We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
HotelIndigo.com
US$101
View deal
Expedia
Agoda.comUS$101
ZenHotels.comUS$106
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (861)
Filter reviews
861 results
Traveller rating
661
141
36
11
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
661
141
36
11
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the marco pierre white restaurant shire hall beautiful hotel mpw restaurant original features council chamber stained glass windows rainfall shower nespresso machine would highly recommend this hotel eggs benedict afternoon tea city centre beautiful room fantastic stay per day car park
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 861 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2022

Stayed recently for 2 nights on a dinner, bed and breakfast offer. Room was a good size and clean, bed rather hard for my preference, but my partner found it comfortable. We had afternoon tea upon arrival which is highly recommended. Breakfast and evening meal were all fantastic and well worth the offer which we had booked. The service received by all restaurant staff was great, both Nathan & Tom went out of their way to ensure everything was to our satisfaction and are a credit to your team. We will return in the future.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 195claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
James Bird, Owner at Hotel Indigo Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2022

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel. Here at Hotel Indigo, Durham we really value our guests’ feedback, and we use this to improve our processes across all our hotel departments. I would like to thank you personally for your kind words about our hotel, facilities, and staff. We look forward to seeing you back in our beautiful city in the near future.
Best Wishes
James Bird, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2022

Super hotel with lovely decor in our room. Great size rooms, nice bathroom. Modern amenities with complimentary water, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits.
The only thing that let the room down was that it could do with better lighting.
The restaurant is lovely the room itself has stained glass windows. Excellent breakfast, nice continental and then you can order from a wide choice from the hot menu. Choices included kippers, full-cooked English breakfast, pancakes, waffles, eggs benedict, porridge and more. I did feel the one reception staff was abrupt but all the other staff were lovely

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank WelshgirlMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
James Bird, Owner at Hotel Indigo Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2022

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel. Here at Hotel Indigo, Durham we really value our guests’ feedback, and we use this to improve our processes across all our hotel departments. I would like to thank you personally for your kind words about our hotel, facilities, and staff. We look forward to seeing you back in our beautiful city in the near future.
Best Wishes
James Bird, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2022

This hotel impressed me. The value exceeded my expectations. Clean, well-decorated, big room, comfy king-size bed, contemporary and handy bathroom; what more could a tourist want? All necessary Covid-related safety measures are in place, and the helpful staff makes things simple. The hotel's cuisine made an overnight stay a celebration. Recommended!

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_Donaldson007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
James Bird, Owner at Hotel Indigo Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2022

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel. Here at Hotel Indigo, Durham we really value our guests’ feedback, and we use this to improve our processes across all our hotel departments. I would like to thank you personally for your kind words about our hotel, facilities, and staff. We look forward to seeing you back in our beautiful city in the near future.
Best Wishes
James Bird, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2022 via mobile

Stayed at the Hotel Indigo during a weekend trip to Durham. The architecture and heritage features of this converted government building are worth the visit alone. Great rooms, staff and breakfast. A wee problem with water was only fault.

Room tip: Very close to centre. Easily reached by car. Good on site parking. Very reasonably priced.
Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LedgieDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
James Bird, Owner at Hotel Indigo Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2022

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel. Here at Hotel Indigo, Durham we really value our guests’ feedback, and we use this to improve our processes across all our hotel departments. I would like to thank you personally for your kind words about our hotel, facilities, and staff. We look forward to seeing you back in our beautiful city in the near future.
Best Wishes
James Bird, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2022

A bit of a mixed review. Hotel itself is a lovely old building with amazing ceramic tiles in the old entrance. The room we stayed in had a comfortable bed and good shower. Strangely it had skylights but no windows you could see out of.

The main reason for this poor review is that my husband hit his head on the slope of the stairwell, and fell over on the stairs. He is six foot tall - not so tall that this should have occured. Despite reporting this, we have had no reply from the hotel. The stairwell is the only one on this side of the hotel, and is also the fire escape. There is only one small lift which was often busy, hence using the stairs. There is no signage to warn that the stair roof slopes. We reported this to the front desk - who took an accident report. After hearing nothing for a day, we asked again at check out what was being done about this and were told the manager would call us. Days later, still nothing from the hotel. This is a complete fire hazard, given the fact that anyone over six foot tall could fall on the stairwell during an evacuation. The complete lack of care from the hotel is a serious concern.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandT_hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
James Bird, Owner at Hotel Indigo Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2022

Hi RandT_hols

Thank you very much for your review

Here at Hotel Indigo Durham we value all input and feedback from our guests and would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Following your review both myself and our Maintenance Manager have been investigating this and walked the whole second floor of the hotel to find out which area raises your concerns

Following this investigation we find that there are no areas that would deem this a fire hazard, however we have addressed areas that may cause concern for taller people (6ft4 plus) and have now put 'caution' signage in the areas that we feel may impact guests.

Thank you once again for your feedback, we always appreciate ways in which we can improve the service that we offer.

James Bird
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews