We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveller rating
253
39
7
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
253
39
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cycling holiday end of september large balcony cycle guides the main hotel lots of variety next year third visit different levels pasta high quality nice hotel san marino bike hotel dory kitchenette roads
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 299 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2018

This was my third visit to Dory on a cycling holiday. I have never over the years found any fault with the place, the staff or the cycle guides. The food is amazing, the rooms are beautiful and I will be returning again when next I get the chance. Why go anywhere else when Dory offers near perfection?

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dermot L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

My wife and together with our Australian group had a fantastic time at Hote Dory. Right from the moment of pick up at the station to our departure a week later
Food and service was outstanding, with very friendly service staff(especially Nicolleta)
Our rooms were amazing..
Our Bicycle guide Sandro was wonderfull and very accomodating for us and we enjoyed the whole ezperince. I would recommend the Hotel
Thank you

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Dory in mid Sept.. We choose the hotel based on the recommendation of a friend and were very pleased with the experience.

The accommodations in the apartment section of the hotel were luxurious-bedroom, kitchen and living room with a balcony with an angled view of the beach. The room comes with robes and slippers!

The food was exceptional. Breakfast provided a choice of North American selections-yogurt, cereal, toast, bacon, eggs etc.; or the more typical European sliced meats, cheeses and of course varieties of coffee. The post-ride brunch was a meal in itself, served in the dining room-pastas, salads, fruits etc.. After a pause of a few hours dinner was served with a large selection of choices including, of course, pasta but also fish, meat, salads and deserts to die for all accompanied by unlimited wine. One day featured beer in addition to the wine. A nice touch after riding. I cannot imagine better food all served by staff who truly seemed to enjoy their jobs.

The rides were divided into four groups organised by pace and distance. All were led by knowledgable guides. Snacks-sandwiches and bananas were provided for the ride. The only disappointment was the quality of the roads in the area; I was surprised to find so much rough pavement in Italy after having biked in Switzerland and Germany. Compared to Canadian roads however the Italian roads were not so bad. All rides included a climb of varying degrees of difficulty-the climb to San Marino was probably the longest.

One of the rides stops at the farm of the hotels owner for a BBQ accompanied by wine and limoncello. Fortunately it is a short ride back to the hotel after. There was also a 'disco' night complete with a rack of outrageous clothing and wigs from that unlamented era. There were not a few riders joining the slower groups the next day.

This added touch speaks Hotel Dory's main charm-it is a family run hotel whose staff from the cleaners to the desk staff to the guides all seem to enjoy coming to work and it shows in their interactions with the guests.

I can recommend the Hotel Dory without reservation.

Room tip: We were in the apartment section of hotel including a kitchen but it was entirely unnecessary given the unending food offerings.
Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pcmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Lovely surroundings and varying cycleroutes, excellent food and service.
Good bikes for rent and 3-5 different ridinggroups with good guides to choose from.
Sauna, jacuzzi and small swimingpool. Massage available.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank iTo1t0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Spent a week at the end of September at the D-Place hotel and thoroughly enjoyed the trip. Purpose was cycling, and D-Place made the trip easy.

Need a bike? Rental of good quality Scott bikes at the hotel with God mechanics for fitting. Easy

Need routes to ride? The five alternative rides at different levels made that easy also. Of you want to go in your own? G ahead. The area has wonderful roads and routes.

After cycling need your kit washed? Also easy after purchase of the mesh bag. Returned each night.

Food to keep you fuelled? Also easy with the buffet available for all meals.

Room was quiet and peaceful. People were friendly and social. Easy to recommend for a cycling vacation.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews