We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
32
5
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
32
5
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews manor house the kitchen picos de europa stunning views short drive walks village courtyard shops coast south son bbq vultures
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

We just came back from a week at the Apartamentos Olmares and we couldn’t have been more happy with our stay. The apartment was spacious and clean with all the amenities one needs for a home away from home....and the views are spectacular.

The apartments are situated in a quiet hamlet of Basieda just a short drive from Potes, so you can see all the touristy bits and then retire to absolute peace and tranquility. There is a pub on the main road just down the hill which is good for lunch and a cold beer or glass of wine, and a fantastic restaurant (the Posada el Hoyal) just a kilometer over in the next village. The food there is absolutely amazing.

I definitely recommend Olmares if you want a quiet, warm and welcoming place to stay whilst visiting the area.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank rodp249
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 25 March 2018

I was very impressed with my nice-sized apartment for a three-night stay. I arrived very late and had good communication with the owner about how to get access after dark. The room was wonderful, with a superb view. I see that there has been some criticism about the lack of late afternoon sun, but as I was out all day exploring the area I have no complaint there. If that is what you want, perhaps consider checking to see if that is available before you book? I don't think the large hill to the south of the property (blocking the late sun) was put there by the property owners.

I very much appreciated the surprise goodies in the kitchen as it provided me breakfast for my first morning when I headed out well before the shops would have been open. Overall, I do not believe I could have chosen a better place to stay away from the main valley (around Potes).

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Elingles1, Owner at Apartamentos Olmares, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you so much. We have now created a little garden where you can catch the last of the afternoon sun and watch our hens!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We spent 2 weeks last august in Olmares place. Firstly we had a warm and friendly welcome by Richard as well as a great attention of our needs during our stay.
We occupied 2 different apartments and both were well furnished and cosy. We felt like home. Everything is organized for the well-being of the guests.
In the communal salon, we have access to a lot of maps, books about walking, visits, flowers, birds… Everyday, the weather forecast is updated. As mentioned in internet site, all apartments have a very nice view on the beautiful mountains and we enjoyed the quiet and peaceful place. There is a lot to visit around or to have a good rest. We recommend this place.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank marthedupre
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Elingles1, Owner at Apartamentos Olmares, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

thank you so much Marthe and Thierry. It was an equal pleasure for us to have you here. Abrazos Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

We have been coming here since 2011 and it's where we go when we need nature to restore us. There is piece and quiet (no children allowed), souring views to feed the soul, fresh mountain air to breath while walking and bird-watching, or just listen to the cows and their bells resonate around the peaceful valley. Spring is the best time to come. We like that it is self-contained so we can cook our own meals then watch a DVD or read a book in the library, or drive into Potes for a meal. The kitchen does, however, need a good knife but we take our own now.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank airheart_ash
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Elingles1, Owner at Apartamentos Olmares, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Thank you Airheart_Ash.
This year you will find a good knife - and so will all our other customers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We have slightly mixed feelings after staying for a week. We loved the views, however as someone has said it would have been nice if there had been somewhere to sit outside in the sun in the late afternoon or evening as it was quite cool for some of the time we were there even in June. We even needed heating one afternoon.

The apartment was nice, however the kitchen could have been better equipped. We have stayed in a number of Spanish as well as British owned apartments on this trip and the Spanish owned ones were generally much better equipped. Given its remoteness, the cooking facilities could have been better. There was only a very small frying pan and a medium sized pot. Both were not non-stick, which was a bit of a pain. The cafetiere plunger did not work properly and, despite knowing what would happen, it was impossible to stop coffee from spouting out the top when plunging it.

The remoteness has its pluses and minuses. There is no bar or restaurant in the tiny village. If you wanted to eat out, you had to avoid drinking any alcohol or risk the wrath of the Spanish police. It is also 20 minutes, or 40 minutes in total, from the nearest large village, Potes, where the supermarkets are located. Some of the villages up the valleys on the way down to Potes are marvellously quiet and unspoilt. We really enjoyed out time in the area.

Parking could have been a bit better organised

Room tip: Choose a top floor room
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomadicTraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Elingles1, Owner at Apartamentos Olmares, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Some other guests told us about the faulty cafetiere and we have replaced it - sorry about that!
There is one local restaurant at 1.5K and 2 more local ones which are so remote that driving with a drink is quite safe.

Thank you very much for the thoughtful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews