We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meals”
Review of The Wherry Hotel

The Wherry Hotel
Ranked #2 of 27 Quick Bites in Lowestoft
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 11 June 2021

Its been a few months since we last ate here and was looking forward to it. Very Covid secure. Lovely staff, very obliging. Good menu although not so much choice for vegetarians. A tick list for the carvery, which was fine. Good sized portions. Dessert menu brilliant and a full dessert cabinet. Beautiful stettings sat in the conservatory looking out over the broads. Enjoyed our meals.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 745 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2021 via mobile

We had a lovely walk and really liked the look of the outdoor eating area, so we decided to have lunch. The app wasn't easy to use, but my husband is vegetarian and the menu was very limited. He ended up settling for a side green salad, and I had the side casar salad. My salad had floppy unwashed gritty lettuce leaves, and tasteless croutons from a bag. The parmesan was good though. My husband asked for dressing on the side and it came on it. Very beautiful garden, very below average food.

Date of visit: June 2021
1  Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2021

The carvery was plated for you the roast potatoes were served BLACK and uneatable the waitress laughed and said they had to much sun
Digusted with the response
The so called gammon steak was only a thicker cut piece of bacon and overcooked
The chips on all the plates were luke warm
Small house wine £4.50
Given the wrong bill error by the waiter so corrected
When complained our bill was reduced by £20 extremely disappointing
Overall it was a ruined night out for a family of 6 we wont be going back
Pity I didn't take photos
The restaurant was busy but the service was poor

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank margaretbK9976RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2021 via mobile

We visited here last night after mooring at oulton broad. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The staff were so friendly and efficient, the menu had lots of options to cater for everyone and so many desserts I couldn’t decide what to have. Once we had eaten we moved to the sofas where we sat for quite a while having drinks. I would definitely go back and recommend.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2021 via mobile

We Came here the Friday before restaurants/bars opened inside.
We ordered our drinks via the app. The drinks came quickly, we also ordered food. The food was served quick and it was good. Just a shame it was a cold day. Even when sitting near a gas heater.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank TheoSox10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wherry Hotel also viewed

Oulton Broad, Lowestoft
 
 

Been to The Wherry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.