We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveller rating
163
87
36
19
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
163
87
36
19
11
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 316 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2020 via mobile

You should not ask too much from a hotel with a 3 star rating. But there are so many small details that edily could be fixed to make the experience much better.
First the positives:
-Almost all hotels in Sestriere have a distance to the slopes. Uappala is fairly close, but not ski in ski out as they say. But close enough
Improvements:
-The check in process is ancient. Manual writing with pen and paper... Takes forever since all members of the family need to be registered
-The receptionist didn't know much at all and the info he did give is was wrong. His English was none exciting.
- we had to find out about skilockers our self. Once we found it, it was not included in the hotel. You had to go to the Skirenting to rent keys to lockers. Once you got your key the numbers were in a total mess. So you had to spend 10 minutes to find the matching number. And of course... no informatuon at all.
-The rooms are very small, but clean and beds comfortable. But the walls are so thin so you can hear everything in the rooms next door.
- If you have breakfadt included you need to wear a plastic wristband.. Extremely uncomfortable, especially with skigloves.
- The breakast area is enormous. And sterile as a school canteen. Very noisy. An easy move as flowers and noice insulation would make it so much nicer. The canteen personnel have no clue what service is .
- The breakfast is ok and what you can expect in Italy. Goid cofee and a lot of cake and sugar.
-The elevators takes forever. And of course there are no signs to the stairs.
- The employees smoke in the firestairs indoors. The smoke goes in to the ventilationsystem and ends up in the rooms next to the stairs. Even when we told the reception they didn't do anything.
-It is a kids hotel., so there are a lot of kids. So if you are planning a vacation without small kids... chose another hotel.

Summary: A two star hotel with potential. Start with upgrade the service and information.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Fredrik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2019 via mobile

Although it isn’t new it is a clean and comfortable hotel next to the lifts. 10 minutes walk to central Sestriere. Breakfast buffet was ok, this is
Italy, not Sweden. Greatest coffee though. Dinner buffet was great. A lot to choose from and well prepared.
We stayed in a room on the A-level. Unfortunately, all sounds from the corridor was very disturbing. Try to get another floor, is my recommendation.
Entertainment team did a good job.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Camilla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UappalaSes, Direttore at Uappala Sestriere, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2019

Dear Camila, thanks a lot to enjoy with us at Uappala Sestriere. We take care to all our international guests with entertainment and we're pleased you have appreciate also our buffet based principally with local food. Greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

We booked this hotel before Christmas as we wanted a ‘relatively’ good value skiing holiday as a family. Skiing holidays are never cheap but with a hotel offering a family room and half board for just over £1k for a week and close to the slopes, it seemed good value.

The positives ... close to the slopes (if you don’t mind a walk down a set of steep steps and across a road). I don’t mind carrying my kids skis, but it might put some people off.
Reception staff were efficient and pleasant enough.

The dinner buffet offers a lot of food. Not the best we’ve had, but plenty of choice and there was enough fresh pasta, salads and breads. Meat options were ok. Sometimes the food could be warmer and the cuts were probably cheap ones but on the whole fine after a days skiing when you want to load up and then go to bed (which is good because it didn’t feel like a place we’d want to sit and relax after dinner). Deserts were ok. Fresh fruit always available too. Free red and white wine. Staff were efficient at clearing away plates. No coffee though.

Breakfast was ok. Again plenty. Not much variety but enough to load you up again for a days skiing. We made a few sandwiches for lunch and this kept us going through the day. Espresso and coffee machines were ok.

Rooms were clean .... but...

The negatives...

No shops or ski hire less than 10 minutes walk away (unless you wanted to hire the junk from the hotel). I have my own gear so didn’t mind carrying my kids. Not everyone’s ideal situation though.

Such a tired hotel. Built for the Olympics or World Cup a long time ago and hasn’t been updated since.

Rooms were very tired. Need updating. New carpets and showers a must. Shower wouldn’t drain properly. Rooms a bit cramped. Wi-fi didn’t work.

Awful smelly boot room that you have to rent a ski rack space and locker. Nowhere to dry clothes or boots. Unpleasant walk from the ski room to outside through a tunnel used for smoking. Not a pleasant area. Couldn’t wait to get out of there.

Terrible bar. No beer on tap (there were taps!) Only poor brand bottles of beer (not even Italian ones?!) We went next door to the Vilagio Olympico after the first day. Free Wi-fi and a much nicer ambience. The bar staff (apart from one nice man we’re sour faced and unhelpful) at the Valtur.

Toilets... I only found one. I’m not a ‘squatter’ ... enough said.

The lifts ... small and slow. Not good enough to service an 8 floor building.

This hotel could be good with some serious investment. But for essentially a hostel with loads of food to eat and sleep when skiing with my young kids, it ticked the box... just.... only just though.

Would I go back?

To Sestriere yes. It’s the second time I’ve been in 14 years. To this hotel ... no. Not until they invest into its modernisation. I’ve actually stayed in campsites in Europe with better facilities and better service. It was a good job that it was a ‘relatively cheap’ booking.

One final point. We were charged full lift pass prices for our children as they were older than 7. At 8&9 and for two adults, this cost over 750 Euro for the week! Apparently a recent pricing change. Possible due to Italy’s financial situation. It was a good job there was a lot of snow and the pistes were quiet. Though not all lifts were open.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AP1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

Though the staff was friendly and helpful the hotel is below standard even for a ski resort. The rooms were not renovated in many years, the food was basic and the ski equipment was not well maintained. And we were not a part of a group this was also quite expensive on top of it. Will not recommend.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank danshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Poor location for the centre, not a fun walk to the piste, ski hire only opens at 4pm.

Breakfast is rubbish. Did not try the lunch or dinner.

Rooms are small, but generally ok are clean. Fairly par for average resort hotel.

Staff are remarkably unhelpful. Has the feel of a youth hostel. Fine if you are a French school party but markedly underwhelming if you want even a modicum of comfort.

In conclusion, go elsewhere. There are plenty of better hotels (we know), and worth paying the extra.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank will167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews