We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
76
40
9
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
40
9
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room and sauna last minute booking antipasti min walk skis and boots ski school borgata wifi mountains skiing slopes
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2015

I have just returned from a week at the Hotel Sciatori and recommend it hugely for its location, atmosphere, food and staff. We were a noisy family group of nine - aged 66 down to 17 - and would have been hard pressed to invent a better scenario for all involved. Skiing was of course the main priority, so the proximity to the ski depository and lifts was great, but we also love to hang out, drink gins and tonics and play silly games, so the bar and sitting areas were perfect for all that. The dinners have been highly praised elsewhere on Tripadvisor and deservedly so, particularly the pastas and antipastis - absolutely perfect after a day in the mountains. Breakfast offers a vast range of sweet things - not entirely to the taste of all of our party - but eggs were provided on request and I'm sure that almost any other request would have been considered. It's easy to find fault with any hotel - whatever the rating - but when a three star hotel is clean, warm, efficient and tries incredibly hard to make your stay memorable and pleasant, what's not to like? Particularly when the prices are seriously reasonable, the barman is a sommelier and a cocktail expert, and the owner - the legendary Gian Paolo - couldn't have been nicer and more helpful. Oh, and by the way - free high speed wifi and free parking - not to be sniffed at. Well done, Sciatori; I have a feeling we'll be back.

Room Tip: Some rooms have doubles and bunks - best to request a double only if travelling as a couple.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Gracecarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We booked this hotel at short notice for three nights as we wanted to visit friends skiing.
As it was three star I did not expect brilliant food or experience, but to my surprise this small hotel exceeded all expectations and I would certainly recommend it. The staff were exceptional. Very polite, helpful and sociable. The atmosphere was cosy and friendly just what you need after skiing.
The biggest surprise was the food. The breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice of cereals,,hams, cheeses etc along with a fantastic selection of homemade cakes and pastries. Mouthwatering! At breakfast we were asked for for choice of dinner menu. This was a choice of three pasta starters and a choice of three main courses. You could also have soup of the day.
The dinner sitting was at 7.30pm. On entering the dining room there was a lovely selection of anti pasta dishes and salads. It is advisable not to fill up on this course too much if you want to make the most of the next courses.
The pasta course was gorgeous, homemade Italian with stunning flavours and simple ingredients. The main course we had was a pork leg dish with potatoes. The meat just fell off the bone. Never tasted anything like it! The night after was just as lovely a deer casserole with polentta.
The location of the hotel is just a couple of miles from the main Sestriere resort but you can join the ski slopes from here as well and there are restaurants and bars just down the road.

It was a truly surprising experience and one worth experiencing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 672,548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Stayed for 4 nights with my husband for a skiing holiday. This charming, clean hotel is located in the valley of Borgata, right next to Sestriere. You can walk to the ski lifts (5 min), or get a ride from the very friendly and most helpful owner. A the ski lifts there is a ski rental place where you can leave your shoes for the day, and the ski equipment for the night. They hold it for you to use the next day. This is most convenient. The skiing was amazing, great views too.

The hotel is family run with lots of charm. Breakfast and dinner can be arranged in the main floor eatery. The food is all home made from scratch, very delicious and in great quantities. My only complaint is, no fruit available. In the morning the staff asks everyone about their choice, if any, for the dinner menu. There is a lounge area on the main floor with couches, tv, a bar, and wifi. The wellness room is open in afternoons with a steam room and sauna. The jacuzzi was out of order. This was a nice pass time after skiing. The owner is ready to do anything for the guests, he helped us lots when out luggage was delayed for over a day.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JoannaDz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

My partner and I just stayed 4 days in the Hotel Sciatori for some skiing over the New Year holiday. The hotel is located just outside of Sestriere and provides everything one needs for a relaxing and stress-free holiday, including personal shuttle service to the main town or to ski lifts at all times, and a great spa downstairs with hot tub, sauna, steam room and showers that was a perfect retreat after long days on the slopes. The rooms are cozy and clean, and the breakfast was delicious and diverse (meats and cheeses, yogurt and cereals, fruits, eggs, pizzas, quiches, pastries), as was dinner - various salads and antipasti, followed by pasta and/or soups, then a choice of different meat dishes (fish, ham, steak, chicken, wild boar), and finally homebaked pies and cakes for dessert. Each night we were happily stuffed and ready for a good night's sleep!
Overall the hotel provides a very warm and family-like atmosphere, and we cannot compliment Gianpaolo and his colleagues enough for their personalized service, hospitality and generosity. As an example, after we checked out he drove us to the bus that goes to the train stration in Oulx. After about 20 minutes the bus still had not shown up - apparently this is quite common, especially after a good snow - and we called Gianpaolo to ask for the number of a taxi. Instead, he immediately dropped what he was doing, retrieved us again and took us directly to the station (~45 minutes away) in record time so that we could make our train, then refused any compensation for his troubles. A genuinely sweet guy who literally goes out of his way to ensure the guests have no complaints, even after you have left the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kugelsaxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

just spent a very enjoyable week this hotel

LOCATION hotel is situated in borgata - a 5 minute drive from sestriere proper. it is served infrequently by public transport right outside the door but if transport is not available, the hotel offers a shuttle service for free to and from sestriere centre. it is located about a 4-5 min walk away from chairlifts. there is ski and boot deposit service across road from chairlift so this walk does not need to be done with boots and skis. if you dont wish to walk however, again shuttle service available through hotel

ROOMS pleasant rooms. comfortable for our needs and always kept very clean

SERVICE have never stayed at a hotel with service like this. the owner treated us like his children, sorting out anything and everything we needed without us having to ask. words cannot do justice to service offered by gianpaolo

FOOD very good food. fresh bread and cold cuts, and tasty fresh sweets/pastries served every morning. evening meal menu changes every day. very abundant, interesting choices and all plates very tasty

overall definitely 5*

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 371GabrielG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews