We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Agoda.com
eDreams
Trip.com
FindHotel
Etrip
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (457)
Filter reviews
457 results
Traveller rating
348
83
18
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
348
83
18
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely venue the sticky toffee pudding lovely room stayed here for one night checking out city centre comfy bed wedding poplar newcastle lounge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 457 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2022 via mobile

Wonderful stay. Lovely room and very spacious- we stayed in Laburnum. Staff very friendly and helpful. Had an evening meal, smoked salmon followed by sirloin steak and chips for hubby and feta cheese with beetroot and chicory then pearl barley risotto with mushrooms, cheese and crispy onion, all excellent as was breakfast. Will definitely return if going to the Northeast.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank shirleymac218
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 December 2021 via mobile

We stayed here for one night, as a quick "stop over" to break up a journey.
The staff were friendly and professional.
The hotel has character, with beautiful high ceilings and sash windows. The Christmas decorations made everything even more lovely.
We found the hotel to be very clean.
Breakfast was great.
Thank you - we will definitely return for a longer stay.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AndreaDeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 December 2021 via mobile

The setting was wonderful as usual, we have had Xmas lunch here every year for many years. (Apart from last year as it was closed due to Covid)The staff were very friendly and helpful. We ordered ‘Turkey and all the trimmings’ and this is where it became disappointing. The Turkey and vegetables were covered in a very dark brown strong tasting gravy, possibly a red wine gravy and certainly more suited to a beef dish, which was also on the menu, it was so strong in colour that it actually stained the Turkey. ‘All the trimmings’ consisted of a small pig in blanket, there was no stuffing and unusual again on a Turkey Xmas dinner was a giant Yorkshire pudding. We had wondered if when plating the meal they had confused us with the beef dish, but noticed that all the other diners had the same as we did. We noticed the people close to us comment on the same issues to each other. The strong tasting gravy overpowered the dish and you couldn’t taste the Turkey at all. In the end we left most of it on the plate. The Xmas pudding was an individual serving from a store bought pudding and not made in house, the brandy sauce was a little lacking in taste. At £24.95 per head I’d expected better, certainly in the past the food has been of a much higher standard. This was a special occasion for the family and so I didn’t want to spoil the occasion by making a complaint, however I’m certain that the chef had to be aware that he/she was serving a light delicate meat with a heavy dark overpowering gravy. Very disappointing and sadly won’t return next year

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mazpaz76
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 November 2021

My wife had a night's stay in reserve when she was unable to fulfil a previous business booking and the hotel offered to let her use it at a later date. Taking advantage of this I joined my wife for the evening and quickly appreciated the reasons why my wife loves staying here.

Wonderfully friendly and helpful staff, who couldn't have made us feel more welcome and went out of their way to make our stay an enjoyable one.

That accompanied with great food and a comfy bed, would certainly visit again and recommend to others.

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Y5973PUgrantw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 November 2021

We booked for a surprise lunch for a 60th birthday. We were greeted by Tony who was so friendly and once all the party had arrived went out of his way to enhance the atmosphere. The lounge is elegant and cosy. We had several photo shoots courtesy of Tony. He was funny, friendly and entertaining. We ate in the dinning room which is warm and elegant and the food was lovely. Everyone had a great afternoon thanks to Tony and his great service and sense of humour.

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Thompas155
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews