We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,943)
Filter reviews
1,943 results
Traveller rating
1,411
346
118
38
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,411
346
118
38
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews concordia temple temple view room private access presidential suite small luxury hotel five star hotel direct view stunning location terrace restaurant wonderful hotel perfect view greek temple terrace overlooking main temple lit up at night lovely pool pasta
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,943 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

We were so looking forward to our stay here but were deeply disappointed by the very poor service - they seemed to be constantly understaffed ! The breakfast fare and venue left a lot to be desired and was certainly not what one expected of a 5 star establishment ! The restaurant was very poor and generally one felt prices over the top and the final straw was being charged cover charge of €6 per person when eating in the hotel restaurants although one was resident ! 5 star location and swimming pool but generally 2 star standard!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Villa_Athena, Direttore at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Jennifer,

We are sorry to read your negative comment regarding your stay and the service at the Hotel Villa Athena.
As you could read on TripAdvisor, we are accostumed to receive positive comments on our staff and restaurant services and in reference to the prices, these are perfectly in line with the high stantard level proposed.
If you should require any further clarifications, do not hesitate to contact us.

Warm regards,

Roberto Principato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Our second visit to this hotel and it was an all round disappointment for us. Our room - garden with temple view, as before, was smaller with no bedside tables. Bar access was withdrawn for residents when there was a wedding on - there were 3 in the 10 days we were there - and the festivities go on until after midnight - in one case until 2am - at the tops of their Sicilian voices! Will we be going back? Not a chance.

Room Tip: Avoid staying at weekends in garden rooms during the summer
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Villa_Athena, Direttore at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Jennifer,

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your second experience at our property and that your are not keeping a good memory of our hotel.
However I would like to clarify that, even when we host private events, all the services and facilities are available for our guests without limitations and, in this specific case, the bar service has never been interrupted.
The weddings are stopped at the latest at 11.30 p.m., therefore it sounds unlikely that the festivities went on until 2 a.m.
Hoping to have a future occasion to welcome you as our guest and change your opinion we send you our warmest regards..

Roberto Principato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

My husband and I spent three wonderful nights at Villa Athena. We were given an upgrade to the room pictured on their website and it simply enhanced our experience. The service and staff were efficient, friendly and professional. Breakfast was abundant and typically Italian/Sicilian. In the bar, Pietro took such good care of us and we had one of the most memorable dinners of our 40 year marriage at the terrace restaurant listening to live piano music and admiring the temples which are lit at night. After a long hot day of touring the magnificent Greek temples, a dip in the secluded pool was
so refreshing. I highly recommend Villa Athena if your soul is desiring a relaxing and romantic retreat amidst a World Heritage site. Five stars all around. Bravi!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank SanDiegoBeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

This is an absolutely beautiful hotel in the Valley of the Temples. Outdoor restaurant has magnificent views of the main temple. It is an expensive restaurant, but the food, especially,the fish was excellent. Good wine selection, perfect service, Rooms not especially large, but comfortable and with adequate storage. Bathrooms excellent, breakfast good but not excellent (no complaint, but have had better in comparable resorts in Italy). Hotel staff are excellent. Nice pool with lots of seating.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

This was our second visit to this hotel and overall, we were sadly disappointed. The rooms were as before – clean, comfortable and spacious with a small patio overlooking the Temple of Concordia. Unfortunately, this view was somewhat marred, as UNESCO have allowed the site to erect five huge screens next to the Temple. These screens depict women shaking their bodies about and making orgasmic sounds. Not in keeping with the historical site, unless these screens were discovered in a local ‘dig’ and were previously viewed by the ancient Greeks and/or Romans! With a 5* hotel, I do not expect to ask for anything which is standard. On two occasions, I had to request that the sachets used in the Tea Making facility were replenished. On another occasion, whilst sitting in the Terrace bar, we waited about 20 minutes to be served. I eventually asked a waiter to serve us drinks. BE AWARE that this hotel accommodates 2 / 3 Weddings a week. When these events take place, the hotel guests are effectively ignored. All the common facilities of the hotel, (Bar, restaurant, swimming pool), are reserved for the wedding event. We experienced 3 weddings during our 10-day visit. On one occasion, whilst visiting the Terrace Bar, we were requested to move to a bar by the pool. Drinking beer from a plastic container is not an experience I wish to repeat! These wedding celebrations extend well into the early hours of the morning and are very disruptive of a good night’s sleep. I think I can safely say that we will not be staying at this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Temple are more expensive , have an elevated patio but the large video screens by the Temple mar the view.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Clemick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews