We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Trip

Nice place and friendly staff. We found out new information about the history of Buxton and the... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
276denden
via mobile
Poole Cavern ...a must

We decided to visit the cavern as it was a rainy day in February and we weren’t disappointed. After... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
hsavage
,
Stockport, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 1,458 reviews
  
Reviews (1,458)
Filter reviews
1,458 results
Traveller rating
919
454
68
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
919
454
68
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews poole's cavern tour guide country park well worth a visit gift aid stalactites and stalagmites great guide solomon's temple rock formations minute tour few steps wrap up warm interesting visit car park go ape rainy day great place to visit
Filter
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 1,458 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2018

My wife and I arrived in time for the 10.30 guided tour on a Monday morning and hoped it would not be very busy and we were right, as our tour party was just us and our guide, Chris. Chris was clearly very knowledgeable and she gave us an engaging and interesting tour for about an hour. There were several unique and fascinating things to see and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We followed that walking to and from Solomon's Tower using the well-marked routes and the rise is quite significant, so you need to be moderately fit for it to be manageable. The walk to the top was rewarded with spectacular views in all directions and I thoroughly recommend it.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 86barryt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018

The coffee was pretty average and made in one of those automatic machines like you see in morrisons cafe. Mugs were large but not very tasty. It was fine if all you wanted was something to drink between visiting the caverns and walking up to solomons temple.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Mum B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

We took a tour this weekend with Luke who spoke very clearly, was very informative/knowledgeable, and funny.

Poole's Cavern itself is spectacular. One of our travelling companions can be a little claustrophobic, and the staff were so kind in showing her the entrance to the cave (the most confined part) so that she could make up her mind if she wanted to go in or not. I thought that this was a nice gesture and she enjoyed the tour along with the rest of us (as the name suggests, inside is quite cavernous). We enjoyed the sights inside the Cavern, with some of the features interestingly being unique to this cave.

We took a walk afterwards through the Country Park up to Solomon's Temple, and the view was spectacular - well worth the climb.

Highly recommended for an activity in lovely Buxton.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank JollyHolidayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

We did a couple of the trails and got nice views from the top after walking to Solomon's Temple. Cafe in car park is nice too. Didn't do the caves as done similar before.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 698SuzanneN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

Poole's Cavern has been an attraction since the 19th century, when gas lights were installed. Earlier visitors include Mary Queen of Scots possibly. Prior to that it was used by the Romans and earlier by neolithic people. The caves were formed aeons ago - the geology is explained on the tour.
You can enter the cave only as part of a tour - three times an hour in summer - which follows the course of an underground river for about 300 yards. The system extends for a further mile at least but no-one has been able to gain access.
They are spectacular with striking examples of stalactites and stalagmites.
The enthusiasm and knowledge of the guide make for an interesting tour.
After leaving the cave you can explore old limestone works, protected woodland and a go-ape circuit.
The tour costs £10. It is well-established with a visitor centre and cafe. Not really suitable for very young children - it is dark and damp.

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank gerard g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews