We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Official Hotel
US$93
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/10/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia
Agoda.com
FindHotel
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,204)
Filter reviews
2,204 results
Traveller rating
1,053
751
252
82
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,053
751
252
82
66
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 2,204 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2019 via mobile

The website photos make this hotel look very grand. It was grand back in the day, but a few bizarre things took the edge off. The decor is so over the top you would be forgiven for thinking that you were in Caserta Palace. We booked a junior suite which was lovely and spacious with very grand furnishings. We tried to get food and drink as we arrived in the afternoon but were told we had to go to the other building a few minutes walk away. It was 35 degrees outside with no shade between the two blocks. This is where the outdoor swimming pool is. We ordered food from the pool bar where really loud music blared from a small PA. It was meltingly hot outside. We walked back to the old part of the hotel to get a bottle of wine and return to the air conditioning in our room. The bar was closed. At reception they told us that we had to go back to the other building to get drinks. There was no room service either. It was too hot to do that so we went back to our room and got a beer from the mini bar. Later, we went down to eat in the restaurant. We spied the bar open. Quickly dashing over, we ordered a gin and tonic and vodka and orange. The bar man told us all the gin and vodka had gone to the other bar as there was a big event on in the, yes you guessed it, other building. So we ordered a glass of champagne (flat) and a beer. Then he closed the bar. Guess where the restaurant was? The other building. Food was mediocre. Service was nice. It is a very bizarre hotel that doesn’t really cater for the guest only the convenience of the staff. Upon checkout we were charged 20 euros for a glass of flat champagne and 9 euros for a small bottle of beer. We will not return. The most hilarious thing was the welcome statue of two naked men wrestling, right outside the hotel entrance. I am still laughing about that now.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank travelswithmrsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 August 2019

Despite its "luxury" image the hotel doesn't live to its promise. That's the probably the reason it's relatively cheap. Don't get fooled by the "World's luxury spa resort 2019" awards decorating the website.

Our negative experience started right from the booking.

I have booked the rooms and spa treatments on the hotel own website. Instead of proper confirmation with the price breakdown, I have received cryptic email with reservation number and the hotel logo. Nothing else. The receptionist at the hotel could not find our spa booking and advised to talk to the spa manager directly (located in another building). When booking the room the hotel booking form clearly advirtises free entrance for the children to the spa and asks for their age. In reality, when we have arrived to the spa this morning, the receptionist told us that the spa has no children policy. We are now awaiting a call from the spa manager who should make final say on the matter.

The hotel location is its main flaw. All comments don't mention the fact that it's located next to the busy motorway in a very industrial looking area of Casaret. Despite the sound barrier you can hear the cars honking if your room is facing the motorway.

You get a feeling you are staying in the filming stage which no longer serves it's purpose. The hotel certainly looks better on photos than in reality.

The hotel is in real need for cash injection to maintain its luxury façade.

The breakfast is on par with a shabby b&b in Blackpool. Stay away from overcooked and stale bacon & eggs. Yuck...

Lift door doesn't open when it arrives. You have to press call button once it stops on your floor.

In the last 12 hours we have changed room keys three times as one of them keeps decoding itself.

So far the cherry on the top has been the charge of 20 euro for the use of 4 swimming pool towels we have rented from the reception for one hour use. Our receptionist Fabio failed to inform us about the rental policy and never gave us a receipt. He just added the 20 euro charge to our room. The receptionist this morning charged us again for the new set of towels and suggested to keep them rather than return them to the reception to avoid charges tomorrow. At least she gave us the receipt.

We have two more nights remaining at this place. I hope our experience will improve.

But so far, it's being 1 on satisfaction level. I guess you get what you pay for. Don't trust fancy photos.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Artur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel V, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Vanvitelli, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2019

Dear Mister,
Thank you so much for giving us your opinion in refer of your stay in our property.
It's very important for us to know your experience .

In refer to reservation in our Spa it is not allowed for children under 16 years of age as hotel and spa policy. It's mentioned in our website and also in the homepage on Booking.com.
Also, Our location is strategic to organize a trip around the best cities of Sud Italy, like Naples, Amalfi, Salerno, if you think that We far from Naples only 20 minutes by car. Our guest have a possibilty lo park your car at our big parking and visit its by shuttle or pubblic transport if you want not drive
We select the product, the quality and the variety, to offer the best breakfast and the best service. It's very important to satisfy the taste of all guestes.
We remain at your disposal for any further information if you want.

Sincerely

The Management and Staff of the Grand Hotel Vanvitelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2019

Two of us stayed five nights at this hotel in a junior suite. The hotel is situated south is Caserta near the motorway and main road out of Caserta. We were given a room that we did not think was a suite (it had a spare bed in it). We were moved to another suite that has two extra beds and no bath!). Eventually we were give a room with the facilities advertised on there website. The hotel has a magnificent lounge area and it was spotless clean throughout. The staff were extremely helpful at all times. We are in the restaurant twice which had very good food and excellent service. Our junior suite was spacious and well furnished. The breakfast is good with a variety of things to eat.

A few little things were annoying. We had to send a glass of wine back from the bar (it was a least one week old). The pool did not seem to have an attendant. When we ordered a taxi earlier in the day, it did not arrive because the receptionist forgot to order it.

This is a good hotel but with a few little things that does not make it a wonderful experience.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MOD1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel V, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Vanvitelli, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion and for have chosen our hotel for your stay.
Your appreciation makes us honor and it's very important for us to know your experience to improve all our services.
Our goal is to offer guests a beautiful, comfortable and pleasant stay at our hotel.
We select the product, the quality and the variety, to offer the best breakfast and the best service. It's very important to satisfy the taste of all guestes.
We are sorry if not all things were been perfect, but we are certain that we work with passion and love to gratify all requests.
We hope to welcome you again to offer you a 5-star experience.

Sincerely

The Management and Staff of the Grand Hotel Vanvitelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2019

Very nice hotel, Truly a step back in time. The hotel, has excellent amenities including restaurant, spa, swimming pool and bar area. The staff is very helpful and pleasant. Only negative would be location, requires a cab ride to dining and sightseeing... a little inconvenient.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Travellerdc201554
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel V, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Vanvitelli, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion and for have chosen our hotel for your stay.

Your appreciation makes us honor and it's very important for us to know your experience to improve all our services.
Our goal is to offer guests a beautiful, comfortable and pleasant stay at our hotel.
Our location is strategic to organize a trip around the best cities of Sud Italy, like Naples, Amalfi, Salerno. We far from Naples only 20 minutes by car and our guest have a possibilty lo park your car at our big parking and visit its by shuttle or pubblic transport if you want not drive.

We hope to welcome you again to offer you a 5-star experience.

Sincerely

The Management and Staff of the Grand Hotel Vanvitelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2019

I am a frequent customer of the Hotel Vanvitelli in Caserta.
Last time I experienced a beautiful experience. I was working in the morning and came to have breakfast near the closing time. I was perfectly attended. Moreover, I received a phone call before I could sit down. I could not start until I ended my phone call 15 minutes later. I was afraid of asking for anything, but instead of that, the waitress at the restaurant were very sensitive and kind. They offerred me a great breakfast (as usual) and attended me with a smile. This is not common. With you behaviour, you exceeded my expectations. I wish you success.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Alfonso-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel V, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Vanvitelli, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion and for have chosen our hotel for your stay.

Your appreciation makes us honor and it's very important for us to know your experience to improve all our services.
Our goal is to offer guests a beautiful, comfortable and pleasant stay at our hotel.

We hope to welcome you again to offer you a 5-star experience.

Sincerely

The Management and Staff of the Grand Hotel Vanvitelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews