We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
Agoda.com
FindHotel
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
93
14
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
93
14
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasting menu relais and chateaux mouth watering exceptional food fabulous hotel eggy bread beautiful public areas newly refurbished hotel golden wedding anniversary immaculate grounds web page cocktail bar an enjoyable experience changed hands new owners superior room high standard
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2021 via mobile

Excellent manor House hotel. Lovely grounds, excellent decor clean modern yet in keeping. Friendly helpful staff. We had the tasting menu and it was superb, tasty, well presented and creative. We had more than able to eat for a tasting menu. Fully recommend and we will be back

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank stephen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 October 2021 via mobile

What a lovely find near the border between Cumbria and Northumberland, but only 10 miles or so from the motorway.
Recently refurbished this gem is a real find and one we cannot recommend enough. (Or wait to tell friends about and return to!)
A lovely warm welcome with fire blazing in the reception rooms. Our room and our son’s room were beautiful, spacious, airy, and very comfortable.
Downstairs the Pass is open for all to see as you walk past on the way to the bar.
We had the tasting menu. It’s delicious but very generous portions. But the real difference were the staff looking after us, probably some of the most friendly and genuine we have ever come across on our travels.
Our son did not want the tasting menu and had room service, which is clearly not a standard offering, it was no trouble at all, the team bent over backwards to make sure he had a lovely evening.
If you are looking for somewhere special for a few nights, then you would not go wrong here. (P.S. dogs are welcome)

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank DCG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 October 2021

Stayed two nights in this hotel, set in beautiful grounds. The food was excellent and well presented, with top wines to match. The tasting menu came highly recommended. Breakfast was also a great start for the day. Bedrooms and all areas of the hotel were cleaned to a high standard. This was very reassuring, given the current Covid pandemic. What stood out was the staff? Nothing was too much trouble. One of the most friendliest team of staff ever encountered in a hotel.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ella020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 October 2021 via mobile

This area feels unexplored. We did a couple of cycle rides and it is absolutely stunning. The hotel has been beautifully refurbished and the rooms are finished to a really high spec. The food is absolutely excellent and the service is friendly. The head waiter was particularly knowledgeable and friendly.
There were a few snagging problems with the refurbished room: shower not draining and blind broke on first use (blocking our lovely view). Also the younger dining room staff did not know much about the food on the menu, they had to keep running off to ask the chef or head waiter. This could be easily sorted. As I said, the food is stunning so it’s a shame if the waiting staff cannot speak with knowledge and enthusiasm about it.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Domslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 October 2021

We had a very relaxing time , the room was very comfortable, the staff were helpful and friendly. The food was delicious, we had two evening meals and two breakfast there was a good variety of choice and we enjoyed each meal .

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fitzpatrick309
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews