but the water was... read more

Reviewed 6 May 2019
Amanda D
,
Portballintrae, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 571 reviews
  
Reviews (571)
Filter reviews
571 results
Traveller rating
248
220
45
26
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
248
220
45
26
32
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 571 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2020 via mobile

The beaches are fabulous. Perfect for surfers. The town is lively with lots of shops and eating places.
Sadly the area is spoilt by the frequent, albeit irregular, stench from the paper factory. If you are downwind it is truly awful.

Date of experience: August 2020
Thank rsjuk83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OT-Mimizan, Responsable réception at Mimizan Plage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2020

Hi,

Thank you for your comment about our beaches
Concerning Gascogne, it is true that sometimes , depending on the wind (from west and rare) you can smell a sulphuric odour but harmful as explained in several comments from us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2020 via mobile

we have been in Mimizan in 2017, 2018 and 2020. The biggest problem of the place is that it's very difficult to find a good accommodation, house. In 2017 & 2018 it was half acceptable but this year we had a very bad luck. House was dirty to the extent that is hard to imagine. I think it was not cleaned for years, it was stinking all over, things were covered in dust and spider nets, bathrooms were stinking like public toilets, showers were blocked. In one word horror! And on top for a very "modest" price of 5.3 kEur for 2 weeks.
There is a paper factory in Mimizan that release once a day, if u are lucky, unbearable smell and obviously unfiltered water in the ocean which totally ruins the beach, the only beautiful thing about this place. Restaurants offer is quite poor, quality below average. We gave it a fair try but now it's over.
Interhome.ch was the agency we used. Very unprofessional!

Date of experience: July 2020
Thank marigroseen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OT-Mimizan, Responsable réception at Mimizan Plage, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2020

Dear Sir, Madam,

We are very sorry that your accomodation has been a bad experience. To arrange your future holiday, we suggest you get in touch with the Tourist Board. We offer a range of classed accomodation from 1 to 5* (visited several times) , to avoid bad surprises like you sadly experienced this year.

Concerning Gascogne Paper, the factory is controled by very stricts protocoles several times a year, on atmospheric and aqua rejects. We regret if the smells have been a nuisance during your stay, but in no case, it is a danger for your health.

Regarding the restaurants, we would be happy to advise you next time.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2019 via mobile

Nice beach and street leading to it with restaurants and shops. Better to arrive early to find a parking space though.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank castel2747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2019

Beautiful beach (off-shore currents need to be watched out for!), but just be sure it's not a day when the paperworks are belching out their horrid smelly smoke!

The beach is wonderful, but it is too near the paperworks. When the wind is in the wrong direction the stench is very unpleasant.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank ChristinaLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2019

what a great sandy beach this is either side of Mimizan Plage ville. However to the north you can only walk approx 3 kms then it is no access by order of the military. To the south just keep on going. We did 6kms south and still the sand went on. Dogs allowed also all year. I am advised though that in the height of summer the beach is incredibly popular with those members of the public who have an overwhelming desire to take their clothes off and parade their tackle, bits and pieces for the rest of us to see whether we like it or not.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Allez-Brive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews