We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Rishin R
New York City, New York

Excellent hotel to stay , rest and chill apres ski and base of ski operations!

Review of Hotel Col Alto
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
Superb hotel in Corvara. Two buildings with access underground across structures.

The dining room offers a superb breakfast, the quality of the bread and even the omelette were ridiculously fresh and lights up the taste buds. Meals at dinner are very good and change every day. Was with a group of skiers and riders from the US for the week.

The guest service provided by the staff is attentive, intelligent, pragmatic, and gracious.

Lobby bar is very good, good bartenders. Had lovely confabs with fellow skiers from the US and also others from other points in Europe. For the nightlife oriented there is the Iceberg Bar in the hotel right off the lobby.

Ski lockers are in the basement which opens out into hotel shuttle pickup area Spacious lockers with boot heaters. Hotel shuttle service takes one to the lift hub in Corvara and will pick you up at days end if required. Actually, there is a way to ski right to the side of the hotel, ask the folks there, just need enough snow down there.

Location is convenient for gear as Sportalfredo has their rental store right outside the hotel so it’s a 10 second walk to get your rentals which can be booked online directly.

Hotel has a large spa with pool, saunas and all kinds of goodies. The rooms are big, have balconies, in the annex across the street, excellent location, views and room amenities are great, bathroom is spotless and huge.

Just a great place to stay in the Dolomites. On par with and perhaps better than many other hotels in the European Alps and most definitely better than even the ritzy 5 star places in the US !

Only negative I can think of but worth noting, there are no Coffee percolators/machines in the rooms so only way to get an early morning java or tea is to wait for the restaurant to open at 730pm. Apparently this is a Dolomites thing but first time for this traveler as far as memory serves one.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • Agoda.com
0.1 km from Hotel Col Alto
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
  • eDreams
0.4 km from Hotel Col Alto
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • eDreams
0.6 km from Hotel Col Alto
Free Wifi
Free parking
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia
  • Agoda.com
0.5 km from Hotel Col Alto
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia
  • ZenHotels.com
0.4 km from Hotel Col Alto
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Agoda.com
  • eDreams
0.5 km from Hotel Col Alto
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia
  • Agoda.com
0.6 km from Hotel Col Alto
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
  • eDreams
0.2 km from Hotel Col Alto
Free Wifi
Free parking
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
  • Preferred Hotels
  • Expedia
0.6 km from Hotel Col Alto
Free Wifi
Free parking
Earn rewards on eligible stays
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia
  • Agoda.com
1.1 km from Hotel Col Alto
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Corvara in Badia
Reviews (582)
Filter reviews
582 results
Traveller rating
492
69
16
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
492
69
16
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water beds hot tub restaurant staff are amazing place to stay amazing buffet extensive wine list wonderful hotel swimming pool separate shower fantastic stay rooms are beautiful lounge bar spa treatments ski trip shuttle bus ski lockers fabulous food
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 582 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2024

We stayed at Col Alto 5 nights early February. It was a fantastic ski holiday. Food is excellent at the Hotel, from big buffet at breakfast to three coourse meal at dinner. Cheese and desert selections are outstanding. Rooms are spacious for a family and comfortable. Continous shuttle service to ski school or to the center. Overall very good experience for a ski holiday.

Room tip: Shuttle service do not work after 5pm. Ice-bar is nice but open to all citizens in town who could be diverse compared to the hotel guests.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Husnu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefano Pezzei, Direttore generale at Hotel Col Alto, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2024

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind feedback and for sharing your experience.
We're delighted you had a memorable ski holiday experience and that you enjoyed all our services.
Should your travels bring you back to the Dolomites, we would be honored to welcome you again in our House.
Warm regards,
Pezzei Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2024

The Col Alto hotel exceeded our expectations in every way .
The staff are all wonderful from reception right through the bar & restaurant, the ski bus drivers everyone was really friendly and helpful .
The spa area is outstanding my husband took full advantage of this every night . There is also a great ski locker room with heated boot racks
We stayed half board and the breakfast buffet was delicious everything you could possible want for a filling breakfast to set you up for a day on the slopes .
The evening 4 course set menu was superb with a great choice of wines available .
The whole place is absolutely immaculate possibly one of the cleanest hotels we’ve ever stayed in.
We are already planning our next stay at The Col Alto

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kelliebaker1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefano Pezzei, Direttore generale at Hotel Col Alto, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2024

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Col Alto!
We are delighted to hear that your stay exceeded your expectations in every aspect.
Maintaining immaculate cleanliness is a top priority for us, and we're glad it contributed to your overall satisfaction.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay in our House and send you our warmets regards from Corvara.
Pezzei Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2024

The most wonderful hotel.

Where do I start?

The ladies on the front desk are very helpful, friendly and informative and nothing is ever too much trouble.
The ski bus is fantastic, runs frequently and drops off & collects from different places in the town. The drivers of the ski bus are very helpful and a friendly face to see every morning

The restaurant food is fantastic, the buffet is varied every night and is good quality tasty food. The three course menu is as equally fantastic and changes every night and well thought out. the restaurant staff can't do enough for you and are always cheerful & professional.
We didn't go in the Ice Berg Lounge but the hotel bar is lovely and cozy and again the staff are very personable.

Rooms are very clean, we stayed in a Martagon room which is slightly older but immaculate.

Spa and pool area is clean and the attendant is great, always making sure there are enough towels.

Overall a fantastic hotel and we can't wait to visit again. It has a wonderful homely feel, great facilities and in a beautiful setting.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank lewis151654
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefano Pezzei, Direttore generale at Hotel Col Alto, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2024

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely review and for your loyalty! We're thrilled to hear that you had another fantastic stay with us.
We will share your kind feedback with our staff, who greatly contributed to make your stay so special.
It is always a pleasure to host you, and we can't wait to welcome you back for another wonderful vacation in our House.
Warm regards from Corvara,
Pezzei Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2024

I have mixed feelings about Col Alto. It is a great hotel but after my stay, I realize it's not my style.

All the pros:
1. Friendly and competent service from the front desk. Emails were responded to quickly and completely, questions answered clearly and always so helpful with printing documents.
2. Room size is great. Pillows and mattress and sofa comfortable. And we have direct view of the beautiful mountain. The slippers provided were of excellent quality, very thick. We were not in a Suite.
3. Big selection at breakfast.
4. I love the sauna area! Love there are always tons of towels available and the attendant always comes in and checks that everything is ok. Love the apples, water and tea provided right there.
5. Bus stop is right there! And the lovely Speck store and grocery store just down the street.
6. The hotel feels very new and refreshed.
7. The very spacious lobby area with tons of comfortable seating. It's nice to plop down there in the afternoon or after breakfast.

The aspects that make this a 4 instead of a 5 for me:
1. It is an extremely busy hotel that's best suited for a bigger group. At dinner there was maybe 200 people in the dining room. There was constant noise and din in the hotel.
2. The breakfast needs some variety. For a mandatory 7 day stay, it gets boring to see the same cold cuts, bread, egg and granola every day. They change up the pastries.
3. The dinner to us was at most average, not a gourmet experience as some comments make it to be. The dinner is a great deal at euro 35. With this, you get a buffet with a lot of different types of food and can also order off a 3 course menu that changes every night. I think if you keep your expectations reasonable, you are ok. 1 night, they forgot to put sauce on our pork main dish.
4. Because we only paid for breakfast, we didn't get assigned seating. Every breakfast, we were shown to a new table. Some days we were put in a semi enclosed part seated so close with a different party even though there were still so many open spots in the restaurant.

I would recommend Col Alto if you are travelling in a bigger group or with family and friends, prefer a lively hotel and convenience of having dinner at the hotel.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank pigletthepug
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefano Pezzei, Direttore generale at Hotel Col Alto, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2024

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share and describe your experience in our House in such detail.
We appreciate your trasparency and your feedback regarding areas for improvement.
Your insights are invaluable to us as we strive to enhance our guests' experiences.
Thank you again for choosing Col Alto!
Warm regards from Corvara,
Pezzei Family


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2024

Everything was just perfect! The ample living room with comfortable sofas and a magic mountain atmosphere warmed by fireplaces. A cozy bar where professional and welcome staff can prepare any type of cocktails. A great restaurant offering a buffet of local products and an excellent a la carte menu. A very functional kids' area is properly located on a lower floor so that kids do not interfere with the adults staying in the living room. An amazing Spa and indoor swimming pool

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Z7510KFlucab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefano Pezzei, Direttore generale at Hotel Col Alto, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2024

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind feedback and for sharing your experience with other guests.
We're delighted you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable visit in our House.
Warm regards,
Pezzei Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews