We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St Michael's Guest House(Scarborough)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Almar(Scarborough)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlanta Hotel(Scarborough)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Cordelia(Scarborough)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Baia Hotel(Scarborough)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Waves(Scarborough)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (451)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveller rating
211
155
53
21
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
211
155
53
21
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewswimming poolthe cliffwaitress servicecoach partylovely friendly hoteldining roomspa complexcoach holidayseaside hotelquiet areathird floorbit datedreception staffparking permiteach eveningsingle bed
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 451 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2018

This is one of the nicest hotels,we have stayed in ,great possition close to cliff lift ,great views.good size bedroom and bathroom ,comfortable beds ,room serviced each day spotlessly clean .The food was very good ,and plentiful ,the staff serving breakfast /and evening meals,were fantastic,even dealing with some fussy customers with a cheery smile .The evening entertainment was great ,Adam North on saturday night had a brilliant voice, and had all the guests laughing at his jokes .I believe this is a family run hotel,they are doing a great job,nothing is too much trouble.So thankyou to all at the Red lea,for a great time.We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018

Stayed here with a group in early May. At first, when I saw my room, my heart sank - it was tucked away at the back of the hotel and was very cramped. If I wanted to use the dressing table I would have had to sit on the bed as there was no room to pull the chair out.The furniture was old and dated and it was generally gloomy. I asked the staff if they had a room with a better mattress as mine was too soft for comfort - and they were brilliant. They offered me another room on the top floor and it was lovely - very spacious room, lovely comfy bed, clean and modern furnishings. I was much happier and enjoyed my stay from that point on. The food was plentiful and tasty, the staff were very helpful and welcoming. The hotel surroundings are peaceful and quiet and there are some lovely walks along the cliff road with stunning views of the harbour.

Room Tip: Check that you are in one of the newer rooms, It seems as if the higher floors are better.
Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Rhodie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018

The hotel itself offers large rooms and excellent entertainment in an evening. The food is more than adequate. to the side of the hotel are a selection of flats belonging to the Red Lea had the pleasure of staying in one of these. Very spacious quite and very friendly staff

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

Recently visited this hotel as part of a group of 33 people staying DBB for 3 nights. The hotel is close to the promenade about 15 minutes walk from the centre of town and our welcome was warm. Our room (208) was large, warm and had everything we needed (including tea making equipment, iron and ironing board) and a bay window with view over the gardens opposite and to the sea. The beds were very comfortable and there was plenty of storage space in the bedroom and enough hangers in the wardrobe; however, there was not much shelf space in the bathroom. The dining room was nicely proportioned, light and airy and the staff were very friendly and helpful. There was lots of choice at breakfast and dinner (three course Table d'Hote plus coffee) and we did not have to pre-order our dinner at breakfast time as in some hotels. Dinners were served very efficiently to 30+ people and the food was very good with generous portions and plentiful, varied vegetables. Service at breakfast was not quite so efficient, I would agree with previous comments that some items should be on buffet service to reduce the workload on the staff for large groups. The small swimming pool and sauna in the basement were enjoyable after a long day out although the changing rooms and lockers were quite basic. The reception and bar staff were also very friendly and helpful and the entertainment provided during our stay was good. I would definitely recommend this family run hotel to anyone visiting Scarborough and hope to return myself one day.

Room Tip: Room 208 was large with sea views
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iloveegypt_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

A family of five including an elderly father stayed here for a Saturday night
There are many good things including its location on the south bay cliffs where you can walk at the top, down the cliffs or take the cliff lift down to the spa.
The staff are very friendly and always willing to help. There is a pleasant lounge in addition to a bar.
The small swimming pool is a bonus for an early morning swim and there is a gym, all part of package to guests.
The breakfast was good.
There are niggles. To get into the hotel you must go up steps. Not good if you have a disability or you are unsteady on your feet. There is a lift but on Saturday night it was not working - not good.
Saturday dinner was disappointing, it felt like the staff were in a rush and the food was average.
Our room was fine but another in our party had one where the floors creaked both for them and above.
It is not cheap and therefore could be better

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
5  Thank Thirskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews