We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (648)
Filter reviews
648 results
Traveller rating
169
217
138
65
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
169
217
138
65
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stair lift the pub typical wetherspoons steak night family room first floor would stay again single room nice stay short break central location tea coffee stayed here for one night warm welcome butlins earplugs pint
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 648 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed here on a weekday, the noise from down stairs was awful. Kept my 12 month old baby up until 3oclock in the morning. Then it all started again at 6 o’clock so got about 3 hours sleep. Room was not hoovered on arrival, someone’s toenail was left on the floor!!!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duke of W, Night Shift Team Leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Dear john l,
Thank you for your review, we apologise that your visit did not match your expectations and the noise. I will pass on your other comments to the Hotel manager,
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

Absolutely terrible! The room was awful, decorated in dark blue (nearly black) with dark brown carpet. The bed was like sleeping on a big rock! (I actually think a rock would have been comfier) It was the hottest bank holiday in a very long time, yet the hotel thought it would be good to keep the heating on? The radiator would not turn down! I did not expect luxury by any means, but I did expect a room to sleep in... who was I kidding?

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank xgambox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duke of W, Night shift team leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Dear xgambox,
Thank you for your review. I will pass your comments on to the Hotel manager
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Woken up at 11:30 p.m., had to ask to move rooms - told might have to pay for other room....didnt happen, but still! "You must be kidding!" we said @ 12 midnight having to pack everything up and move. Disgrace not properly recognised BIG PROBLEM - and it is a Wetherspoons Night Club. i.e. it is their business.

Room Tip: For a good night sleep at the weekends - NOT above (their) club
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Luke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duke of W, Night shift team leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear Luke D
Thank you for your review. We apologise that your stay did not match your expectations,
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

3* is accurate
- NO lift so if you can carry your suitcase make it light and if you've to go to the second floor one of the lads will carry it for you
- Stair lift available if needed
- Clean room but noisy despite a request for a quiet room, located above the back bar/restaurant where deliveries come and go at 4.00 am after you've already dealt with people outside smoking and making a racket ( had to have window open because it was too warm )
- Clean comfortable bed
- Tea/coffee/ water/ biscuits available
-Iron and ironing board good, small hanging area, but no bathroom/bedroom door hook and who the heck chose the bathroom colour which looks like diarrhea (sorry but its true ) shower pressure good but fixed head so take your shower cap if you want to preserve your hair do
- Pleasant staff

Room Tip: Quiet rooms located on the back side away from the Church
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zebeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duke of W, Night shift team leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear Zebeda
Thank you for your review. I will pass your comments on to the Hotel and pub Managers.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

We had Room 101......double bed for husband and me and a single bed for mum who is 86. The room was spacious and clean and comfortable with a large TV and comfy armchair. The shower was excellent and the bathroom clean. Housekeeping was very good too. Food was so convenient, affordable and good. Above all the staff were all wonderful, friendly, helpful, smiley, always kind when we had to manage mother with the stair lift and park her mobility scooter under the stairs. Thank you to a fantastic team! Weatherspoons should be proud of you all!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JulieTrowbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duke of W, Night shift team leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2018

Dear Julie Trowbridge
Thank you for your review. Thank you for your positive feedback on the facilities at The Duke of Wellington. I will pass on your comments to the management. We hope to see you again soon
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews