We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
70
108
49
27
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
70
108
49
27
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews town hall clock an italian restaurant nice night working lift restaurant attached town centre bed was comfortable helpful receptionist the ritz car park exceptional value restaurant staff definately stay again lick of paint stayed here for one night visiting the lakes friendly hotel
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 268 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2018

stayed here numerous times recently, room always clean and warm, lovely cooked breakfast and great staff.Having read some of the negative reviews, yes the hotel could do with a splash of paint and some of the furniture looks a bit tired but you get what you pay for. This hotel is much cheaper than the rest in the area and does the job. If you are looking for the ritz you wont get it at the price they charge here, but clean, comfy and friendly it is. Thanks, we will be back yet again!!!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank janet w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

Bearing in mind that I'm in an 'Executive room' - Sellotape around the windows (still drafty), constant sound of traffic, the radiator is cold and constantly noisy, small bed, small TV, no desk to work at, no iron in the room (you have to ask for one), everything looks tired.

But the worst thing... There is a sign on the lift that says 'Lift is permanently out of order' - and there are a lot of stairs to climb to get to the 3rd floor (and they didn't offer to carry my bag).

It needs to have some money to be spent on it to bring it up to a reasonable standard.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank TechboyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

Avoid Hotel at all costs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.....
Room Lighting did not work at first so had to go down to reception….eventually resolved   
Very, very grubby/ dirty Hotel in general
Radiators not working but I had a use of a portable plug in oil heater….
The room is damp in places and the plaster is coming off
Lift does not work so carting luggage etc to the second floor
Could not access the Hotel Car Park due to limited capacity, so had to park at the Town Hall Car Park and cart luggage round to the Hotel
Unacceptably loud traffic noise due to cracks and holes formed in the rotten/ broken Sash Windows
Sash Windows constantly Rattling and cold drafts
Very uncomfortable bed, springs have sprung
Constant chiming of Town Hall Clock every 1/4, 1/2 and on the hour
Noisy guests in hallway as room doors not fit for purpose

Room tip: Stay at another Hotel
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank romeceandmservicesuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

This is the third time we have stayed in the Majestic at this time of year but we wouldn’t stay again. The whole hotel is in need of refurbishment and it is very grubby in places. Our first room had dirty marks on the walls and stains on the carpets. We were moved to another room because the television came on at 5 am and there was no one there to fix it. Our second room was actually better than the first. The lift hasn’t worked since we have stayed there and it’s hard work carrying luggage upstairs.

On the plus side, the staff are friendly and helpful. It’s inexpensive but , in future, I would rather pay more and stay somewhere nicer.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel most Mondays to Thursdays for the last 3 months through work, mostly contractors use the hotel ,clean enough,handy for everything local and quiet enough,staff are friendly and decent food at reasonable prices in the restaurant downstairs.Mr Lawrence

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank scottishfisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews