We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
108
97
25
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
97
25
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steep hill pool and sauna pool table clotes lift wear a swimming cap ski bus level walk minute walk hard slog short cut town centre ski holiday bar area hotel is located nice balcony every night chair lift
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2017

I stayed at hotel splendid for a 5 night break with my friend at the beginning of January as part of a crystal Ski package. The crystal staff and hotel staff were very friendly and made our stay very enjoyable. Our room was warm and comfortable although lacked storage resulting in us living out of our suitcase. It did worry me that they encouraged you to leave your key at the hotel during the day when you were out, the key stand being accessible to anyone within the hotel/bar vicinity, there is a safe in the room but at an extra cost. When we arrived at the airport we were met by crystal staff who showed us to our coach, from the coach we were dropped at the bottom of the hill, we left our luggage and it was escorted to our holiday, our crystal rep then walked us to our hotel/ski hire venues. What I would say is that the luggage was just left outside the hotel and as we went to get our ski hire prior to checking in at the hotel our luggage therefore was sitting outside the hotel for a number of hours, probably not the safest.

The swimming pool is only open 4.30 until 7ish? Although it was great after a days skiing it is small and busy with screaming children throwing inflatable balls.Sauna was nice and relatively spacious. Hotel has a strict swim cap policy, caps can be purchased at a 3 euro charge.

Hotel is located up a hill, meaning you can ski down to one of the ski lifts, the walk back from pubs etc can be strenuous but didn't worry us too much. The hotel is located near shops and pubs. Great location for Apres Ski.

The hotel food was really good and the staff were great, we did find that you need to allow over an hour in total for service (felt like it took a long time). Dinner choices have to be ordered the day before and water is chargeable. Plenty of choice and portion sizes were big.

Wifi in room was dodgy and often did not work. Walls were thin and could hear guests in surrounding room which meant I didn't always get a good nights sleep.

All in all, a great holiday, would definitely return!!

Room tip: Probably ask for a end room
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Splendidsauze, Proprietario at Hotel Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

It has been great to have you here in splendid and we hope to see you soon again
The safe is free in the room , we only ask for deposit to have the key. The swimming pool is open from 4,30pm to 7,30 pm (dinner time).
We usually take all the laugagge that crystal deops in front of the bar door, on our terrace, inside, if they were not inside means they just got there and we didn't even have the time to bring them inn.
Sorry next time we'll try to be quicklier even if sauze if the safer place in the world.
After all we are delighted you are thinking to come back and i'll see you soon! I wish you all the best
Best regards fabiana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017

We have just returned from a brief ski holiday in Sauze and Hotel Splendid was just perfect for us. The walk from Sauze, is a good work out and practise for the ski legs and there is a good bus route (orange line) if needed to the piste. There is also a cut accross - approximately 5 minutes. I was travelling alone with 5 kids and all their needs were taken care of - there were plenty of games, pool table, football table, swimming pool, gym, sauna, bar & ski storage under the hotel- friendly and helpful staff. The food was also just right for us. Plenty of choice and the children very much enjoyed their four courses every evening. The rooms were comfortable, warm - good shower. Thank you Hotel Splendid for looking after us.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Juliet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Splendidsauze, Proprietario at Hotel Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

You are welcome anytime, you and your great kids!!! Thanks for writing about us, we will help you agian as much as we can trying to make your holiday the best for you and your children
I wish you all the best
Fabiana and the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Just returned from a great week in Sauze, staying at hotel Splendid. The hill everyone comments about, is pretty steep, but after a few times up it you soon get acclimatised! Probably not the best with small children I can imagine. But great access onto the piest from a small cut through road, it really is ski in-ski out Hotel Splendid was pleasant. The food was actually very good! Buffet & 3 courses every night, with an Italian pasta dish each meal. Rooms were clean & comfortable. Staff were excellent, welcoming & attentive. Nothing was too much trouble. Didn't use the sauna or pool facilities.
Lots to do in resort & some great Apres places for drinks & nibbles.

Got a cheap last min deal, so it was well worth the money, don't know if I'd feel the same if I had to pay double for the holiday, which I think most other people probably had, but Would deffo return.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank EBozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Splendidsauze, Proprietario at Hotel Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

It has been great to have you here in splendid and we hope to see you soon again
Best regards fabiana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Just got home from a weeks stay at the splendid. The room was spacious enough and the food great to. Pool table, swimming pool, sauna, bar which were a great touch. Everyone seems to moan about the hill on the reviews and yes it's steep at first but after walking up it a few times it's fine, it's a activity holiday after all, you can also walk across the road and ski down to the clotes lift and ski back to. The staff that run the hotel are very friendly and make the expensive enjoyable and have all information to hand. One gripe is you can't have tap water so you have to buy it, tad annoying but seems a common theme in Sauze if not Italy so can't complain to much I guess. Overall a fab stay and would stay again when returning to Sauze. I would say the location is excellent, almost ski in/out and plenty of bars for apres just down the hill. Thanks for
making our New Years trip one to remember! Only home a few hours and missing it already!

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank neilos30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Splendidsauze, Proprietario at Hotel Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

It has bee freat to have you here in splendid and we hope to see you soon again
Best regards fabiana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017

This is a 3 star hotel so you do not expect nice toiletries or Kleenex in the bathroom, nor CNN or BBC on the TV (very bad reception in any event), and the jam at breakfast of a dismal quality. But a good choice at breakfast , with eggs, yoghurt, fruit etc., albeit served in a space without charm, as is dinner.
When staying on a B&B basis, if you ask the day before, you can have dinner there (4 courses). As is so often the case in Italian restaurants, they refuse to give you jugs of tap water and insist you buy it by the bottle, which with a bunch of kids, dehydrated after a day's skiing, means a lot of bottles of something available free, which irritates me..
I had possibly the best room in the house (301) a 3rd floor corner room facing South with good size bathroom and 2 balconies. Walls and floors let through a lot of noise though, so my relatives in other rooms reported.
When buying ski tickets through the hotel, there is a minor discount which however does not compensate for even 8 year olds being counted as adults for ski tickets!
The hotel is located up a hill, perfect for the Cotes ski lift but a brisk hike up from the village. I gather the hill is known as 'heart attack hill' but twice a day for several days i hauled my 80 year old bones up there, so it is doable, but indeed not what you want on arrival with luggage and/or small kids.
Sauce is not a good place for those who like flat walking; it seems every street is either uphill or downhill!
The pool in the basement is accessed and exited by lift only, and the lift is small (3 persons) and very slow, causing major traffic jams at the end of the afternoon when people returning from skiing want to go for a swim.
Management and staff of the Splendid are very helpful, and with a little investment this place would not look so tired and old.
Good places to eat in town: Falco. Also the one at the bottom of the Cotes ski lift, called La Grange if I remember correctly. Very good value for money there.

Room tip: Corner room 301 and I imagine 201. Fourth floor has no balconies
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Alicia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews