We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (457)
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveller rating
193
176
54
24
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
176
54
24
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews woodlands restaurant beer garden game pie cullen skink friendly hotel a bit tired dinner menu the main street first class we've stayed bed and breakfast haggis cooked breakfast family room warm welcome yogurt high standard
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 458 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

We were looking for a wee break away and decided to plump for The Royal Dunkeld as the pictures of the tartan staircase looked right up our street - No massive, basic, soul-less chain hotel here!

The Hotel is packed with Character. Single glazed (but warm) and old courtyard around the back as well as the 3 floored staircase gives the Hotel a charming atmosphere. Lots of rooms branching off with some nice views - We were lucky enough to look out along the mainstreet of Dunkeld. The room was en suite with plenty storage and tv.

Dinner was lovely. Good selection of meals in the Hotel's restaurant and the breakfast was well cooked and presented the next morning. Nothing overly expensive which was a pleasant surprise.

The staff were friendly and the check-in was simple. We were even allowed to check-in an hour early at no additional cost which was great! There is a bar within the Hotel that is open to all and when we nipped in for a beer it was busy (always a good sign).

The room was clean but there was a little mold on the curtains. This is unavoidable given the age and type of building and single glazing. The only let down was noticing a bic razor ontop of the medicine cabinet whilst taking a shower. A quick dust up there wouldve dealt with it.

Anyways... friendly staff, free parking, free wifi and central location aswell as good food and the chilled atmosphere has won us over! we live within an hours drive will almost certainly be back.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bluenosejock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royaldunkeld, Owner at The Royal Dunkeld Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thank you so much for such a lovely and comprehensive review. It is much appreciated. I am delighted that your stay was enjoyable and everything was good value. Thank goodness you mention the tartan and we are nothing like a soul less hotel chain. This is our intention. There is always a continual programme of work updating the hotel. It is bit like the Forth Railway Bridge. However, both Neil and myself work to maintain the dignity of the 200 year old building and want the decor to reflect that. It is also intended to be cosy and friendly which you appreciate. As we do! I do apologise for the bic razor on top of the cabinet. To add a bit of humour to this. ALL of our housekeeping staff are 4.11" and Neil said he is going to supply them with blocks to enable them to see higher up. You come from the same town as ourselves and we run up and down the road in one hour. It is a lovely journey and we are blessed working in such a beautiful area (not that Kirkcaldy isn't beautiful!!) Please try and come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

On our drive north from Edinburgh, to catch the ferry over to the Orkney Islands, we were looking for a place to stay that would be interesting, and chose Dunkeld. The Royal Dunkeld Hotel has been there for about 200 years. It is old in an elegant sort of way. Apparently Queen Victoria stayed here. Actually the walls are so thick that there was no cell phone signal within the hotel. We had a comfortable room with nice amenities including a heated towel rack. There is a large sheltered beer garden in the back if you want to eat or drink outside. We chose to have our dinner at the hotel, and we were both pleased with our choices. I had a sea bass fillet with garlic and carmelised lime and chili dressing, with a simple green salad and new potatoes. My husband enjoyed the Royal Dunkeld burger with bacon and cheese and the usual chips. All good. If you are driving north from Edinburgh, this is a good place to stay in an interesting little town.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lotsaplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royaldunkeld, Owner at The Royal Dunkeld Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Wow. Thank you so much for such a lovely review. This was so comprehensive it could be sold as part of a travel brochure because it reflects the beauty of the area. Dunkeld is such a lovely destination town and as you said elegant in its presentation unlike some of the trippy tourist areas in Scotland. We love the area and are so glad you had a lovely experience. Please come again when you are travelling north or south. It is a good half way destination for your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

We ate here on the second night of our stay in Dunkeld. The staff were excellent as was the food. We shall be back. While we were not seated in the main dining room, the dining area was very comfortable and very uniquely decorated.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mossgiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royaldunkeld, Owner at The Royal Dunkeld Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Many thanks for writing such a lovely review. I am delighted that you had such a good experience and certainly do hope that you will return to our lovely village.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

I have recently organised a weeks golf in Perthshire and our group stayed at The Royal Dunkeld. Where do they get the staff? So attentive, polite and friendly whilst diligently carrying out their tasks. Nothing, absolutely nothing was too much trouble.
Our en suite rooms were very spacious, well supplied with tea, coffee and biscuits (bourbons were my favourites) and cleaned thoroughly on a daily basis. The en suite had a terrific shower, so refreshing after a day on the golf course.
Food was excellent both the hearty breakfast and dinners in the evening. There were real ales in the bar as well as a wide selection of blended and malt whiskies. No wonder the golf wasn't too brilliant.

A comprehensive thank you from us all and for arranging a highland heatwave during our stay. Superb holiday.

Room Tip: Higher the room better the view
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royaldunkeld, Owner at The Royal Dunkeld Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

The staff will be over the moon at getting such a good review. Of course, I could say it was down to the lovely owners but that would possibly be laughed at by the staff. It is so heart warming to hear that everything was so lovely. As a golfer (hic) I can relate to your comments about the golf but we are blessed with fabulous courses which is a bonus. Please do come back and visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

Lunch at the Royal! Always quality for a hungry team!
Also great for the smaller persons among us.
It's always a guaranteed stop on the long road North.
And the bar has Yes on the juke box.
Which is always satisfactory!

Stayed: April 2018
1  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royaldunkeld, Owner at The Royal Dunkeld Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Many thanks for stopping off on your travels and I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. Please do come again. It is lovely to have repeat customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews