We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveller rating
276
68
11
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
68
11
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the bay infinity pool cinque terre gorgeous views train station welcome drink light lunch rooms are spacious eggs and bacon breakfast was delicious owners and staff lovely town highly recommend hotel hotel is lovely italian riviera great pool private parking
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 360 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

This hotel is awesome!! The service and staff are 10/10. From the welcome drink on the terrace overlooking the bay, to the maps and timetables they arranged for our nearby travels, to the delicious breakfast each morning (again overlooking the bay). Location is great, right on the beautiful Bay of Silence, with access to reserved beach chairs. There are bikes to use, and were a good way to see the town. The rooms are simple with character, the bed comfortable and the rooms always tidied, towels refreshed etc. We loved staying in Sestri Levante and exploring the coast north (Portofino) and south (Cinque Terre), and definitely recommend staying at Hotel Helvetia.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jade91980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Ideal location for touring the Riviera, further inland and perfect for idle days in the sun. Top floor solarium for sun, breeze and a view of the bay, down the stairs to lounge around in the garden, a few more steps into the pool, a few more steps and you're on the beach, ideal.
Helpful friendly staff, excellent breakfast, good scrambled eggs and as expected good coffee. Worth booking for dinner, fine food and a fine view.

Sun bathers get a treat in the late afternoon, lemonade is served, there are two choices, traditional and Brazilian with milk, bizarre combination but really nice.
I assume the Brazilian cow must live in the back garden, l never saw it, heard it or smelt it. Apparently the lemons for Brazilian lemonade are not picked from the middle of the tree.
Enjoy the Helvetia, we loved it.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank djrpr0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

perfect location, beautiful bay, real italy, liguria with hardly tourists. private parking, warm receipt with a cold beer and glass of wine. very good service, nice pool, beach little (bit crowdy) but the pool is wonderful, great breakfast. have their own restaurant although very nice restaurants very nearby. all in all, expensive (relatively small room), but every euro well spent.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Thank gjp_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018

We spent 4 nights at Hotel Helvetia and it was amazing. The staff were brilliant, kind, and couldn't do enough for us. The hotel itself was beautiful, and a perfect location.
Breakfast was delicious and a great view every morning of the bay. We also had dinner at the restaurant one night and there was a great variety of seafood.
Overall we highly recommend Hotel Helvetia and of the 3 weeks we spent in Italy this was definitely a highlight for us. Thank you.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room and it was perfect
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lani255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

Fantastic position overlooking lovely bay. We had a sea view room with balcony so were able to enjoy the views from sunrise until we turned in for the night. Food and service (Take a bow Lorenzo and team) were both excellent with plenty of choice at breakfast and Superb evening meals.
Hotel itself was charming with lovely grounds making the most of every inch of space. It was so nice to visit such a welcoming, small , family run Hotel. Everyone from the owners down made us feel immediately at home with a nice blend of friendly, efficient,helpful and informal service.
The old town of Sestri is also lovely and nice to stroll around taking in the Italian atmosphere. A Magnificent holiday.

Room Tip: We had a full sea view room with Balcony on the third floor . Perfect for us
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank rosalindcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews