We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Historic church and Abbey

A little difficult to locat needed google maps to find. Watch out as there are 2 entrances side by... read more

Reviewed 11 October 2016
Geoffrey P
,
Exeter
Personal

As we entered the Church with some other vistors one of the Nuns came out & gave us a personal... read more

Reviewed 21 June 2015
saffrontools
,
Luton, United Kingdom
Read all 135 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Agrigento
from US$19.94
More Info
from US$5.75
More Info
from US$63.24
More Info
from US$91.99
More Info
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
54
46
17
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
46
17
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews google maps nun monastery plaster scenes
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

A nice little church in an otherwise not very inspiring town (the ruins are the main attraction). A friendly nun gave us a tour and explained everything in good english. Having said that, what I loved were the home made typical Sicilian sweets you can buy from the nuns in the monastery next door. Buy them - they also travel very well.

Date of experience: April 2014
Thank 497stephanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Taken on its own this is quite an interesting church but so many others in the area have much more to offer so poor Santo Spirito is rather left in the shade. Small convent adjoining who's nuns are of a silent order who bake and sell cakes.

Date of experience: October 2013
1  Thank lizandianp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The church was supposedly closed that day but we knocked on the door and where received by a young nun that showed us around the church and described the works of art. We could not visit the cloister. The nuns bake and sale delicious pastries with pistacchio and almond. The convent has also a bed & breakfast at very convenient prices.

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank malende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

It took us some time to find the Abbazia di Santo Spirito bcause we were coming from the wrong side and had to make a long detour. The church itself we did not find very impressive. We very sitting inside and a none came to us us and asked us for some donation in a somewhat demanding manner. The building next to it with the cloister does not belong to the church but to the city of Agrigento and you have to pay an extra entrance fee.

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank EvaMohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Very charming, but little to see, one small chapel, one courtyard with palms, no guide books, everything was closed expect for this ...... Disappointing really as it was plugged in the hotel etc

Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews