We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (572)
Filter reviews
572 results
Traveller rating
299
185
55
24
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
299
185
55
24
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel car park train station bar area tesco express my partner lovely room free parking top floor real ale full english high standard walk in shower stayed for one night comfy bed cooked breakfast eggs benedict
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 572 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2018

We spent a weekend in Barrow visiting our son who is a summer intern at a local well known employer. The hotel was handily located - close to our son, who lives in the next road, as well as being close to the town centre and other local amenities. There is free parking across the road. Our superior room was lovely and spacious with a bath tub as well as a separate walk in shower. The breakfast portions were generous and the help yourself buffet extensive. All in all no complaints at all about this place!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AndyPandy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex T, Guest Relations Manager at The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Hi Andy,

Great to hear you had a nice time at our hotel in Barrow and enjoyed the breakfast, the room and your stay in general

Thank you for the 5-star review and we hope to welcome you back next time you visit your son!

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

Stayed here 6 nights early July in the heatwave. Sadly as Barrow is not geared for such weather, there was no A/C and only one desk fan in the bedroom, although another fan was provided on request.
Staff exceedingly noce, and the position is perfect for the train and the town.
Food very good and Sunday Lunch enormous!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank keithf915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex T, Guest Relations Manager at The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Hi Keith,

Really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the service, particularly during the heat wave because it's been hard on both our staff and guests!

Thank you for the great review, we're delighted that you found the food to be tasty and good value for money. We hope to welcome you back at our venue soon.

All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

Booked room for our family from New Zealand. The room was excellent and they thought the breakfast was marvellous. Barry and his team and the rest of the staff were very helpful. We will certainly recommend this hotel to other family and friends.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Brian-Lynda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex T, Guest Relations Manager at The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Hi Brian,

We're really glad to hear your family enjoyed their stay and our breakfast.

We'll let Barry and the rest of the team know of your review, they'll be delighted to hear that you had a great time at The Duke!

Thank you for the wondrous review and recommendation. Come to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018

The hotel staff were so attentive it was unbelievable baring in mind it was the evening of England v Croatia in the World Cup semi’s!

The evening meal was excellent.

There’s only 1 hotel I”d stay at on my next visit to the area !!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex T, Public Relations Manager at The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Hi Rob, thank you for the glowing recommendation and the wonderful review.

We're happy to hear you enjoyed your meal and we look forward to welcoming you back in future!

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and are very pleased to have chosen this hotel. Great value for money. The room was spotlessly clean, very stylish/ modern and very comfy, nice big bed and a/c which was great with the warm weather. All the staff we came across were very friendly.
We would definately stay again.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Lor4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex T, Front Office Manager at The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Hi, thank you for leaving a review for The Duke.

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel comfy, cool and great value for money!

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews