We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia
ZenHotels.com
FindHotel
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (434)
Filter reviews
434 results
Traveller rating
359
62
9
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
359
62
9
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family run hotel goodrington sands plenty of parking lovely hotel power shower steep hill breakfast was excellent hotel is situated paignton harbour lovely family high standard cooked fresh last minute booking two night stay relaxing stay stayed for nights town centre
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 434 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2021

The room was clean and ok, location very good, breakfast good. On the negative side, unfortunately our shower head made a lot of noise when in use, the worst part was when you can hear almost everything (some noises were disgusting) from next door bathroom or below as the walls were very very thin. I think this had been reviewed before and really the owner should do something about it.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank cb2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 August 2021 via mobile

Recently stayed at the Summerhill hotel on a family holiday to Devon. We booked 2 rooms (a twin and a double) and were disappointed with the room facilities. The rooms were tired and badly in need of modernisation. The double room (room 12) was on the ground floor next to the main entrance and the dining room and sitting room. It was noisy due to its location so much so I had to buy earplugs to get a decent sleep. The rooms were clean but the furniture and decor is old and tired. The wardrobe had no back to it and the tv and tea/coffee making facilities were needing renewed. Very disappointing when we had paid £134 per room per night! Definitely not the rooms shown in any of the photos I browsed on any of the adverts for the hotel. On a plus side the breakfast was excellent with plenty of variety and good portions. The dining room is pleasant and the young ladies serving us were very nice. The hotel is well situated for Paignton harbour only a short walk away but would not suit anyone with mobility issues due to its hilly location. We enjoyed our first visit to Devon but will not be returning to the Summerhill hotel.

Room tip: Avoid room 12!
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Bigdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 August 2021

We have stayed here many times and the welcome, rooms, and standard of service are always the same high standard. The rooms are comfortable and very clean, and the breakfasts are "The best". There is a good choice of lovely evening meals in the hotel dining room, that has a view of the bay. A short walk leads to Youngs park and Goodrington sands. All in all very relaxing.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Louiseala
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 August 2021 via mobile

Second time of staying here and cant fault the service our room and the hotel itself everything about it and the family that run it is simply amazing.
Food is incredible both breakfast and evening meal, the staff are super friendly and give 100%.
We stayed in 2020 for a week with our son and when we got married in 2021 decided to stay again this time for 2 weeks for our our honeymoon.
Well we certainly weren't disappointed we can't even describe how lovely the people are and the service.
We will be back without a doubt.
We live in Newcastle so a good 7 hours drive and every traffic jam and weather on your way makes it worth while when you arrive.
Stunning view lovely family and great service
Thank you

Room tip: Great parking for offloading luggage, and an overflow car park which we used for 2 weeks
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank N5407KPgarethb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 July 2021

The Summerhill Hotel was chosen because of the great reviews and its location. Being at the Goodrington Beach end of Paignton, it is quiet and has easy access to the park and lovely clean beach. We received a warm welcome and Deborah and Peter and Deborah went out of her way to ensure that we did not have to move rooms during our stay. The hotel is comfortably decorated and the rooms airy and clean. There is a bar and restaurant both open to the residents and a lovely sunny terrace to take your drink and overlook the sea. The menu is simple but comprehensive and the food is fresh, well cooked and well presented - the wine list should meet all tastes and is not an arm and a leg. The bar is also well stocked with beers, wines and spirits. The hotel is also in easy waking reach of the harbour area with some nice restaurents. There is parking at the front of the hotel as well as an overflow carpark by the side - all safe and secure. All the staff are great. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend Summerhill as a place to relax, unwind and just chill.

Room tip: Ask for a second floor sea view
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChefCliveM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews