We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning setting, friendly staff”
Review of The Ferryboat Inn

The Ferryboat Inn
Price range: US$7 - US$13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: We are a family friendly dining pub with various events going on during the year, we have buffets menus for private parties, we provide a nice venue for that relaxing meal for you, your family and friends. Christmas time we have a full Christmas menu running with meal options, buffets for those office parties and friendly staff to help you along the way. We are in a lovely location by the beach with excellent views.
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

The Ferryboat Inn is a large pub on the edge of Langstone Harbour, popular with tourists, walkers, families, dog walkers and beach goers. Today was a dull day so
there were just a few families sitting outside in the huge patio area. We chose to sit outside because we had the dog but actually you can take dogs in the bar. Inside the bar was busier, there was a bit of a wait to be served. However the bar staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We ordered club sandwiches and sweet potato chips. Back outside we waited about 15 minutes for our meal to arrive, soaking in the view, enjoying the boats sailing by. Our food was delivered it looked a bit messy to be honest, it was also underseasoned. The fillings were stingy and the sweet potato chips were a bit greasy, not horrible, just average. It's a shame we left feeling a bit disappointed. I would go back just for a drink because the view is gorgeous but wouldn't bother with the food.

1  Thank sue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 78 of 692 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2018

today was excellent. The Ferry Boat was very busy as we expected but we ordered and received in good time 2 excellent Lamb Shanks plus 2 Desserts. Re an earlier post The Staff do care, we can vouch for that

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lovedeanblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferryboatinn h, General Manager at The Ferryboat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Hi
many thanks for taking the time out to place this on here and support the staff as you have said they do care and work extremely hard, and unfortunately people are quick enough to run them down.
I am glad you had 2 lovely meals and desserts and hope to see you in the ferryboat again soon
kind regards
Edwina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

The location cant be beaten, its perfect for a sunny day. They allow dogs too which is also very good.

We sat outside and ate, there were 10 of us eating a mixture of sunday roasts, burgers etc.

The roasts were about £9+ (i had a nut roast) they were not the greatest roast we have has when out for dinner and i cant say i would have it again, it was a bit sparce. The kids roast was huge by comparison. You can order top ups of gravy, potatos and yorkshire pudding. We did this as soon as our meal arrived knowing 2 roast potatos wouldnt be enough. It arrived but no extra gravy.

Two others in our group went and ordered more top up spuds and yorkies, but they never arrived. We didn't bother to chase it as the bar was so busy we didnt want to wait inline.

Staff were friendly, not cheap, and you do pay for parking (we couldn't get into the pub carpark due to being bank holiday and very busy)

Lovely location and would visit again for a drink by the sea.

In the photo attached, the peas were from another family members meal, so only brocolli and carrot as the veg for my vegetarian roast.

Thank geo614142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferryboatinn h, General Manager at The Ferryboat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Hi
many thanks for your comments, which I have passed on to the team you can have refills on potatoes gravy and Yorkshires I can only apologise if this all did not come out and hopefully if you come in again we can make sure it does, if you do manage to get in our car park next time it is £3.00 for parking but it is refunded on your bill,
we are changing all our roast at the end of this month so maybe give it a go and let us know how it is you can always ask to see me on the day
kind regards
Edwina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

Three of us sailed over on the Hayling Island ferry from Southsea to walk two dogs on the beach. We followed this with lunch at The Ferryboat Inn. It was a good choice. Both the main meal and dessert was excellent - and reasonably priced - with excellent and swift service throughout. We intended to eat outside in a large seated area but it began to rain, so we moved inside to a dog friendly area by the bar where the dogs were made very welcome. We spent a very pleasant hour and a half here before catching the ferry back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank amiddletonsct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferryboatinn h, Manager at The Ferryboat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Hi
many thanks for taking the time to review us, we are really pleased you enjoyed your lunch, and used the ferry we are lucky we have a lovely beach and views. we do love our dogs in here and try to look after them with treats as I have 2 myself, hopefully we will see you again in the near future.
kind regards
Edwina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018

The guys behind the bar are always friendly, always there to help. The portions arent massive but they are quality, thanks guys

Thank KelleysHeroCharters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferryboatinn h, Manager at The Ferryboat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Hi Kelley,
thank you for taking the time out to put this review on here the guys here work really hard but we still try to make it fun for them and the customers as this can be challenging at times, hope to see you again soon,
kind regards
Edwina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ferryboat Inn also viewed

Hayling Island, Hampshire
 
Hayling Island, Hampshire
Hayling Island, Hampshire
 
Hayling Island, Hampshire
 

Been to The Ferryboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing