We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,177)
Filter reviews
1,177 results
Traveller rating
308
419
243
129
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
419
243
129
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tennis courts card system huge swimming pool escorted tour riviera travel tour anti pasti stayed here for three nights sea view large garden first floor modern hotel room was large monreale palermo km museum olives
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,177 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

Sorry to say and I much prefer to be positive, however, outside the hotel is much nicer than our room. Do not be fooled by the outside pictures. Bed comfortable. Food can run out if late to restaurant in morning. Limited menu in evening. There is in ‘canteen’ a herding guest system ... which lacks respect. Walking between chairs and tables with food and drink is very awkward in a crowded Area. Hotel remote so cannot walk out to other bars or restaurants. Small lift so used stairs that’s ok.Love the Barman! Lovely room cleaner. Thank you to both of you. Will be pleased to leave hotel. Sorry to write this negative review.

Stayed: October 2018
1  Thank lcb101223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

On Riviera Travel tour and hotel selected by them. Arrived about 2300 hours after travel delay. No porters, no lifts although stairs to be climbed. Light card switch did not work in the room, and had to get help from Reception. Hand basin had plug stuck in it so had to use bidet to wash face, hands, and teeth. Air conditioner left a water puddle on the centre of the room. A bit of a shock when getting up in the night for the loo. Bedroom was less than 50 yards from a busy dual carriageway. The Sicilians like their motor bikes.
The dining room was too small for the number of guests, so it was noisy. The standard of food was poor.
Outside is a large garden with lots of lovely plants. The swimming pool is enormous and a lovely feature. The tennis courts needed to be resurfaced.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chris-Garrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

After unlocking the door to our room it was then necessary to barge it open because it was jamming against the floor. We were then assailed by the stink of drains as we passed the bathroom, haven’t experienced that for years! The air conditioning was at best antiquated.

Not to be thwarted and in need of a shower, drink and dinner after a long day I noticed the shower head was pointing towards the loosely fitting shower cubicle door. So, having no wish to flood my first bathroom I redirected the shower head only for the ‘shower head holder on the riser rail’ to fall to bits causing the shower head to fall. FOUR STAR? - I think not!

After reporting these matters to and having them recorded by a Receptionist I was told “my man will look at the matters tomorrow”. And thankfully he did and they were resolved.

Except for another Receptionist allowing someone else to pay my bar bill - even if they had consumed less than us it was an undesirable confusion which could have been avoided by a simple ‘key check’ - all the other staff we met in the hotel were great, especially the waiting staff in the restaurant. The food and service was good which made the remainder of our stay enjoyable.

Would we stay here again? No way - as I have no wish to run the risk of being confronted by such unpleasant surprises again on arrival.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rowan242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as part of a two-centre holiday booked through Riviera. This hotel did not reflect well on Riviera who were otherwise excellent. Several of the guests in the group has bad experiences with their rooms here. Our room looked as though it was converted into a bedroom from some other use. The air conditioning didn't work and we were offered a fan instead. The lighting system was bizarre as there was no way of turning the bathroom lights on without turning on every other light as well. The bathroom floor was loose wooden slats “made by Sicilian shipwrights in order to experience the charm of old handmade wooden ships” as the sign on the wall said, but all it did was rattle whenever you walked on it and the toilet creaked alarmingly when you sat on it. The wardrobes were above a set of drawers and you needed to use a pole with a hook on it to reach the hangers; they were also not long enough for ladies' dresses and no hangers were provided in one of them. The TV didn't work and there were loose wires where, possibly, a computer had been installed previously. The shower, however, was very good, albeit with a slatted wooden floor. The dining room was badly organised and congested and, while I can understand the need to compromise on the choice when catering for large groups, it was poorly presented and the portions were mainly small. If the hotel routinely provide inferior accommodation for groups booking through companies such as Riviera, then this hotel needs to be removed from their lists. Fortunately the hotel that we moved to near Taormina for the second half of our stay was much better and demonstrated that it is possible to maintain standards for large groups.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

Hotel Kaos is definitely a misnomer! This hotel was quiet, very comfortable and clean in all areas. The food, both breakfast and dinner was top quality. The pool was huge and easy to walk into and swim away. It’s a bit out of Agrigento but bus service is available.
My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay which was part of a package through Riviera Travel, a company that we have now travelled with on five occasions.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews