We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family get together”
Review of The White Hart

The White Hart
Ranked #23 of 118 Restaurants in Sevenoaks
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The White Hart is a fascinating building, its intriguing architecture bearing witness to many and varied stylistic influences in vogue since it was built in the early 17th century. It was originally positioned right next to the Sevenoaks turnpike, and as you'd expect of a coaching inn that has been nourishing and refreshing travellers for over 300 years, you'll find character and charm at every turn.
Reviewed 19 August 2021

This was our first visit to the White Hart. Despite some staff being "pinged" due to the pandemic and a reduced menu as a consequence we had a most enjoyable time today. The staff were very good at keeping everyone informed of the situation and we didn't have to wait too long to be served. The food was well presented and good portions. We sat outside bur the inside of the pub looked well kept and clean

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gillian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 762 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2021 via mobile

First trip back to the White Hart since before lockdown. Great service, great food, despite the fact they’d clearly been busy all day. I’ve never had a bad meal here.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank HarryN63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 August 2021

We were spending 4 nights close to The White Hart and having eaten the lazy year and enjoyed it we decided to return on 2 evenings last week. Sadly we were very disappointed this time. My husband ordered the steak pie with mash and veg and I had the fish and chips. My meal was ok but the pie was the worst my husband has ever eaten, the inside was just a mush, not one chunk of beef to be seen. Both the pie and mash didn’t appear to have been seasoned. On our 2 visit we both had starters which arrived fairly quickly and were ok. Not sure what went wrong but we noticed 3 waiting on staff peeping in to the bar where we were sat as though there was something amiss. What was amiss was the fact that we waited at least 45 minutes for our main courses to arrive. My husband chose the lamb shoulder which was apparently ok but nothing special. I’d chosen the beetroot, quinoa and soya burger. It was very dry and tasteless and totally disappointing. I left half of the meal. We had intended to have ice cream then coffee but couldn’t stand the constant racket being made by a group of 4 youngsters on the table near us. Only 2 males were eating which was a shame as the 2 girls just never stopped to take breath! We asked the waitress for our bill and explained we would have stopped longer but we’re both getting headaches by then. We were told it was because it was Saturday night. We realise we were unfortunate to be seated so close to this group but many people like to go out to eat and actually hear what the other person is saying!
Sadly the past 2 visits have been underwhelming food wise so it’s put us off revisiting in the future.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gerrardCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 August 2021 via mobile

One of the best roasts I’ve had in a while… roast lamb was so tasty and tender… the beef was the right amount of tender and medium rare … roast potatoes were perfect…

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank penny888
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 August 2021

We are not from the area but we’re looking for somewhere to meet my sister and partner.
We were warmly greeted when we arrived and the great service continued throughout.
A great selection of food on the menu and everything that was being brought out looked delicious and beautifully presented. All the food we had was lovely. Kids menu is good too.
We ate inside but went outside to the kids play area, and the garden is beautiful. Thoroughly recommend the White Hart.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank 339pippaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The White Hart also viewed

Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
 
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.