We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice with flaws”

Bradley Burn Farm Shop and Cafe
Ranked #44 of 104 Restaurants in Bishop Auckland
Price range: US$2 - US$9
Description: The Farm Shop and Cafe is open throughout the year. Housed in a beautiful log cabin, tables on our terrace overlook the burn flowing past. Enjoy home cooked fayre beside the wood stove while the kids explore the enclosed play area just outside. Find out more about the farm on our farm trail.
Restaurant details
Description: The Farm Shop and Cafe is open throughout the year. Housed in a beautiful log cabin, tables on our terrace overlook the burn flowing past. Enjoy home cooked fayre beside the wood stove while the kids explore the enclosed play area just outside. Find out more about the farm on our farm trail.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The cafe is very good for simple food and drink, but the ‘farm shop’ really doesn’t sell enough produce to deserve such a name... only one leek was sold in the vegetable isle, with no meat or fish being sold.

Thank james K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrsStphnsn, Owner at Bradley Burn Farm Shop and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for calling in. We are increasing our stock as we get busier into the summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Staying locally and looking for a little shop/cafe.This fit the bill.Lovely little shop with gifts, foods n nick nacks mostly locally produced.Coffee shop had two outdoor areas one idea for youngsters with tractor area.Indoor cafe had kids area with toys n books.Ideal!! We had home made soup and quiche with salad which were both very tasty.Good service and pleasant staff.Recommended.

Thank Ang E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrsStphnsn, Owner at Bradley Burn Farm Shop and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your kind words. Please do visit again if you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018

We were staying in one of the cottages on the farm so popped in everyday for breakfast. The food in nice and the staff-well they made the place.

Thank Loudnorthernbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrsStphnsn, Owner at Bradley Burn Farm Shop and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

Went hoping for Sunday dinner but don’t do it now. So ordered gluten free soup came with wrong bread waitress came back took it away came back with only soup and no gluten free bread !!! No explanation quite rude and service very poor. It’s nothing like it used to be when it first opened food then was amazing we will not be back

Thank 510christine555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrsStphnsn, Owner at Bradley Burn Farm Shop and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thanks for sharing your thoughts. No, we don't do Sunday dinner and haven't done for about 8 years. There are several places nearby that do an excellent Sunday roast, which we are happy to recommend. We do make lunch on Sunday and great soup, which is gluten free, and will gladly serve it with a gluten free bread roll on request. It sounds like you didn't get that option, and I am very sorry to hear this. We'll be making sure all of our Sunday team is better trained. Our apologies. Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

It looked good from the road, so we went in. The location is nice, but the service was terrible and the food disappointing.

Our three meals arrived at different times, with my wife's scone being completely forgotten.

My 8 year old complained that the beans and ketchup were not Heinz - they were certainly some cheaper alternative.

The coffee was so weak that my wife, who likes pretty weak coffee even noted how weak it was.

It could be so much better with attention to a few details - by better beans (baked and coffee) and charge 50p more - the prices were cheap, but slightly more for better quality would be completely fine

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank YorkshireRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrsStphnsn, Owner at Bradley Burn Farm Shop and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thanks for your review, and for usefully highlighting where we could do better. We have addressed the issue of service with more staff training, and now have a much stronger team.
With regards to using Heinz products, we carefully choose ingredients on taste and also salt and sugar content. For both ketchup and beans, we prefer other manufacturers. We make a judgement on what we, and our customers like, and we will have to disagree on this point.
We have changed our coffee supply to a smoother, less bitter bean, and use a double shot in most coffee drinks. We have been talking to customers about this over the last few months and they are very happy with it. We have also trained our barista team to get the best from the beans.
Thanks again. Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bradley Burn Farm Shop and Cafe also viewed

 
Wolsingham, Durham
 
Bishop Auckland, Durham
 

Been to Bradley Burn Farm Shop and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;