We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wheelchair Friendly, great service”

Beefeater The Watermill
Ranked #20 of 159 Restaurants in Basildon
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Beefeater's been on an exciting journey since opening our first site in 1974. Now, with over 140 restaurants across the UK, we're known and loved thanks to our famous grills and friendly service. From our mouth-watering steaks to fresh fish and salads, you'll find plenty of great-value meals on the menu. Plus, with a whole range of tasty and nutritious kids' dishes, we're the perfect choice for family meals. Whatever the occasion, celebrate it with Beefeater.
Reviewed 11 June 2021

Had breakfast this morning while staying at the attached Premier Inn, the Manager Karen H made sure I was sat at a table that was suitable for a wheelchair and I wasn’t a “add on” which is something I’ve experienced elsewhere.

The food was good and there was plenty of it, I didn’t feel rushed to eat and took my time enjoying the meal.
The waitress Abigail was very friendly and assisted me when settling the bill.

I will definitely be going back, it is nice to have some normality returned but you can see how much effort has been put in to make sure the dining experience is enjoyable but safe.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Niki1_Wheelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily D, Manager at Beefeater The Watermill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review Niki. Making everyone feel welcome is a high priority for us a team at the Watermill, so we are so pleased you enjoyed your breakfast experience here with us. I'll be sure to pass on your lovely comments to Karan, Abbie & the Kitchen Team about your great food and service.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Emily
Restaurant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 696 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2021

we had been looking forward to coming back to the watermill for some time and it didn't disappoint us. we came for a mid week family meal. All the staff were friendly, the food looked and tasted great. The food arrived promptly, was hot and freshly cooked. overall we had a lovely evening and looking forward to our next visit.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank J9079JMmartinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily D, Manager at Beefeater The Watermill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your family meal here with us. I will pass on your lovely comments to the team about your great service and food. If you haven't already then pick up one of our Beefeater Reward Cards to make the most out of our amazing offers. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Emily
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2021

Today I had the lamb chops with chunky chips which was very nice but was disappointed that the advertised field mushroom and half tomato was a measly quarter of a mushroom and only half of a salad tomato, not even a decent sized beefsteak tommy. It wouldn't have hurt to chuck on a few peas too. Not a feast for the eyes. Needs to improve presentation.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 208elainee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily D, Manager at Beefeater The Watermill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review Elaine. We are sorry to hear that on this occasion you were disappointed with the portion of your mushroom. I will pass your feedback onto our kitchen team, and hope that you do visit us again soon for a much better experience. However if you would like to discuss this further, please do call us on 01268522227.

Emily
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2021

Went there for a belated birthday meal with my family. So many items missing from the menu. No onion rings, no jacket potatoes, the corn on the cob was size of thumb nail. Ordered prawn cocktail meant to have toasted ciabatta, but was served with cheap white bread.. Everybody was complaining, and sending food back. Felt sorry for the waitresses having to keep apologising to people. The didn't even offer to knock anything off the bill for the missing items.
I usually enjoy Beefeater, but didn't this time. Very badly organised.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank davetS4443AW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily D, Manager at Beefeater The Watermill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review Dave. We are extremely sorry to hear that on this occasion you did not enjoy your experience with us. We aim to ensure all our guests enjoy their visit and are happy. If you would like to discuss this matter further, please call us on 01268522227.

Emily
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2021 via mobile

We couldn't wait to dine out now that the watermill has finally reopened. The Manager Alex and all her staff are fantastic. Friendly welcoming and very helpful. We feel safe dining here as they have lots of covid measures in place. The food is great quality and the menu options are much improved this time round. Looking forward to visiting at the weekend again with family, for a well over due catch up definitely our first choice.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank lexiM4784QI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily D, Manager at Beefeater The Watermill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review Lexi. We are delighted to be reopen and see you again. We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us, and we have taken every measure possible to ensure the safety of our guests and team at this difficult time. If you haven't already please pick up one of our Beefeater Reward Cards to make the most amazing offers. I will pass your lovely feedback about your service and food onto the team, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Emily
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beefeater The Watermill also viewed

 

Been to Beefeater The Watermill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.