We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Hotel Le Schoenenbourg
Nearby Hotels
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel l'Oriel(Riquewihr)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Au Cerf(Riquewihr)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Hotel au Riesling(Zellenberg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Le Mandelberg(Mittelwihr)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (655)
Filter reviews
655 results
Traveller rating
288
308
47
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
288
308
47
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townmodern hotelfree parkingstayed for nightsvery friendly and helpful staffshort walknice pooleasy accesscroissantscrepesperfect locationbreadbeautiful villagebreakfast roomper dayvineyardsalsace
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 655 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed in last April at the hotel for four nights. The forecast for that week was sunny and hot days which is quite uncommon for Alsace in April. When we reached our bedroom the air conditioning didn’t work. We thought it was an isolated problem at our room. But it wasn’t. The whole hotel air conditioning system was not working. According to the hotel staff they don’t have the air conditioning system on at that time of the year. And they didn’t even care to turn on the system. I stayed with my 70-years old mother in a very hot bedroom, and no way to offer another fresher room like those on the back facing the vineyards. “No ar conditioning at this time and that’s not our problem, sir”, that what I heard without further explanations or concerns.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Carlos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Striebel, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Le Schoenenbourg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guests,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback.
I am very surprised about your review, because my staff told me that you were very friendly every time they interacted with you or your mom and at no point did you express a discomfort regarding the heat during your stay.

We turn on Air Conditioning as soon as temperatures rise and guests request it. We do not set a specific date in advance, but we rather look at the weather forecast to turn on the A/C.
Right now, the weather forecast indicates temperatures averaging 13°C, and guests are still requesting heat in their rooms, because nights are pretty cold here. It is therefore the right decision to stay in heat mode, even though during a small fraction of the afternoon and if you stand behind a glass window and if it is sunny, you might feel a little hot.

The hotel staff is here to serve our guests the best way they can and they do a very good job based on the other reviews we have in this website.
My staff would have found a solution for you, if they had known how uncomfortable you seemed to be based on your review.

Since I have no contact information because you booked through a third party website, I would love for you to contact me so I can understand why you were so friendly and seemed happy with your stay even though your review seem to illustrate just the opposite.

Best regards,

Mathias Striebel
hotel.schoenenbourg@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

We were looking for a hotel close to Riquewihr, having a SPA, in a reasonable price range and a good standard : the BEST WESTERN Hotel le Schoenenbourg is the perfect solution to our equation.

Located right at the entrance of the beautiful village of Riquewihr, it is only 2-minutes walk away from the old city pedestrian streets of the village.
Having a lot of private parking spaces, one doesn't need to worry about parking his car in order to visit the village.

The hotel is clean and very functional. We enjoyed the SPA a lot, it is very new, therefore the equipment's (Sauna, SPA, small pool) were very good quality. Bathrobe and slippers can be requested free of charge at the reception.

Room Superior is pretty large, with tea/coffee amenities. WIFI is fast.

The reception staff is very friendly.

We recommend and would definitely stay here again, the next time we visit Riquewihr.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim_8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Striebel, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Le Schoenenbourg, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your vacation getaway in Alsace, and thank you for taking the time to praise our hotel amenities and quality of service.

Our SPA facilities are less than 6 months old and have been carefully designed to reflect our reputation as a relaxing, peaceful, clean and friendly hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future on your next vacation in Riquewihr.

Kindest regards,

Mathias Striebel - General Manager
Best Western Hotel Le Schoenenbourg
hotel.schoenenbourg@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

The Best Western Le Schoenenbourg offers free parking, which was a big plus for us since we were touring Alsace by car.

The hotel is a 5 min walk to Riquewihr old town with its quaint shops and restaurants.

The hotel is being renovated, but we stayed in one of the ‘old’ rooms. Nevertheless, the room was clean, comfortable and very spacious.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Amit_and_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Striebel, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Le Schoenenbourg, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Dear guests,

Many thanks for writing such a positive comment about your stay with us.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that our team, our hotel amenities as well as our ideal location.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best wishes for the coming year!

Mathias Striebel
Best Western Hotel Le Schoenenbourg
hotel.schoenenbourg@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

We drove to the Alsace to visit the Christmas markets with Riquewihr being our final stop. The Best Western Hotel Le Schoenenbourg was the perfect location for my wife and I. The hotel staff were friendly and professional taking care of all of our questions while checking in, and front gate to the village of Riquewihr is just a short 5 minute walk from the hotel. This location allowed us to keep our car parked during our entire stay.
Our room was very comfortable with the shower and toilet being separated which is something I like. Makes getting ready in the morning much easier.
We also had a view of the vineyards which I liked.
Our two little dogs joined us so being on the edge of town was nice, and I was able to take some nice walks along the vineyards outside of Riquewihr with my camera.
Very happy with our stay =)

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Striebel, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Le Schoenenbourg, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Dear guests,

Many thanks for writing such a detailed and positive description of your stay with us.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that our team, our hotel amenities as well as our ideal location.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best wishes for the coming year!

Mathias Striebel
Best Western Hotel Le Schoenenbourg
hotel.schoenenbourg@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

This hotel is in a great location for anyone wishing to visiting the Alsace wineries. The staff were friendly, the rooms were clean with plenty of hot water for a shower. There was a very good choice for breakfast, shame there wasn't a restaurant on an evening though there was a good choice in the town which was a five minute walk. Only letdown for me was allowing pets in the breakfast dining room (not a guide dog).

Room Tip: Quiet cul de sac so choose a room to suite your budget
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Striebel, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Le Schoenenbourg, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear guests,

Thank you for your detailed description of the benefits of our hotel location.
It is indeed ideally located at the middle of the Alsace wine route.

We do not have a restaurant at the hotel but do offer small snacking in case our guests do not want to walk in town where Riquewihr has over 30 restaurants.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future and provide you with a similar positive experience.

Best regards,

Mathias Striebel
hotel.schoenenbourg@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews