We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
31
1
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
1
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmusselsthe pubscooby snacka great staystevepiel
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2017

was my 2nd visit to piel island and the pub cant wait to go back again both times have been very pleasant everybody is very friendly from the boat across to the people who live on the island the pub and "king " are just brilliant , my 2nd fav island , defo going back

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank andrew26at233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieBarrow, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you for a lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

My partner and I called in late one afternoon for a late lunch, we were greeted with a smile, and happily served our lunch even though it was moments before the dinnertime menu finished. The food I have to say was top notch, there was a little wait as everything was was cooked fresh. The Irish gentleman that served us was absolutely spot on with the amount of attention he gave us, not over the top but certainly not ignorant. The pub itself is lovely, with plenty of space between tables. I would highly recommend this place if you are ever in Barrow or the surrounding area

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Veldee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Before getting on the ferry to Piel Island we asked the cafe (at Roa Island) if the Ship Inn did food. 'No, drinks only' came the response with an unconvincing smirk. After checking on here and seeeing food reviews we decided to risk it and head over hungry.. and thank god we did! The menu had a brilliant choice of food and what we ordered (mussels & fish&chip) was amazing, especially when compared to the cheapo looking sandwiches being served over at Roa Island cafe! Portions were huge and beautifully cooked. After speaking with the staff (who were delightful and very welcoming) sadly that wasn't the first time they have heard that!

All in all a wonderful trip to Piel Island, amazing lunch, wonderful atmosphere and even saw the king!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

Came to visit Piel and ordered early lunch , menu was brilliant and didn't expect such a choice given this is a remote island only available at right tides. The fish n chips were freshly battered to order. The wrap menu was great loved the Halloumi wrap. The Scooby Snack burger was amazing!!
The food was great quality and people were very friendly . Really enjoyed the few hours out

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank lourhys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

A day visit to Piel Island in great weather included a lengthy lunch at The Ship. Greeting was friendly, helpful and fun. A cool clean interior for more stormy days and good clean toilets. Outside tables with a view to die for.......boats at their moorings, ships passing by, a whopping great castle AND excellent simple food.

We had the shrimps (in a lovely chilli sauce plus finger bowl) followed by brochetta accompanied by an excellent Ulverstone brewed beer. Great service, terrific value.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JohnatPales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews