We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Pretty and Quaint - Great Food

We went there tow or three times during our cycling vacation. There's more than initially meets the... read more

Reviewed 23 September 2018
Steven R
,
Port Colborne, Canada
An Italian delight

We were last week and it was superb. Strolling along the canals and sipping beers at the cafes... read more

Reviewed 25 August 2018
superjock
,
Midlands UK
Read all 2,856 reviews
  
Reviews (2,856)
Filter reviews
2,856 results
Traveller rating
1,919
845
84
1
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,919
845
84
1
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leonardo da vinci fishing boats both sides canal port serving fresh seafood walk around restaurants and bars gelateria canale porto evening summer atmosphere sunset sails christmas rimini
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 2,856 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017

This is a cute canal/port area in Cesenatico. Lots of fun to walk around and look at the boats (both museum and commercial), plenty of restaurants and bars to visit. People have said it is touristy... We were there in shoulder season and didn't see that as a problem at all.

The best part of the entire experience, however, has got to be the "Trachetto". The Trachetto is a little chain-driven ferry that goes back and forth across the canal. If I remember correctly, it cost 40 Euro cents to go across. What can you do for 40 Euro cents? Tons of fun and, as I told my wife: "If I was a little kid, you would NEVER get me off of this thing!" Apparently I am still a little kid.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank EmptyNesters007-38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Nice to see the old boats in the port and drink a coffee in a bar. Else, there is not much to see and there are much more picturesque places to visit in Italy.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Dino W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Famous canal designed by Da Vinci for Cesare Borgia. This area of Cesenatico combines the small town charm, amazing history and beautiful sights. The fishing boats docked at the edges of the canal add to the sense of authenticity of this town's life.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Limitles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Not exciting but one of the best places to stay in Cesenatico except beach.Very nice and not expensive restaurant around

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

When you want to get away from the hotel area, the small and beautiful port and old town is a short bus ride away. We were advised to buy bus tickets in advance from our hotel which is about 70 cents cheaper than buying on board.
Evening was the best time to visit here for atmosphere. Lots of good restaurants, bars cafes and gelateria to choose from and good street markets. In the day the maritime museum had historic fishing boats display their beautifully decorated sails. Do note that most businesses close between 1 and 4pm though, so good for sight-seeing, but it will be very quiet.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews