We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing few days stay - great food - highly recommended”

Plas Maenan Country House Hotel
Reserve a table
2
Sun, 19/09
20:00
Ranked #10 of 18 Restaurants in Llanrwst
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A big thank you to the team at Plas Maenan. Nothing was too much. The room in which we stayed was spotless and airy. The bed was amazingly comfortable, we slept really well.

We dined in both nights of our stay. The food we were served with was excellent. The service was friendly and relaxed. The whole experience was memorable for all the right reasons.

I cannot recommend Plas Maenan highly enough. Next time we are in North Wales we will stay there again.

Thank you Jane and the team for making our stay such a joy. Top class hotel. Top class service.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank B3707SDjonathann
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2021

We stayed here for two nights and have had the most wonderful weekend. Jane, Rhys and the team have been amazing and nothing has been too much trouble. It’s a beautiful place with lovely views, it’s quiet, peaceful and relaxing. We brought our two dogs with us and they have enjoyed lovely walks around the grounds and have begun to feel at home.

The food was delicious and the service was just over and by above, giving us advice on the local area and catering to our every need. We arrived after a poor experience elsewhere and the team here literally saved our weekend. It’s a stunning place and we will definitely return. Highly recommended. We have been so well looked after, we don’t want to leave.

Date of visit: August 2021
2  Thank angiels23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2021

So, we stayed here 5 nights, in nobody's world is this restaurant 'fine dining' ................

- the restaurant food is like a Sunday carvery from your local pub (in fact it is the same offering, pork, chicken, beef, a fish choice and a vegetarian option), except that food from any ‘gastro-pub’ would be a lot better (against 5 pubs near us this ‘fine dining’ experience would come in at number 6);

- you can enjoy this second-rate food in your own personal sauna (aka the ‘conservatory’), although guessing by the blankets also available, when it’s not your personal sauna to sweat through your ‘fine dining’ meal in, it doubles as your own personal fridge on colder days. ‘Fine dining’ as it should be, sweating or freezing, it all just adds to the experience I guess;

- they employ local ‘teenagers’ as waiting staff, and nice as they might be, they seem to have literally no idea what they are doing or any no waiting experience – we had to ask for even the basics (sometimes three times or more, and sometimes we don’t know how many times it would have taken as we gave up asking);

- the breakfasts in this ‘fine dining’ establishment were so poor that we gave up after 3 nights and started eating breakfast in a local town, paying for something we were already paying for at the hotel, but for £50 extra a day for 3 people it was just so much better than the ‘hotel’ food.

I definitely wouldn't eat here again even if it were free ................ anybody who has a wedding here is nuts as far as I am concerned.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank impgreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 August 2021 via mobile

We had the three course evening meal. Very nice calamari, perfect lamb and duck mains and good cheese and biscuits. Wine choice and quality were good and beer not bad either. Two members of staff, senior one and young guy who was training were both excellent.

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank Passenger20232844357
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 July 2021

This was a first visit, as a taster, having visited it briefly just before the pandemic hit. We were a party of four, including two friends who had recently made a short stop there when it recently re-opened. The afternooon tea was most comprehensive, extremely tasty and imaginative. The service was very good and we had a most relaxing three hours (our choice!) there enjoying it all. We would love to return when we can. We're ideally thinking of it for a stay with the same two friends over a couple of nights next Christmas, circumstances permitting. Well done to owner Jane for persevering against sometimes enormous odds during this long pandemic This is a stunningly good location with great luxury within the hotel which we saw on our earlier introductory tour of the house by Jane.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ardudwyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Plas Maenan Country House Hotel also viewed

Llanrwst, Conwy County
Trefriw, Snowdonia National Park
 
Llanrwst, Conwy County
Llanrwst, Conwy County
 

Been to Plas Maenan Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.