We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,145)
Filter reviews
1,145 results
Traveller rating
954
165
19
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
954
165
19
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel garden restaurant newer part garden view amalfi coast our honeymoon free boat trip vegetable garden perfect location superior room the hotel's restaurant short walk to the beach the hotel offers naples airport would highly recommend this hotel fresh fruit loved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 1,145 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2017

I absolutely loved this hotel. This was our third hotel stay in Italy on our Rome-Capri-Positano trip, and I am so glad we booked this. Palazzo Murat used to be a Benedictine monastery before Napolean shut it down and made it a private residence, so the interior and exterior make you feel like you're staying in a historic villa. The courtyard is so romantic with all the benches and colorful pillows. You can't drive to this hotel, there is a walkway under a covering of lemon vines and flowers that leads to the hotel. When you enter the courtyard, it's so beautiful and peaceful. Our room had a balcony overlooking Positano but we could also see part of the ocean beyond the church. All the balconies are covered in lemon vines. So picturesque. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Housekeeping is excellent. The bedding, duvet, sheet thread count, and pillows are all wonderful. Pillows are nice and firm and the sheets are soft. Robes are also very good. A few things to note for guests: there is a no iron in the room so you have to iron your clothes in the sitting room downstairs adjacent to the courtyard where they have the iron. Also, I strongly suggest hiring a porter to carry your luggage when you arrive at the port. They charge 10 euro per bag and it is worth it. The breakfast buffet is good, it is served in the courtyard under an awning of lemon trees so it is very pleasant having your morning coffee there. The location is fantastic, away from the craziness near the beach yet close to all the cute shops and restaurants. I don't think we could have asked for a nicer, more romantic hotel in Positano.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

The hotel is excellent in every respect. The staff are fantastic throughout the hotel from the ladies cleaning the room each day right up to the management. We have been impressed by everyone. The restaurant is excellent with fabulous food and an excellent wine list. The food cooked to perfection. We would highly recommend the hotel for its central location. Previously we hired a villa for two weeks but this time stayed in the hotel for 5 nights. Without question we wish we had stayed here the first time. Outstanding.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank JANCHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

After a business trip in northern Italy, my husband and I decided to take a few days to visit Positano and Rome. Palazzo Murat is a gem in the center of Positano. The beach and shops are easily accessible and there are not as many steps as other hotels. The interior room was clean and comfortable and even came with a cute outdoor terrace. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant which was excellent and sunned at the pool which has a beautiful view of the sea. All in all a great stay! We will be back!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank vanessall561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

The hotel is in a great spot. Not in the mess of the beach and not too far up the hill. Easy walking. Pool area is fab.

Hotel porter smashed the bags down the stairs and waited for a tip. All other staff would struggle for a smile or greeting when passing in corridor or in courtyard restaurant. Only exception was the pool attendant - really nice guy.

It didn't ruin our stay - just worthy of commentary. Wasn't compelled to eat in the restaurant.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Furree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

My daughter and I recently stayed at Palazzo Murat and had an amazing experience. We arrived late and were hungry. The staff made sure we got a nice fruit plate despite the fact that their kitchen was closed. The rest of the time, the front office team made sure we had reservations at restaurants and were very helpful with suggestions. The rooms are beautiful, clean, with a twist of Italian charm. They have an amazing vegetable garden and the breakfasts were delicious! The hotel is in the heart of Positano with just a few steps away from the beach, all the restaurants and the great shopping. I highly recommend.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rabee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews