We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveller rating
281
91
23
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
91
23
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews opted for half board private beach wonderful coffee excellent hotel by chance sister hotel beautiful island gym tuscany tennis sunset respect court sea elba cheese august
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 407 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

I stayed at the Hotel Biodola for a few nights as part of a tour of Tuscany, and really enjoyed it. The hotel is set overlooking the bay and provides fantastic views, with beautiful sunsets. The beach is just a few meters away.
The hotel has good facilities and the staff friendly and helpful. It has a relaxing feel with excellent rooms and restaurants.
A short trip from the ferry port. There are plenty of good photos of the hotel, so I have posted the views.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank mikebutcher66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

I’m writing this review by the Biodola pool before our transfer back to the airport and the hotel deserves a fairly detailed review based on our last 10 days’ stay.

We chose Biodola as back when I roughly the age of our youngest, we travelled to Elba for summer holidays and would camp at the site just up the bay from the hotel. Needless to say, the thought of a 3-daydrive from the UK with a car full of kids didn’t appeal nor did the thought of camping. So, for the return after 35 years, I opted for the Biodola and on half-board basis with two interconnecting rooms.

We flew into Marino di Campo and took a 15min transfer to the hotel. I wanted to be on the beach at some point in the afternoon, so the flight from Pisa worked-out just right and we had our first swim as planned which made day 1 just right. I thought about hiring a car or getting a taxi transfer from Pisa, but that would take 3~4 hrs and probably cost about the same as the Silver Air flights from Pisa. A word of advice: if the thought of a small plane doesn’t appeal, start bribing those that don’t like the thought early – it really is a small plane – but what a way to arrive on the island!

The hotel staff were fantastic on arrival and we were shown the rooms that were clean and well appointed. They looked to have been refurbished or updated fairly recently and I couldn’t find any fault with them: they were spacious for the extra bed in each and had a great sea view. We were on level 1 (above the ground floor); I’d expect the views from the floor above to be even better, but we still had an amazing view across the gardens, terrace restaurant where breakfast is served and across to the bay.

Rooms and corridors are tiled, so I can see why some reviewers would point out the noise, but that’s hard to supress and by evening we certainly weren’t bothered by any.

The beach is just how I remembered it, but with the private Biodola part, we were provided a parasol and two chairs for each room and they were assigned on our first arrival – just go straight to the beach and the attendant will do that based on his layout of the beach area. If you want to be close to the beach – or row 1 of the 4 or 5 they have then get your request in straight away as I get the feeling that if you do that they’ll try their best. Plans of where people are to be seated are evident in the restaurant, and so whilst not strictly followed, if you want to change places, just ask.

A beach restaurant, that we used only on the last day, has a wide range and next door is a café that has ice creams and snacks in case you don’t need the whole sit down experience. We coped perfectly with a few bits from the café and that’s because each night the 4-course restaurant serves a very good range of dishes from a different menu each night; at least 4 choices in the starter and mains section and a desert buffet that the kids, and those who want to use the gym at the Hermitage, should experience too!

Menus for the evening meal are displayed in reception in Italian, German and English. We opted for half-board and so I couldn’t comment on an a la carte options. You’re allocated your own table for your stay (but as above, you could request to be moved) and are served by the same staff who mostly cover the breakfast service too. Charges are made for water, sodas or wine – the latter selection being extensive from which we chose local Elba varieties that were perfectly acceptable.

The evening meals start at 19:30 and on the Thursdays we were there, an extensive buffet of meats, pasta (plus deserts) was provided in the beach restaurant at 20:00. The kids loved it. All menus are marked with vegetarian symbols where applicable and if you need something adapted, they’ll do it. Please do respect the one rule they do enforce and that is for gentlemen to wear long trousers. I can see why: everyone likes to dress-up as best they can for the evening meal, even the kids, but don’t think it’s overly formal, it isn’t. As its August, there were a lot of kids in the restaurant and they’re catered for well and everyone seemed happy.

I took a stroll through the Hermitage grounds a few times to reach the gym (reasonable selection of equipment) and thought that Biodola had the edge on layout as it’s more compact and certainly has the better position on the beach and, as you’ll see during your evening meal, the sunset view that everyone enjoys watching and probably finds its way to phone wallpapers that instant!

Activities for the kids are provided but ours were content to swim in the hotel pool (salt water and no rules on what you need to wear nor about taking inflatables in), play on the beach and generally have fun. We did use the Biodola canoes once (chargeable). We were thinking of renting a car but in the end got the 15min bus ride into Portoferraio for a mooch around and ice cream – buses leave just down the road from the hotel and timetables are posted in reception. We didn’t feel the need to travel further – I remember as a kid taking the cable car up Mt. Capanne and that still operates today – just wait for a clear day which is easy to tell since you can see the mountain from the hotel.

I have to end this review with the service provided by all the staff. OK, you’d expect it and you should for the price you pay, but all front-of-house staff from the concierge who helped us with all queries, arrangements for transfers and some local assistance; to the Maître d’ who greeted us by name on our first night; to Pasquale who always persuaded the kids to ice-creams at the end of the meals and, to Roberta, who managed to put our rooms back to normality each morning deserves a big thank you from us all for making it a stress-free perfect beach holiday!

We will certainly try to return!

Arrivederci!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mr_Avios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeFerrari, Direttore at Hotel Biodola, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2017

Dear Mr Avios,

thank you for your comment!

We’re very glad that you enjoy the atmosphere of our hotel and it's a big pleasure to have guests that appreciate our services which we continuously strive to improve.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future as special guest.

Best regards.


The Manager
Raffaella De Ferrari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Stayed at the hotel for 6 nights. This is a luxury hotel, and the price does reflect this. The room was very spacious, with a very large bathroom. The hotel has its own pool, as well as a dedicated stretch of the local beach (with sun lounges and towels). The food was great, prepared and presented well. My room was directly next to the bar, so the sleep quality did suffer on the nights with live music. Overall though, luxurious.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ice_D_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeFerrari, Direttore at Hotel Biodola, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2017

Dear Ice_D_8,

Thank you so much for dedicating to Hotel Biodola your nice words and sharing your experience with the broad audience of Tripadvisor.

It is difficult sometimes to find the right words to express our happiness and gratitude for such a sincere message of appreciation. We may only assure our guests that our commitment in providing our guest an unforgettable stay will always stay unchanged and we look forward to welcome you back soon in this Paradise.

Best regards.


General Manager
Raffaella De Ferrari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Friends told us what a fabulous hotel this is and we wanted to find out if it was true. Well, all expectations were met. Very nicely situated with private beach. Hotel was perfect in every way. Food out of this world. It was certainly worth a visit and I can recommend it to everyone who wants a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patricia255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeFerrari, Direttore at Hotel Biodola, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2017

Dear Mrs Patricia255,

thank you for your comment!

We’re very glad that you enjoy the atmosphere of our hotel and it's a big pleasure to have guests that appreciate our services which we continuously strive to improve.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future as special guest.

Best regards.


The Manager
Raffaella De Ferrari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016

a wonderful location in a wide, golden sand beach with green hills around; all comforts and special kindness of restaurant, room and beach staff. quite good food, improvable with local recipes and local bread instead of anonymous international cuisine. very unpleasant noises from neighbour rooms and bathrooms, due to awful acoustic isolation: really unacceptable in this kind of hotel! quite nasty and not helpful ladies among reception desk staff.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank viaggiatoredoccident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeFerrari, Owner at Hotel Biodola, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for the nice speech about our location. While I wish you had a better experience expectially with your neighbour, anyway it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. Unfortunately we can't agree with your feedback about our staff. Infact the whole staff of Hotel Biodola work hard everyday to deliver to each guest an exceptional experience.
If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely,

The Manager
Raffaella De Ferrari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews